iHome iH5 Docking Stereo Clock Radio | iLounge

Reviews

41

"What about nano compatability? will it work at all?"

-iHome is making an insert for the nano that will be available on their website in 3-4 weeks.

I have seen several postings on different websites where people said their IH5 DID come with a remote, even though iHome says it is optional. Does anyone know a pattern to where the IH5 WITH REMOTE is being sold? At first I thought it was ones sold at Apple stores, but I have seen some who bought at Apple stores that came with remotes and some that didn't.

Posted by steve_eddy on September 29, 2005 at 4:55 PM (PDT)

42

are there any alternatives to ihome?

Posted by fondoo in NYC on October 3, 2005 at 2:55 PM (PDT)

43

The ipod nano adapter is for sale on ihomes website for 6$

Posted by nextpm on October 3, 2005 at 4:07 PM (PDT)

44

I just purchased this last night, and for the most part am happy. I do have two questions though.

1. The "3 Level Dimmer": my clock seems to only have two levels, super bright, and dim. I press the dimmer switch once, and it stays the same, i.e. super bright, twice, and then it goes dim. I thought there were supposed to be three levels, i.e. high, medium and dim.

2. I've heard/read that the unit has a "Gentle Sleep" feature where it automatically lowers the volume as it gets closer to shutting off. Also, I've heard there is a way to have the volume gradually increase when your alarm/ipod/radio goes off in the morning. I haven't been able to figure this out, even calling ihome's non-existent customer service. Yes, there is a sleep volume on the back of the unit, but I thought this was supposed to be an automatic function.

Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Given the issue with the dimmer and the "Gentle Sleep" function, I'm wondering if I got a defective unit.

Thanks in advance.

Posted by katoraja on October 5, 2005 at 8:32 AM (PDT)

45

katoraja,

Just to let you know I am experienceing the same issues and have the same concerns. Therefore you are not alone. I am very dissappointed on these two issues. Additionally I have tried to call their customer service number (800) 288-2792 but I just get a answering machine. Pleaselet me know if you end of resolving these issues.

Thanks in advance

Posted by aeast on October 5, 2005 at 1:43 PM (PDT)

46

Ref-Backlight to bright. auto-parts stores sell non-adhesive window tint that can be cut to fit over display.

Posted by johnw343 on October 5, 2005 at 4:34 PM (PDT)

47

Just bought this and am pretty happy with it. A couple things to note:

Where to buy: I stopped at Target and they have this for $130 (and no remote). Costco carries them for $90 and theirs include the remote. No brainer if you're a member, and I think the remote is key to this unit.

Gentle Wake: There doesn't seem to be a way to control this feature, which stinks. The start volume is louder than I left it (the night before) and it quickly, not slowly, increases to what I would call, well, a loud volume. Much too loud for me in the morning...and there doesn't seem to be a way to control this. If I want a loud noise I'll use the buzzer, but let me control the music volume!

I don't think the LED is too bright at its lowest setting (and yes, I have 3 settings, not two). The unit is about one foot from my head and it doesn't bother me at all. For those who find it too bright, go to a baby store, or auto store, and buy a cheap non-adhesive window tint square, and cut it to size.

Posted by Morvran on October 6, 2005 at 9:44 AM (PDT)

48

Ok, this is just an update to my previous post...there is more than one version of this clock out there.

I bought mine at Costco, and it comes with the remote. It also seems that my version has a dimmer LED (light) than what everone else is describing.

But I also now see that part of my frustration with the volume comes from the fact that there is no "sleep volume" adjust button on the back of mine. The back of mine has only two buttons...but I notice that other versions have 3 buttons (including the one in the pictures above).

There may be other differences as well, and I can only assume that mine is a newer version.

Posted by Morvran on October 11, 2005 at 3:23 PM (PDT)

49

Morvan-I have found that there are two versions on this product. Go here:
http://www.ihomeaudio.com/faq.asp
And scroll to the bottom to see a shot each version's back. Also, you will find a link to each of their manuals. I hope this helps.

iLuver<3

PS Does anyone know if this product works with the 5Gs?

