HP Printable Tattoos | iLounge

Reviews

1

Sounds cool, but if you use an HP printer, the ink will run if you get your iPod a little wet (like in the rain). Would these run through a color laser printeR?

Posted by jfarrx19 in Pittsburgh, Pa. on December 2, 2004 at 4:58 AM (PDT)

2

What about the adhesive used on these stickers? What residue is left over when these things are removed??

Posted by KMS in Cincinnati on December 2, 2004 at 5:51 AM (PDT)

3

Jeremy writes:
"Since we wanted our 4G iPod to look its absolute best – and forever display the image of a recording artist likely to be influencing music for the next quarter-century – we tested HP’s pre-printed Ashlee Simpson sticker first. "

LOL, I think Jeremy has been hitting the eggnog a bit too hard wink

Posted by AndyH in Berwyn, PA on December 2, 2004 at 6:13 AM (PDT)

4

KMS...a quote from the review:

"Neither is likely to peel off until you remove it, but removal is actually both clean and easy: start at any corner and pull upwards, and the entire Tattoo comes off without leaving any adhesive residue on your iPod whatsoever."

Posted by AndyH in Berwyn, PA on December 2, 2004 at 6:14 AM (PDT)

5

cool idea, but i think it's stupid that the entire back isnt covered. that's the part i'd prefer to have protected!!

Posted by mdwsta4 on December 2, 2004 at 6:29 AM (PDT)

6

I'd imagine the click wheel would still work if you put the leftover circle on it... coupling capacitance works through thin overlays (for volume), and the buttons obviously would (clicking).

I'd certainly increase the useable picture area... ! :-D

Posted by Jerrod H. in TX on December 2, 2004 at 6:35 AM (PDT)

7

Not for the mini though, huh?

Posted by Frank Owen in Tampa, FL on December 2, 2004 at 8:59 AM (PDT)

8

What about for the 3G? Could these be adapted with a razor blade knife?

Posted by JohnT> in Santa Clara on December 2, 2004 at 9:18 AM (PDT)

9

Thes will work with the click wheel part of the sticker left on.

Posted by robbybogers in IN on December 2, 2004 at 10:02 AM (PDT)

10

I'd like to see a 3G version, hopefully with better coverage, especially on the back of the ipod!

Posted by playdays13 in Reading, England on December 2, 2004 at 10:22 AM (PDT)

11

glad you guys reviewed this, i saw these and thought "amazing", and i am one of those guys who loves to makes designs in photoshop and display them, but i still had my doubts, and your review has made me feel safer about putting them on my precious ipod

Posted by SevenKnife in USA on December 2, 2004 at 2:13 PM (PDT)

12

do they make some for the mini? or can they be made to fit...

Posted by twhyjones on December 2, 2004 at 3:07 PM (PDT)

13

Very Cool Designs, but no protection after all its only paper!
Good price though

Posted by snowboogiethunder on December 2, 2004 at 4:18 PM (PDT)

14

Can you get these in Canada?

Anybody know of a site that ships to Canada?

Posted by 2nickelstripper on December 2, 2004 at 8:23 PM (PDT)

15

Quote from review:

"We received six pre-printed Tattoos and a package of ten blank Printable Tattoos for testing. The pre-printed tattoos, which are being given away by HP via its web site and also through some resellers’ iPod+hp promotions, included at least four recognizable artists: Lloyd Banks from G-Unit, Vanessa Carlton, The Hives, Gwen Stefani, Keane, and Ashlee Simpson."

What do you mean "given away free"? I've searched the website because I'd love to have the Gwen Stefani tattoo, but I can't find them. Do you mean "given away free" with the purchase of an iPod? Please let me know.

Posted by GadgetGuru72 on December 3, 2004 at 9:22 AM (PDT)

16

One thing I did not hear in the review:

The removal of the sticker over time, if I have it on my iPod for 3, 6 or 9 months will it still be removable without leaving any sticky residue?

The iPod does give off a slight amount of heat, and hence heat and sticky glue usually equals sticky mess.

How long will the color's stay without fading on the user printed ink jet version?

Will the inkjet ink run if it gets wet from the rain?

Posted by creativemind in NYC on December 3, 2004 at 1:09 PM (PDT)

17

You need to buy an iPod+hp to get one of the tattoos from HP (or some of its resellers), sorry for the confusion there. They also gave away a bunch with Rolling Stone a while back.

Re: residue and the stickers, we really should have distinguished between the pre-printed and printable ones in terms of their adhesive behavior. The pre-printed ones peel off very, very easily, while the printable ones also won't screw up your iPod, but may not come off in one piece. They tend not to leave residue so much as shreds of printed paper that are easy to remove.

This contrasts sharply with the Skin EFX metallic stickers, which splintered off, left metallic and adhesive residue all over, and required rubbing alcohol to totally remove. HP's Printables may require a bit of finger rubbing, but not more under normal conditions. Baking your iPod may change the adhesive qualities a bit, but not enough to make the Tattoos as problematic as the PodSkinz.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz in East Amherst, NY, USA on December 3, 2004 at 5:43 PM (PDT)

18

And re: the ink questions, that'll depend on the inks you use as much as anything else. I wouldn't take our test stickers out in the rain any more than I would take my iPod in the rain. grin

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz in East Amherst, NY, USA on December 3, 2004 at 5:44 PM (PDT)

19

There was a huge disturbance about these things on another website, a girl put one on her ipod and it messed up her ipod really bad. turns out she got a "bad batch" of adhesive (according to HP officials) and that that's not "normal". Her ipod is scarred for life! I hope that does't happen to me, because I love these things because they look so neat. I think it's a good idea to put one of these on and then put the whole ipod in a clear case...protection and style in one.

Posted by PastFacesFuture in Florida on December 8, 2004 at 10:49 AM (PDT)

20

I basically agree with the review. I dropped my iPod, seriously scratching it, and so these "tattoos" make it much more attractive. However, I wish the corner cut-outs were smaller.

I can confirm that they remove cleanly as well, at least the ones I got did.

Posted by stevesha on December 16, 2004 at 6:51 AM (PDT)

Page 1 of 2 pages  1 2 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.