Incase Designs Sleeve | iLounge

Reviews

1

this case starched up my new ipod.

Posted by moises on November 16, 2003 at 8:46 PM (PDT)

2

THIS COMMENT APPLIES TO A MAJOR FLAW IN THE INCASE "FOLIO' CASE...apparently not yet reviewed here.

The Incase Folio iPod case (the one that folds down for easy access to your iPod) has a major design flaw. It utilizes a rather large plastic peg to keep the fold-over flap closed. This plastic peg snap partially separated from my case under normal usage. Upon close examination of the separation point it clearly obvious that the peg snap base design is much too thin and weak to withstand the normal stress load that it is intended to endure, particularly with the wider 30GB iPod (which is what I have). I would recommend that Incase stop selling this case immediately and recall the others that have shipped and then remanufacture this case with a stronger plastic peg clip. It's a shame that this flaw exists on this case because the unique "open down" concept is a superior design idea. Incase is certain to be flooded with returns.

Posted by ffass on February 4, 2004 at 9:53 AM (PDT)

3

I received this reply from Incase regarding the faulty peg-clasp on their Folio case (for 3G iPods):

"Sorry to hear about this unfortunate incident. We have made the correction to the design and will send you a replacement unit as soon as the new production is done in the middle of this month. Please advise if this is acceptable to you."

So, be aware that this case is being reworked.

Posted by ffass on February 6, 2004 at 2:05 PM (PDT)

4

Truly bad design - I remember getting this sleeve and thinking, "This button is going to break off." The tension of the wraparound sleeve is too much for the button - and lo and behold, it snapped off after 2 months of usage.

I wrote them an email, still waiting for a response.

Posted by Jack Myers on February 19, 2004 at 7:09 AM (PDT)

5

Send Pic!

Posted by macdogg on April 13, 2004 at 8:30 PM (PDT)

6

I've had a folio for about a month now and can not say too many bad things about it. It's perfect for commuters like me who log alot of walking time with their iPods.

Fits perfectly on the shoulder strap of my messenger bag. I "at first" thought the odd placement of the belt clip wouldn't work, but actually is such a great design when paired with my messenger bag. I just unsnap, flip it open to access my ipod and snap it shut. No more worrying about my 40 gig falling to t he ground unprotected.

As far as peg issue discussed, I haven't had a problem. Perhaps they have revamped the design since then. Just make sure that the iPod is pushed snuggly, all the way into the case. Make sure also that the port cover is inserted, as the it will be hard to close as noted above.

Posted by rick on July 30, 2004 at 10:25 AM (PDT)

7

Ditto on the folio peg problem. I thought it was the perfect case and loved it...until the main design element that provided structure broke off (i.e. the peg). I've tried improvising a fix (putting a push-pin in the sub remnant) and that worked for a while, but then failed. So now I can walk around with my iPod dangling upside down, or buy a new case.

Posted by PB on September 29, 2004 at 4:49 AM (PDT)

8

the site is now goincase.com

Posted by punkrockavocado in VA on February 6, 2005 at 3:50 PM (PDT)

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.