iHome iH8 Dual-Alarm Clock Radio for Your iPod | iLounge

Reviews

1

iH8=I hate?

Posted by mattwardfh in Texas on May 9, 2007 at 11:34 AM (PDT)

2

Will it work with the iPhone?

Posted by Benucio on May 9, 2007 at 12:23 PM (PDT)

3

Whether or not it works with the iPhone depends on whether the iPhone ships with an iPod dock connector and a universal dock adapter. I suspect many people are in a holding pattern right now. I want speakers for my desk at work, but since I plan to bring my iPhone to work every day rather than my iPod as I do now, I haven't purchased anything yet.

Posted by technolawyer on May 9, 2007 at 2:32 PM (PDT)

4

I just set one up last night; I couldn't use my iPod because it didn't come with an adaptor for a Mini. You can order one for $6 from their website, + shipping & handling, I suppose. The guy at the store told my wife it would work with a Mini. But the radio part works very well, anyway, and the alarm got me up this morning.

Posted by wikiwidia on May 10, 2007 at 7:41 AM (PDT)

5

The iphone HAS an ipod dock connector, it should be ok.

Posted by jgonino on May 10, 2007 at 8:18 PM (PDT)

6

I bought this last week; it sounds good, with no distortion at louder levels (although I haven't turned it all the way up yet). I like that you can adjust the brightness of the clock display, and the remote is handy for adjusting the volume when I'm walking around getting ready in the morning. I bought mine for $80 (with a 20% off coupon) at a "bed and bath item" chain store, but they only had white ones at the store I went to. I give it a thumbs up; it serves its purpose, and wasn't too expensive.

Posted by Lizzer on May 11, 2007 at 2:58 PM (PDT)

7

Bought the older model @ Costco about 6 mos. ago for $49.95, what a bargain! This is just the thing I needed to replace my outdated bedside alarm clock/tape player! Works great, sounds great, recommend this!

Posted by oldskool in Los Angeles on May 13, 2007 at 11:12 AM (PDT)

8

I bought this last week at Best Buy. It says on the box that it is compatible with the Mini, but it does not include the Mini docking piece, as someone mentioned. The sound is great for the price, dimmer is excellent. One gripe is that the dock itself is too shallow and therefore the ipod, while docked, sits precariously and can be easily knocked out. Another is that the dual alarms can not both be set to radio, or both to ipod, each alarm is designated to one or the other.

Posted by bcjilounge on May 14, 2007 at 11:08 AM (PDT)

9

can you hook this unit up to a stereo?

Posted by jhs314 on August 15, 2007 at 7:13 AM (PDT)

10

iHome's web site allows downloading of their manuals, where I learn one more distinction between the iH6 and iH8: the latter apparently does not include iPod photo inserts. Since I have a 4G iPod this is a critical omission.

I am therefore contemplating the purchase of an iH6, but am a little put off by the absence of a standalone iH6 review. I think this article contains most of the useful distinctions between the iH5/6/7/8 products, but it fails to note the presence or absence of product revisions (which would help me evaluate Costco's current $90 iH6 offering), and its last mention of the iH6 is frustrating: "iH8 [is] a solidly equipped alarm clock for its $100 asking price, just as iH6 was at the time of its release." (Which was when? And is the iH6 now obsolete, as this sentence implies, and if so in what way? It seems still to be available in nearly as many retail channels...)

I beg the editors to update their reviews of this product.

Posted by tcd on August 27, 2007 at 10:00 AM (PDT)

11

jhs314: the manuals for the iH6 and iH8 both show a line out port. This would enable you to hook it up to a stereo. The manual does note that you wouldn't want to use the line out port with headphones, as line out audio is unamplified and needs to be run through an amplifier (such as that found in, for example, a stereo with a "line in" audio port).

Posted by tcd on August 27, 2007 at 10:04 AM (PDT)

12

iHome's product releases, discontinuations, and revisions are next to impossible to follow; even products with the same model number have, in the past, contained different parts based on different stores they're sold through. As we say at the bottom of every review, we can't track all these things for one product, let alone the 2,000+ products we keep in our database; similarly, as much as we want our reviews to be comprehensive, we can't possibly cover every little detail every person might ask about. Vendors have web sites and customer service personnel to handle questions like these.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz in East Amherst, NY, USA on August 27, 2007 at 10:52 AM (PDT)

13

Case in point: I bought an iH6 at Linens 'n Things (Jeremy: I still don't understand the sentence I quoted in comment #10 above and beg for some explanation - otherwise your points are all well taken) and it came with an "iH6/8" remote that looks like the iH8 remote photographed above, has six light levels on the LCD display screen (unfortunately there's no way to turn the bright bright orange lights on top down) and lacked iPod photo/mini adapters. A phone call to the manufacturer resulted in a little confusion and a promise to send out a free adapter for my iPod.

Still not sure I'm going to keep it. At 4AM it looks like a little fire burning on my night stand with a TV set's reflection in the polyurethane tabletop. I might try my luck with the Luna.

Posted by tcd on September 6, 2007 at 6:15 PM (PDT)

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.