iHome iH5 Docking Stereo Clock Radio | iLounge

Reviews

1

Looks good. I will definitely consider dumping my $15 alarm clock radio for this thing. The one thing that's unclear from the review... Does it have seperate volumes for sleeping and waking? I remember when this product was first intro'd I had the impression it was capable of programmable volumes.

Posted by Frith on July 27, 2005 at 6:02 AM (PDT)

2

Purchased one at my local Target last week ($129). Very pleased with its functionality and appearance. Sound is acceptable to good for something that's really just a "clock radio". Its nice to fall aspleep listening to the iPod, and not have to rig a seperate set of speakers and the timer on the iPod.

I have the same question as the posting above. I guess I need to read the manual better, but I cannot figure out if I can fall asleep to one volume and then have the music wake me up at a lesser volume in the morning?

Posted by drcooper in Little Rock, AR on July 27, 2005 at 10:18 AM (PDT)

3

drcooper,

If you look on the back of your ih5, you will find a button marked "sleep volume". You can adjust the volume that you sleep to without messing with the main volume of the unit.

Posted by greatbigme on July 27, 2005 at 10:36 AM (PDT)

4

I haven't bought an iH5 yet; I was wondering- when you set it to wake to iPod, can you set it to wake to specific songs/playlists, etc?

Posted by mikemcc12345 on July 27, 2005 at 10:46 AM (PDT)

5

No. It just starts playing the same selection (ie. playlist, artist, album or etc.) that the iPod was last playing.

Posted by drcooper in Little Rock, AR on July 27, 2005 at 11:03 AM (PDT)

6

NICE!!!
i was waiting for this since it was first posted. glad there's a snooze and the clock dims.
anyone want to buy some original inmotion speaker so i can get this!

Posted by mdwsta4 on July 27, 2005 at 1:49 PM (PDT)

7

I will definitely look into this. I was going to get the Creature II but I wouldn't be playing them too loud and am just looking for something to fall asleep to, and this is better than my Sony Clock/Radio, which doesn't even have a digital tuner.

Posted by Mike's Bike on July 27, 2005 at 3:14 PM (PDT)

8

How is this any better than getting the JBL OnStage and just setting the iPod's alarm timer?

Posted by sheik124 on July 27, 2005 at 3:55 PM (PDT)

9

wow. the first iPod speakers that really opoened my eyes. First I gota get those e4cs though.

Posted by digitaldevil on July 27, 2005 at 7:24 PM (PDT)

10

sheik124 -

How is it different from an OnStage + iPod?:

Clock that is visible from a distance
AM/FM Radio, waking to either
Waking to beep
Hard-button access for sleepy-hand control
And... only 2/3 of the cost!

Posted by Jerrod H. in TX on July 28, 2005 at 7:33 AM (PDT)

11

Still reading the review...but...it's 'Daylight Saving Time'

Posted by Gordy. in Atlanta, GA on July 28, 2005 at 11:23 AM (PDT)

12

Just purchased this a couple days ago. Sound is better than expected for an alarm clock. The only thing that is kind of a problem is the blue back light for the clock screen. If you want a night light, you got it! There are 3 levels to dim the screen but it is still very bright.

There are no preset radio features, but I suppose thats ok since you dont get any with most basic alarm clocks anyway (and I bought it to use it with my ipod anyway).

Controls are easy to use but I fear the rotary knobs for the volume and settings might not hold up. Sdi technologies went for looks that match an Ipod.

And for all of you that wonder why not just purchase a set of speakers and use the alarm feature... you cant really see the clock on the Ipod.

Posted by Cbco99 on July 29, 2005 at 10:10 AM (PDT)

13

For the too-bright-even-at-lowest-setting problem I've come up with a way to solve this problem--it's not exactly elegant, but it's cheap and easy. Before, all my bedroom electronic stuff had luridly bright LEDs which cumulatively lit the room up like Vegas. Anyway, most art supply stores carry packs of tinted see-thru sticky-backed plastic sheets that can be easily cut into different shapes with an XACTO-blade. You can cut it the identical shape of the LED screen or get arty and make one up. In any case, you can experiment with different tint levels until you're satisfied.

Posted by Pragmatist on July 29, 2005 at 11:25 AM (PDT)

14

Somebody should post a template for cutting the tinted sheets to fit the display.

Posted by BulkHedd on July 29, 2005 at 12:36 PM (PDT)

15

I purchased one today and unfortunately I had problems with it. The system would not recognize the iPod sitting in it, only when pressed down very hard (even with correct insert). Also, after a couple of hours one of the buttons stopped working. I could not set the alarm. Hopefully this was just a faulty system, when I return it for another, I will write again with an update.

Posted by apollosepiphany on July 29, 2005 at 9:00 PM (PDT)

16

Oh, and also, the manual is horrible and does not explain half of the features.

Posted by apollosepiphany on July 29, 2005 at 9:01 PM (PDT)

17

I thought that this would be a good product and it is. Brought it home and plugged it in and it worked exactly as described. My manual was alright, but I do have to agree that the display is a little on the bright side. But it is not a problem for me and I am glad that I bought it. Bummer that it doesn't come with a remote, but otherwise, definitely deserving of the rating.

Posted by greatmilenko04 on July 30, 2005 at 9:48 AM (PDT)

18

I assume this would only be on US voltage. I wish manufacturers in general would go the extra inch in making their iPod-related products multi-voltage (pretty much like laptops) in recognition of the iPod's universal appeal. I'm currently in Europe where the range of these types of products aren't anywhere near the US and they're inevitably noticeably pricier.

Posted by Scope G on July 30, 2005 at 5:01 PM (PDT)

19

Hi Pragmatist. I was wondering if you could tell me where I can buy the tinted plastic and what brand it is aswell. I went to my local Joanns and Michaels and they did not know what I was talking about. thanks

Posted by marley2778 in Palos Verdes, CA on August 1, 2005 at 8:30 PM (PDT)

20

I purchased one of these as soon as they came out with much expectation. When I got it home and plugged it in, it was totally worthless as nearly all of the front display elements didn't work. I couldn't tell what the time was or anything else. Promptly returned to the store and got full refund. Will have to wait until someone comes out with a reliable clock radio to use with my iPod.

Posted by gr8fulguy on August 1, 2005 at 10:25 PM (PDT)

Page 1 of 6 pages  1 2 3 >  Last »

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.