iHome iH5 Docking Stereo Clock Radio | iLounge

Reviews

21

Does anybody know of any cases that will fit in this thing? I looked at it in the store and the iPod seems to fit in there pretty tightly. I'm just thinking it would be a pain to have to take my iPod out of it's case every night, but the ihome seems pretty cool nonetheless.

Posted by khumbu77 on August 2, 2005 at 6:54 AM (PDT)

22

Just wanted to point out for the price-conscious folks that the everyday price of $79.99 can be easily achieved in the LNT and BBB retail stores with the 20% "standard" discount (unless they make an exception).

Posted by kensteele on August 2, 2005 at 5:59 PM (PDT)

23

a thin skin will fit, but not a big case.

If a big case fit in the well, then if your iPod didnt have a case it wouldn't be a snug fit.

Posted by greatbigme on August 3, 2005 at 8:53 AM (PDT)

24

I have my IH5 set to wake with the radio. The only problem is it comes on at a high volume and proceeds to increase it, even though I have it set at a low volume when I go to bed. Is there a way to control the wakeup volume?

Posted by coytoo on August 3, 2005 at 3:40 PM (PDT)

25

The reviewer compares this thing to portable speaker systems, but skips the most obvious comparison, to Cambridge Soundworks' clock radios (they have line-ins). The only products that he seems to have experience with are those that have been reviewed here! And the reviewer has shown to have a poor sense of judgment and a lack of discernment when it comes to sound quality. Could we ask for a little expertise here?

Posted by bad consumer on August 6, 2005 at 2:38 AM (PDT)

26

to "bad consumer"... you're obviously missing the point. yes it has a line in, but it doesn't charge and control your iPod at the same time. therefore why would that be an "obvious" or even fair comparison, particularly against a product that costs 3x as much?

The reviewer compares them to the products listed on the website because they give a point of view or a slant consistent with the other reviews of this site. In other words, if you think the other reviews on this site are bunk, then please disregard this review as well. The fact that you cannot grasp this concept goes to show you why you do not run a review site, and these people do.


On to something worthwhile, as far as being "too bassy," you can always adjust the iPod's EQ on the device and the output will reflect correspondingly. So if you're having problems with distortion, adjust accordingly.

Posted by sinai on August 6, 2005 at 6:20 PM (PDT)

27

Are you able to listen to iPod to sleep and wake up to radio? If so this is just what I'm looking for. Where can I get one in the UK?

Posted by stephenbw on August 7, 2005 at 4:40 AM (PDT)

28

I bought one and the search-light bright screen was a problem. My solution was similar to those who talked about a screen from an art supply store. In my case I bought a pack of Crayola ink-jet cling sheets. I sent one of these through my printer and printed several dark boxes that I then cut to shape.

The darkest shades worked best and it is down to a bright, but reasonable level.

I would be very interested in other suggestions and experience.

David

Posted by mortonmanor on August 8, 2005 at 3:34 PM (PDT)

29

I'm curious about the sound on this thing. I currently have a fairly cheap stereo in my room and I honestly don't listen to it that often-just at night when I'm falling asleep. Does it sound good at very low volume levels? Is the unit itself noisy? My current system is louder than my computer and at night its very noticeable. Is it underpowered? Any and all observations about the sound would be great.

Posted by ksonnad on August 8, 2005 at 6:42 PM (PDT)

30

I've noticed that sometimes after I plug in my iPod into the dock and start playing the menu button on the iPod would stop responding. Then I'd have to unplug it and skip all the way to the end of the playlist to get back to the menu function again. Anybody else experiencing this glitch?

Posted by neomax on August 10, 2005 at 9:36 AM (PDT)

31

to solve the problem of fitting an ipod into the dock area, i cut my iSkin evo 2 about and inch up (where the white plasitc spacer for "thick ipods" stopped touching the ipod) the cut a straight line accross and part of the side of the case. I believe speck products has a case with that already done, but it would not have been high enough since that was for the apple dock.

Posted by jfried in Ann Arbor, Michigan on August 11, 2005 at 7:04 AM (PDT)

32

Hey this is a question for kensteele, you say there are large discounts at BBB and LNT, I'm just not sure who he is referencing, could you let me know? thanks.

Posted by spegis on August 16, 2005 at 1:38 PM (PDT)

33

Does anyone have problem of overheating when the IHOME clock radio is off?

Posted by timeout on August 19, 2005 at 5:47 AM (PDT)

34

mortonmanor-

I too have been looking for a solution for the bright light given off by the iH5. I cannot find the tinted adhesive film mentioned above, but saw your mention of the cling film from crayola. Please let me know where you purchased this? Cannot find much about if on the net.

Thanks

Posted by drcooper in Little Rock, AR on August 22, 2005 at 6:21 PM (PDT)

35

I have been having a problem when it is off. It comes on for no reason. It's a little creepy.

Posted by Rich NY on August 26, 2005 at 6:49 AM (PDT)

36

I have had the same problem with mine. It just comes on and the alarm isn't even set. Probably have to take it back and exchange it for another one.

Posted by cembree in Maryville,TN on August 28, 2005 at 8:11 PM (PDT)

37

hi,
Does the power supply adaptator compatible with 220 v ? (if not, what the exact caracteristic of the power supply).

tks.

Posted by iBenweb on August 31, 2005 at 11:08 AM (PDT)

38

Just bought this unit from the local Apple Store. $99 and it was well worth it. The Remote Control IS included, so I'm not sure what the difference is between the unit I bought and the unit reviewed above. All features work as advertised and I couldn't be happier. A great combination if you're looking for a decent clock-radio with iPod integration.

Posted by rollingdonut on September 3, 2005 at 3:06 PM (PDT)

39

I purchased one of these from Bed, Bath and Beyond for $80, using one of those 20% off in-store purchase coupons I get in the mail every two weeks. I really like it, and agree with the positive review/rating. I definitely think it's worth the $80 to get a nice looking clock radio with an integrated iPod charging dock.

I can wake/listen to whatever I want (rather than just what’s on the crappy local radio stations), and I have found myself leaving it on while getting ready in the morning. I think the controls are fairly ergonomic, although it would have been nice to have more iPod control buttons (they’re all on the remote, apparently). Plus my iPod is always charged up. The alarm comes on quietly (no annoying click-sound, which most radios have) and it keeps the last volume setting I used (unlike what some other commenters have said).

I will agree that even at the dimmest setting, the backlight is still bright. I also wish it had an atomic clock built-in. Although with battery backup it's unlikely I'll be setting the clock all that often.

Posted by jcricket on September 20, 2005 at 1:49 PM (PDT)

40

What about nano compatabilty? will it work at all?

Posted by strikeover on September 28, 2005 at 9:42 PM (PDT)

Page 2 of 6 pages  <  1 2 3 4 >  Last »

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.