Posted by iLuvYuu on October 16, 2005 at 4:01 PM (PDT)

50

Morvan-Just finished reading the manual and your unit does have the "sleep volume" feature however there is no specific button assigned to it. The way I read it is that to set the sleep volume, you put the unit into sleep mode and then set the volume to your chosing. I believe that after you turn off sleep mode that your volume will resume whatever you had it at during normal use. For the exact directions, you should go to your manual and look under "sleep operation". Hope I solved your problem.

iLuver<3

Posted by iLuvYuu on October 16, 2005 at 5:33 PM (PDT)

51

just got my ihome at best buy. $100. no remote. does have the sleep volume button though. i also only have 2 brightness settings. i noticed that some people mentioned that the alarm seemed to be louder than the previous volume setting. thanks to a few days vacation from work, i haven't had to use the alarm, but i'll keep my eye (ear?) on it.

Posted by iSabrina on October 19, 2005 at 12:42 PM (PDT)

52

Thanks for trying to help Luv...I've tried everything, including adjusting the sleep volume, but there's no getting around the loud wake volume. It's silly really, because it's all due to the "gentle wake" feature. If I set the volume to 1 (even at 0 setting) and then turn off the unit, it WILL wake at that same volume, and then within 3 seconds it's up to about 18. It doesn't gradually get to that volume, it just rockets to that volume. (also the same with the radio setting)

If there was a way to disable the gentle wake feature I'd be set. As it stands though, I have to make sure the song I've set to wake to is very mello, and then quickly hit snooze to try to avoid annoying my wife.

I do still like the unit however, and am going to keep it, even though part of the reason I bought it was to be able to wake (and listen) to songs on my iPod without disturbing my wife's sleep.

Posted by Morvran on October 21, 2005 at 12:01 PM (PDT)

53

In answer to an earlier question, the iH5 is compatible with the 5G. Use the "small iPod" adaptor, as the 5G is about the same thickness as the original 20Gb 4G Monochrome iPods.

You see can the following thread within the forums for a discussion of the 5G and accessory compatibility.

http://forums.ilounge.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=124242

Posted by Jesse Hollington in Toronto on October 22, 2005 at 8:18 AM (PDT)

54

I just purchased the iH5. While on paper it looks like a great product, once you get it home and set it up, the unit disappoints. First of all, the ear-splitting electronic beep it makes when setting the alarm features is painfully annoying! An idiotic design flaw. Secondly, the "gentle wake" feature doesn't work well. As described by others, it rockets to a blasting volume very quickly and there seems to be no way to correct this. Idiot design flaw number two. Then there's the remote. The "second version," which doesn't have the sleep volume button, includes the remote. Unfortunately, it lacks a Menu button for iPod control. This disappointing omission marks the third idiotic design flaw.

These three glaring problems, it seems, could have been corrected rather easily. Instead, as in many products today, the designers FAILED to go one step further to make an okay/good product truly great. I'm still debating on whether to keep the iH5 or not. The terrible "gentle wake" feature may be the tipping point that send this back to the store for a refund.

iLounge's "A-" rating is far too generous. "B-" is more like it. Tone down the electronic beep made when adjusting Alarm settings, fix or get rid of the "gentle wake" feature, and add a Menu button to the remote, then you've got a product deserving of an "A-." It is baffling why so many products fall short when with a little more effort, they could be great. This one may be a mild good, but certainly not great.

Posted by Michael Kelly in Chicago, IL on October 29, 2005 at 3:08 PM (PDT)

55

No matter what I try, there doesn't seem to be a way to set the volume for the alarm. What the designers were thinking when that set the alarm volume to 19 is beyond my understanding. Perhaps they live/work in a noisy neighborhood? Come on!

The iH5r (which is the second version) goes back for a refund in the morning. Unbelievably terrible design flaws spoil what could have been a great product.

If you don't need the alarm feature, then it gets a "B-." If you want to use the alarm, unless you've got hearing problems, the iH5r rates a D at best. What could they have been thinking?!!!!

Posted by Michael Kelly in Chicago, IL on October 29, 2005 at 6:49 PM (PDT)

56

purchased at best buy for $99.

i have to agree with michael kelly on all points. the system does disappoint. great idea but poor implementation at too high a price.

when i first opened the box, the first thing i noticed was that the device was scratched and marred.

secondly, the dials for volume and channel selection are sticky and hard to rotate.

thirdly, there is no way to autoscan channels -- unless you have the REMOTE!

fourth, fm reception is very poor. there is a wire (fm antenna) that is physically attached to the back of the unit - it cannot be disconnected without cutting it. what if the user wanted to hook-up their own better/longer antenna system?

fifth, the unit is white and no other color choices exist.

