Apple Computer iPod mini: The iPod Newbie review | iLounge

Reviews

21

hi! I don't have an ipod yet and I need to save up some money to get one. but I have a problem. I love the ipod minis stylish snappy look, but not the amount of songs it holds. and the price is outrageous. I can't decide whether to get the normal ipod, dell jutebok, or the ipod mini!
PLEASE HELP!

Posted by MISSPINK on March 1, 2004 at 2:02 PM (PDT)

22

come on! I REALLY need some guidance!

Posted by misspink on March 1, 2004 at 4:43 PM (PDT)

23

misspink: since you said you have to save to get, I would go with the normal one...10 or 15GB. I was thinking about the mini, cuz i JUST got my 15GB, and the space is well worth the money. Holler at me for more help.

Posted by Camilleon on March 3, 2004 at 8:20 AM (PDT)

24

I have already purchased an ipod mini but i have not recieved it yet from apple. I was just wondering if anyone knows anything about what types of songs you can put on. It says above taht if youget your music from somewhere other then iTunes you will have to format them for the ipod. How is that done? Is it difficult to format the songs and am i just better off getting my music from itunes and Cds. Also if i were to take music from a Cd would i be able to take it from a CD that has been burned off a computer. If you know anything about this i would love to hear what you have to say. Thank you

Posted by Caylee2 on March 3, 2004 at 2:12 PM (PDT)

25

Keep in mind that the original 3 ipod has 30% of the market - that leaves 70% to the other 500 options. You might want to do the math and figure out the sliver they each hold.

Posted by jbelkin on March 4, 2004 at 11:57 PM (PDT)

26

I'd have to argue with the people who say that the ipod mini should not be compared to the 15 gb ipod.

First of all, majority of the people who would go through the painstaking effort of researching ipods and ipods products are most likely interested in, dare I say it, "IPODS.Ē Who wants to hear about crappy flash based players and oversized/archaic hard drive players. If the people wanted to see an article about a flash player, then they should go to a flash player web site. If they wanted to see an article comparing the different players out there, then they should go to an UNBIASED website without the word ďIPODĒ in the web site title.

I am one of those people who have always wanted an IPOD, but was reluctant to spend 300+ on one. Like many other people believe, 256 MB flash players are just not big enough. Also, 40 GB Creative Labs & other hard drive players are just too damn ugly. Itís about finding the perfect balance of size and style and people like me surf ipod web sites like this because we have decided that apple is the way to go.

While some may think that ipod minis and ipods just don't mix, I think that the ipod product line and all other mp3 products just don't mix.

The Ipod is a class of its own, and in my opinion nothing even comes close. The Ipod MINI and the regular Ipod are the best mp3 players ever made, so why not compare them?

Because it makes you angry that people actually want to know the difference between an IPOD and an IPOD MINI? When you decide that you want an ipod, this is a legitimate concern. This article was intended to address that concern.

In response to the car analogy Matt mentioned, I ask this: Would you ever compare a Porsche 911 Carrera to a Toyota Celica? Probably not, they are both sports cars yesÖ. But they are not even close to each other in terms of quality and style. Iíd rather compare the Porsche Boxster to the Porsche 911. The ipod has the same premise. The style and quality of an IPOD makes this brand of mp3 player above all the rest. You are more likely to compare whether or not the extra cash/size difference is worth it and which IPOD is right for you.

As for those that think the ipod should still be compared to other products, then I propose this:

Either go to a different web site or take the initiative to write your own damn article.

Posted by PublicDefender on March 5, 2004 at 3:49 PM (PDT)

27

Iím so glad I found this websiteÖ My husband is getting me an MP3 player for my birthday (YAY!) and Iím pretty sure that I want to go with the mini. Why, you ask? Well, first of all, I donít even think I have nearly 50 CDís. I tend to love the ones I have and not buy them that often. (I listen to CDís over and over just like I like to watch movies over and overÖ call it OCD or whatever.) So, I really, truly donít think that the storage size is an issue. I know that the flash based players donít have enough, and I think that this is just right.

I also think that itís worth the money for a product that is easy to use and durable. I have been burned SO many times by opting for a less expensive product to save a few $$, but having it turn out to cost me more in the long run because it turned out to be a piece of junk with no warranty and I just have to go out and buy another one anyway. (Case in point- my stupid Motorola cell phone, but thatís another message board!) From friends that have iPods (The older ones) I have only heard great things, and Apple is a name I trust.

Last, I will admit, I love things that are colors. So sue me. If itís pink, I want it. These are really cool, and design is so important to me anyway. (I went to art school) I think itís really cool how you can get it engraved, too. (Iím getting my birthdate and ďhappy birthdayĒ engraved on mine)

I think it really is a choice as to whatís right for you, and whatís important to you. Iím impressed that Apple came up with a product for people who arenít ďPower UsersĒ and created something new thatís for a ďSimple UserĒ versus making every new product more ultra-powerful than the last. Thatís the way that most technology tends, and by creating something thatís for a market that really nobody has addressed (donít like the flash, donít want a super-computer), Apple has a mega hit on their hands.


