Griffin Technology RadioSHARK | iLounge

Reviews

21

So you cant record streaming audio - damn!

Posted by Bob2 on October 10, 2004 at 2:20 PM (PDT)

22

A few more notes from my personal experiences:

GOOD:
- Records even when app isn't open (but, no, it won't turn your computer on for you).

BAD:
- Recording schedules are EXTREMELY, extremely basic:
- No irregular schedules (record Sun - Thurs, for example)
- No option to record only on certain days (record every Monday, for example)
- No weekday/weekend-specific recording (record only on Weekdays, for example)
- Doesn't automatically delete recorded shows after a certain date.
- Can't set the maximum number of shows to record. Could, in theory, fill a hard drive, if you don't delete the old shows!
- No 96 kbps for AAC: It jumps from 64 to 128 in the Preferences.

Posted by Nightlife on October 11, 2004 at 12:35 PM (PDT)

23

Using this new gizmo will have people take notice of the recuring probleme with long audio files bookmark's on ipod... hope apple finds a fix soon. This is quite anoing.

Posted by Philippe Dancause on October 11, 2004 at 4:50 PM (PDT)

24

I have some RCAs running out from my amp/reciever to a 3.5mm jack plugged into my mac's microphone port. I then use wiretap to record anything I like and later convert whatever songs or sets I want on my iPod to mp3 with amadeus.

that's how it's done!

Posted by boo-ya on October 11, 2004 at 6:52 PM (PDT)

25

[url=http://www.highcriteria.com]http://www.highcriteria.com[/url] sells a piece of software called the Total Recorder. It does a lot of what the RadioSHARK does for a fraction of the price. For $25 you can turn your computer into an audio VCR. THe only drawbacks are Windoes only and you have to manually change radio stations. It also records audio streams or any audio your computer plays (DVDs!) directly from your computer.

Posted by tk421 on October 12, 2004 at 6:44 AM (PDT)

26

Can one select songs from within a radioshark recording and transfer them INDIVIDUALLY to the iPod?

Posted by steve on October 12, 2004 at 9:48 AM (PDT)

27

I ordered this item in November (almost 1 yr ago) as xmas present. You can imagine that I am very very very unhappy.

Posted by Chris Milnes on October 13, 2004 at 1:27 PM (PDT)

28

I own this product. Does what it says. Great looking. Has changed my world in one week. No hassles - no stringing wires from my radio to the computer - no Wiretap. All integrated. Great solution.

Posted by David Stutler on October 13, 2004 at 7:20 PM (PDT)

29

This is ok....
a Digital radio receiver (DAB type) with USB interface that can be AirTunes'd to my stereo amp...
now that would be cool.

Would also overcome AM/FM interference issues and provide far better TiVo type recording.

Posted by Mark T on October 14, 2004 at 3:51 AM (PDT)

30

Nightlife, thanks for the breakdown - the lack of a one-day-only and weekday-only option is a big killer for me since I am looking to feed my NPR habit. I have to record the CarTalk timeslot 7 days a week when it's only on once? Morning Edition on saturday and sunday when it's not on? Weak.

Posted by Don on October 14, 2004 at 5:32 AM (PDT)

31

Just think - instead of having to listen to obnoxious advertisements, you can just fast foward thru them in iTunes or on your iPod.

Posted by webdesbw on October 14, 2004 at 6:28 PM (PDT)

32

DOES IT FUNCTION AS JUST A RADIO? in other words can i just listen to am/fm on my mac with it? if so it's worth price just for that.

Posted by Neal on October 15, 2004 at 3:42 PM (PDT)

33

It'd be nice if it had iCal scheduled recordings similar to the way AlchemyTV DVR works. Perhaps someone will come up with a third party plug-in that uses iCal and runs radioSHARK by applescript.

I too was depressed by the super long wait for shipment, but I didn't preorder so I can't complain too much.

It does function as just a radio and the time-shifted pause/play is very useful, just for say trips to the fridge or bathroom.

I'm confused why jsupetran said there were radio recievers with 5.1, that's just silly since radio is only stereo. But you can always use software expansion such as that on the M-Audio Revolution 7.1 card software.

Personally I've been trying to make my computer a full multimedia center. I already have 7.1 surround, dvd playback, TV and s-video in as well as a music server. Radio is the next step. And if you're feeling retro you can even get a tape player: http://www.plusdeck.com/english/

In my experience stand-alone additions usually have better performance and software than all-in-ones like the wonder cards or audigy 2. We'll see if the radio is any difforent.

Posted by KarlKFI on October 18, 2004 at 12:55 PM (PDT)

34

Took my RadioShark back to the Apple Store last week. The software included with the product was horrible -- poorly designed, buggy to a fault (it wouldn't allow me to record a program spanning from AM to PM; the "repeat" option doesn't allow you to record just Mon.-Fri., so if your radio show doesn't run 7 days a week, you have to manually enter each day; at one point when the buffer had run out, it looped a millisecond of noice and kept the loop going even after shutoff and restart; and the button to change file storage location was non-functioning in Preferences) ... and the sharkfin itself got lousy AM reception and only passable FM. A Griffin rep replied to my e-mail complaint and admitted the software needs work. Sorry, Griffy. For $70, this Shark is no TiVo for radio. It's a poorly designed VCR, at best.

Posted by chris on October 20, 2004 at 5:01 PM (PDT)

35

I'll mention this again. Replay Radio does exactly what Don and others here say they want. You can tell it to record the exact program that you want -- just click on "This American Life" and it knows that it comes on at 12 noon (PT) on Saturdays on KQED. BTW, NPR is streamed over the net on several different stations. That's what I use Replay Radio for. There isn't a radio station I listen to that doesn't also have an Internet stream, actually.

Posted by Tracy on October 21, 2004 at 7:56 PM (PDT)

36

Radio Time is adding support for the radioSHARK to their guide based tuner/recorder. [url=http://www.radiotime.com]http://www.radiotime.com[/url]

Posted by Bill on October 23, 2004 at 3:11 AM (PDT)

37

I love the RadioShark, but sometimes the recorded programs don't automatically convert from .mov to AAC. Anybody else had this problem and know what's going on?

Posted by John on October 23, 2004 at 3:45 PM (PDT)

38

you can use the shark to record satelite fairly easily. use the fm mod that you use in your atomoile...shark picks it up and you hae static free xm radio..works great

Posted by sweeper1 on October 24, 2004 at 3:05 PM (PDT)

39

I just read through the on-line RadioShark manual and it says only WAV files can be recorded with Windows. Is this true?

Do I need to budget another hard drive to go with the Radio Shark?

Posted by Keith on October 24, 2004 at 5:43 PM (PDT)

40

I was really interested in the Shark but some of the comments here (thanks Tracy and Don!) steered me toward Replay Radio. For less $$, it should do the trick for me for my NPR habit.

Posted by altcountryman on October 29, 2004 at 5:09 PM (PDT)

Page 2 of 3 pages  <  1 2 3 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.