HOWEVER, my biggest disappointment with the ih5 was that the MOST IMPORTANT item for this device was MISSING -- THE REMOTE!! what is it with these companies (apple included), "nickel and diming" us consumers to death. put the damn remote in the box and develop a loyal customer base - GEESH! (in the case of apple, would it kill you to put a basic dock in the box with the 5g ipod?) come on.

finally, in my humble opinion: a better implementation of an mp3 clock radio would be to start with an awesome clock radio - with excellent fm/am reception and all the bells and whistles of a premium quality system - and add the ability to plug in an SD card that contains mp3 music or whatever. the device would have a slider switch with AM/FM/MP3 selection. seems like it would be simple/logical, right?

come on manufacturers, quit delivering crap to the consumer. this clock radio/ipod player fails on many levels and does nothing great. my purchase was promptly returned for a refund.

Posted by dquiles on November 7, 2005 at 11:23 AM (PDT)

57

Just picked one up last night(Two Thumbs Up). Brookstone sent me a flyer listing it for $99 plus another 20 for the remote. Went down to the Apple Store, same mall and they had it for $99 with the remote included!
I hesitated over the past few months due to some negative feedback I read here (this was a mistake). Once again, I have found other users to be too picky! I've been learning to ignore most of the users opinions from other reviews as it seems more unhappy people are too quick to slam a product and the happy people just don't bother posting their opinions. I've learned to rely more towards Jeremy's opinion's. With this I-H5 unit many posters of course, want "It all" with this first version for the 100 bucks (I spent $250 for a Sony CD/clock radio 4 years ago and always disliked it, although it does sound great). IMO they did an excellent job with this first unit's initial design. I totally agree with Jeremy (this article"s reviewer) He's right on the money here with all his comments.
Rather than wait for the "perfect" design, If they come out with an updated unit, I'll buy that one too and move this one into my kitchen.
I searched 10 months ago after I bought the mini ipod for add on speakers and thought they were all over priced and returned all I tested, most sounded mediocore to tinny or too bassy for the price. Even the Bose (IMO) is $150 over priced for it's flat muffled sound. This I-H5 unit sounds just great for $99 (tip: change your Ipod setting to base)and now I have a clock radio to boot that not only charges my Ipod but I can listen to AM/FM and all the songs on my pod plus pod casts and my audible books all in my bedroom. I'll probably even take it along when I go on vacations. Matches my silver mini perfectly and overall is a real nice sleek modern design, just like most Apple products are and this is made by SDI. The (must have)remote works great and has a high speed scan mode which helps for the lack of presets.
If you're looking for an add on set of decent powered speakers with a clock radio you can't go wrong even with this first version for $99.

Posted by Expidia in NY on November 12, 2005 at 10:51 AM (PDT)

58

Over bright clock light solution: I bought a roll of "Gila Limo Black Anti Rays window film" 80% dark tinted windshield film at a local NAPA auto store as some others have suggested. Traced out the clock face with a pointed tool (a small phillips head screwdriver) while holding the tinted film against the clock face area and then cut it out with a scissors. A thin strip of scotch tape at the top and bottom holds it in place. Still very bright on the lowest setting, so I cut out another layer and doubled it up. It works fine now. During the daytime I can always switch to higher brightness (or just look at my Wife's clock radio on her side for the time)! Cheap fix.
This tinted film is also good to cut a small circle or square and put a piece of scotch tape over it and then stick it over all those bright led's around the house that annoy us like when watching TV in the dark. I went around the house and plopped tint over every one of these little suckers. Takes the glare right out, yet leaves the color.
FOR SALE: email me at .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) - I'll send you my address. Send me $2.00 with a postage paid return envelope with your address and I'll trace out a half dozen tinted clock faces to fit the I-H5 and mail them back to you. What the hell, I've got 6.5 feet by 24 inches of this tinted film now for an easy fix to our over bright I-H5 clock faces and bright LED's.

Posted by Expidia in NY on November 14, 2005 at 7:18 PM (PDT)

59

Will this work with an ipod nano? Thanks.

Posted by lauriem on November 20, 2005 at 4:29 PM (PDT)

60

Received today a Newspaper insert: flyer (Albany NY region, but may be a national sale) 2 days Fri 25th and Sat special at Linens and Things . . . IHome SALE $69.99 (but, can't use the 20% off coupon on back for this sale) does not say if a remote included ($20 extra). Still not a bad price!

Posted by Expidia in NY on November 24, 2005 at 7:39 AM (PDT)

Page 3 of 6 pages  <  1 2 3 4 5 >  Last »

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.