Griffin Technology RadioSHARK | iLounge

Reviews

41

I ordered this the day this review was posted... Oct 8th. Still haven't recieved it or received confirmation that it has shipped.

See ya
Steve

Posted by Stephen Worth on October 30, 2004 at 6:38 PM (PDT)

42

Mine just arrived. (I ordered it in April 2003, I think, and was roundly mocked by my wife when i said the little package might be our long-awaited wee gizmo.)
So far, so very very splendid. Reception's not usually great around here, but with the coiled USB cable tip - for which I thank you, Mr Horwitz - it gives me a better signal than my big tuner.
Set-up is delightfully sweet and simple; very mac. Station finding is also easier than on my other radios, and setting up the recording schedule was reassuringly idiot-proof. Of course, the proof is in what this idiot finds he has recorded, later on.
I also like the way it sets up its own playlist on iTunes, which will make it easier to stop the files building up unseen. Nice and thoughtful.
And it does look very, very fab.

Posted by james mac in Seattle, WA on November 1, 2004 at 7:15 PM (PDT)

43

I have my RadioSHARK. I get lousy FM reception. I bought a USB cable and coiled it, but it only helps sporadically. Can you give more details as to how you coiled yours? How long was the USB cable, what kind, how big and how many coils?

Posted by Paul Lee on November 2, 2004 at 6:59 PM (PDT)

44

I'm really surprised that no one has mentioned the best piece of software I have ever used.
Last year I started searching for the Mac equivalent of High Criteria for recording radio streams from the net. I found and paid for a little ripper of a programme called iRecord Music.
It cost me about $25 US and works beautifully.
I record classical music programmes at my leisure from stations such as ABC Classic FM in Australia and talk/interview programs from both FM and AM streaming stations.
I haven't come across Replay Radio, previously mentioned in this string, but it would have to be very good for me to change over.
No thanks Griffin, I'm sticking with iRecord Music for now.

Posted by NeilHK on November 3, 2004 at 1:22 AM (PDT)

45

I finally got my Radio Shark. The new software update fixes some of the problems with repeating programming... you can now specify weekend or weekdays, not just daily or weekly. I've had some problems with the volume jumping up and down, but I think that has worked itself out. Perhaps it needs a little burn in.

See ya
Steve

Posted by Stephen Worth in North Hollywood, CA on November 17, 2004 at 5:59 PM (PDT)

46

Hi I travel frequently and want to listen on the road to stations from home "live." Does anyone know, can I set up my RS on my home PC, then use the internect to connect from the road via laptop and listen to the stream?

thanks

Posted by PatrickPA on November 24, 2004 at 7:14 AM (PDT)

47

"...No thanks Griffin, I'm sticking with iRecord Music for now.
By NeilHK on Nov 03, 04 2:22 am"

iRecord Music seems only to record radio offered as internet streams; RadioShark records any radio content at anytime. Perhaps I'm missing something looking at the iRecord Music website but just think of all the live SSO symphonies you're missing that aren't streamed and will never be released by ABC Classics!

RadioShark for me!

Posted by Mr.Clicky on December 1, 2004 at 8:18 PM (PDT)

48

I was interested in buying this product but I would like to know if you can set the device to record,lets say for an hour, then come back and splice it to get only the songs that you want to transfer to the ipod? This would really help me decide if this device is useful for me or not...thanks

Posted by Marina in Canada on December 11, 2004 at 10:33 AM (PDT)

49

What all the "it's already been done" posts seem to be ignoring is the problem of scheduling a recording of a show on a certain FM radio station, without your having to go to your radio and choose that station before the recording starts. This device is supposed to know what station you want, tune it in, and record. Simply plugging your radio into your sound card and using software is not anything close to a similar solution, because you're stuck with whatever station your radio is set on until your hands change it. If I want to schedule to record a show on WRAS, then a show on WABE, I need a device that will do that without needing me to tune the radio station for it.

Posted by mooncaine on December 14, 2004 at 7:17 PM (PDT)

50

I like radioSHARK but it still has a couple of issues.

First, I'm having some problems with AM presets. I select a station to record and it records from the previous one in the list! I did find a work-a-round -- putting a dummy duplicate preset.

Second, I too have a .mov file that didn't automatically convert to .aiff. It's 3 hours (1.6Gb) of a show I want, and I can't find anything to convert it! (QuickTime barfs on the file.) Any suggestions?

Posted by kpm106 in Denver, CO on December 27, 2004 at 10:37 PM (PDT)

51

IMPROVING radioSHARK reception

I'm an early adopter of the radioSHARK, but have never been blown away by its reception. I read that people have coiled USB extensions around their SHARK or plugged headphones into the mini-jack to improve reception. Neither method worked for me.

For my money, I found a better solution. I moved my SHARK to a window sill slightly farther from me, then strung a USB extension cable between the locks of the two windows. This creates an upside-down U, running up from the USB port, across the two windows, then down to the SHARK.

I was able to finally receive a local station that was all static before.

It remains to be seen if this fixes my other major radioSHARK bug: when it's recording for more than a few hours (like when I record a few shows in a row), it introduces static in the audio that isn't present on the actual radio.

If I listen in and notice the static, I can eliminate it by unplugging and re-plugging the SHARK. But, usually I'm away from my computer when it's recording. So it keeps that level of background static until my next reboot.

Anyone run into this particular problem?

Peace.

Posted by J Rosen in Boston on February 27, 2005 at 7:58 PM (PDT)

52

I'm a dedicated iPod user and NPR radio listener (amongst some other stations/programs) and I'm seriously thinking about purchainsing the radio SHARK, but I'm wondering if Griffin will be coming out with an updated version of this product any time soon? Anyone know? Thanks.

Posted by djnato on March 1, 2006 at 2:33 AM (PDT)

Page 3 of 3 pages  <  1 2 3

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.