Incase Charger - Versions 1 and 2 | iLounge

Reviews

1

In regards to the strange audio quality of the "audio out" port:

Vocals are almost always stereo mixed into a center postion, with equal amounts of signal in both left and right channels. When the electronic "phase" characteristics of one channel are swapped, cancellations occur, and sound common to each channel are suppressed.

This condition is most likely what is occuring in this product as your review also mentions "brightening the treble" (translated: bass cancellation) and "out-of-phase" audio almost always exhibits poor bass and other odd audio characteristics.

An unfortunate engineering problem (and fatal product flaw), but fixable, if Incase jumps right in and does something before a bunch of these hits the shelves...

~KB

Posted by KamBlazer on December 15, 2004 at 11:50 AM (PDT)

2

^^ yep, just sounds like they soldered things the wrong way

these look good - they'd be great for a road trip type holiday.

too expensive though, i'd rather chuck the brick in my bag, and leave my car charger in the car.

Posted by Harrison in Melbourne, Australia on December 15, 2004 at 1:19 PM (PDT)

3

"True, Incase doesn't describe the "audio plug-in" as a "line out", which conceivably would have signaled that music would be unaltered as it passes through the Charger."

I got one for Christmas, and the port is labeled as a "line out" is the one in the review not? I'm a bit confused.

Posted by jyl4032 on December 25, 2004 at 1:59 PM (PDT)

4

A few notes:
1 - the audio plug-in/line out is too close to the ac plug and thus noisy when being used w/ ac charging

2 - Still a great way to have two chargers in one unit.

Posted by gdkzen on February 1, 2005 at 11:33 AM (PDT)

5

I ordered this charger directly from incase and received one of the new units with the audio port labeled "line out". Much to my surprise, when I plugged it in it clearly had the audio defect described in this review. When I asked for a replacement from incase, I recieved ANOTHER DEFECTIVE UNIT! I am still trying to resolve the issue with incase. I recommend that everyone avoid this charger!

Posted by mrhavoc on May 9, 2005 at 9:57 AM (PDT)

6

Assuming you can find a non-defective unit, this single charger replaces all these simulataneously:

Dock (or Pocket Dock)
Wall Charger
Car Charger

It looks like this unit is priced appropriately, I think.

Posted by minty on June 1, 2005 at 12:14 PM (PDT)

7

Bought one of these yesterday at Best Buy. The one I've got does not exhibit the defect discussed here, and delivers VERY strong, clean audio to my Panasonic cassette adapter. It just made sense; as I was also planning on buying another AC adapter to use at work, this pretty much killed two birds with one stone. I also bought a Griffin iSqueez to go with it...elegant in its crude simplicity.

Posted by colbypaperboy on July 14, 2005 at 8:26 AM (PDT)

8

I've finally got my 5G iPod and as you all know, a wall charger isn't bundled. So this piece of kit is gonna be valuable considering the price of buying an apple charger and another car charger...THIS THING ROCKS!!!!!

Posted by hoho on December 22, 2005 at 11:04 PM (PDT)

9

Watch out on this charger! had it for about a year and it was a godsend as I could charge my iPod anywhere. After a year the car charging end stopped working. I figured out that the internal 2 Amp fuse had blown and replaced it. It worked once and then blew out again, I reaplaced it again and repeated this 3 more times. I resorted to the wall charging unit which charged a few times and then IT gave out. I noticed a light clicking coming from inside the case and discovered that the transformer was shorting out for some reason. The charger has lost all functionality until I can replace the transformer or dish out the cash for another one which is not likely as I do not want to go through this cycle again. I also noticed a slight brown tint on the iPod connection end of the charge cord, I am not sure if this is from an internal short in the wiring. I have written incase and am awaiting their response. If you do not have access to the fuses and transformers then be prepared to chuck the charger when you start to notice the failures.

Posted by Incubus188 on April 1, 2007 at 5:00 AM (PDT)

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.