I just don't know if I can wait until the backorder is over.

Posted by red on March 12, 2004 at 11:21 AM (PDT)

28

Is the mini iPod the BEST mp3 player out there in the market, or are there others out there that match it? Thanks.

Posted by Sam on March 12, 2004 at 4:45 PM (PDT)

29

"Is the mini iPod the BEST mp3 player out there in the market"

Nope, iRiver is best in terms of technology, Gmini is best in terms of memory card support, Nitrus is best in terms of battery support, Karma is best in terms of audio codec/quality support.

But the iPod Mini is the best looking of them all, and probably best for you.

Posted by nope on March 12, 2004 at 8:21 PM (PDT)

30

"and probably best for you"

What does that mean? How do you know it would be best for me?

Posted by Sam on March 13, 2004 at 1:34 PM (PDT)

31

Im sorry but if u are really comparing the iPod mini to the 3G, then u are missing the whole point. Excuse the outdated term, but u are all a bunch of NERDS! Apple has always been DESIGN+POWER. The 3G iPod satisfied this need, but most people bought it because it was stylish. Apple realized that they could get rid of the unneeded drive space and make the player smaller and even more stylish. Most people want this because unlike u, they do not need 10,000 copies of a song by Crystal Method.

Posted by Ur all a bunch of NERDS! on March 13, 2004 at 10:14 PM (PDT)

32

my favorite feature of the mini is the way that the dock rubs off all the finish on the bottom front. yep, that's Apple's award-winning industrial design at work!

Posted by mini suxx on March 14, 2004 at 8:29 AM (PDT)

33

misspink; First consider how much music you have already and intend to buy in the future. If you have a lot of songs now and buy a lot of music then consider a player with a large capacity. I have a 30 gig iPod and have 4,581 songs and counting. I have songs from CD's, iTunes, and downloads from music websites and other sources I won't mention. They all play on my iPod with no problem. If all you need is enough room for no more than 1,000 songs then go for the mini iPod. But if you need more room then go for a larger iPod. I love my iPod and would highly recommend it. But check each player your considering out and see which one has the features your looking for in a mp3 player.

But iPod is the way to go. Also you can put audible books on the iPod so consider that if your interested in hearing books. You'll need the extra space.

You can also have the iPod colored if you want to at: colorwarepc.com and click on 'service'. It costs $49 and you have a large choice of colors.

Posted by honeybee1236 on March 14, 2004 at 11:22 AM (PDT)

34

Seriously though, i have like..... 154 Mp3's.
Is the mini a good choice for me? The other players are ugly. Would it just be better for me to get the 15 gig IPOD instead? Argh i need guidance. Also, do you think the price will decrease?

Posted by i need help :( on March 14, 2004 at 4:18 PM (PDT)

35

Does anyone know what the signal to noise ratio is for the Mini?

Posted by elcolt on March 15, 2004 at 10:57 PM (PDT)

36

Seriously all this comparing the ipod mini to 3G ipods IS VERY USEFUL!!!!!

I've decided to go ipod after a nasty creative experience and I really can't decide between the smaller, more stylish mini or the larger, yet still stylish 3G ipods. Im really stuck here. My music collection is lingering around 4gB although alot of it I never listen to. But when I go to uni I don't know how much this will increase...

So please ppl address the topic of this thread. I can see many ppl are in the same situation as I am.

Posted by Sam on March 21, 2004 at 8:23 AM (PDT)

37

I am debating over the mini and the 20gb ipod. The mini, i feel, is for people who just want a small time high and will move on to the next big tech craze after their small space is used up. The 20 ipod is for people who are really into music and are looking for a long time investment.

Posted by lauren on March 27, 2004 at 9:32 AM (PDT)

38

I have the 3G, 30gig iPod and it's better for me because I have a large library 4,655 and counting.

Look at how much music you have already and how often you buy. Since you already have around 4gB of music a mini doesn't seem like a good idea unless you only want to carry around that amount of music with you.

Plus the fact that you can carry your contacts around with you which I find better than a pocket address book since I can carry sensitive info (bank acc't #'s) with me on my Pod. Also you have the notes section you can use. I find this useful since I have my iPod with me more than anything else. I never carry my checkbook. My iPod fits in my pocket and no one knows I have it because I don't use the earbuds that came with it which is a dead giveaway and I don't pull it out in front of people.

Posted by iPodite on March 27, 2004 at 11:34 AM (PDT)

39

can i transfer files from kazza to the mini without having to rename all the songs or will thier info stick with it onto the mini

Posted by Kazza info on April 2, 2004 at 7:58 PM (PDT)

40

Sup all!!! hey you know i wanna get the ipod but im still wondering if you have to have a fast internet or some kinda software to converta ll the songs into the ipod...but heck yeah i want that ipod...well if i need some kinda internet or something...like a software ..can you guys tell me...email me at .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) k...thanks a lot if ya do...i really need the info on the software thats why...bye bye!!! TCCIC!

Posted by Star on April 3, 2004 at 3:57 PM (PDT)

Page 2 of 5 pages  <  1 2 3 4 >  Last »

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.