Apple Computer iPod mini: The iPod Newbie review | iLounge

Reviews

41

Im in Australia here, waiting for the release of the ipod mini, which i really like the look of..but only 4gb..
i havent bought a normal ipod, but i think its too big and heavy...
i have alot of songs on my comp..
would songs that are 192kps play well on the i pod mini? or of lesser size to fit more songs?
It will be like $330 aus dollars here and the 15 gig is like $449AUS i think.
what shold i do?

Posted by Sarah on April 3, 2004 at 9:26 PM (PDT)

42

I just ordered my new iPod mini l2 weeks ago, and some folks might want to know that educators and students are eligible for a $20 discount at Apple's education store. Why are we eligible for this discount when Apple has always been fairly strict about their discount policies? Not sure but not arguing either.

I just wish the darn thing would get here faster. 3 weeks is a lot of lead time for an electronic device. Perhaps Apple should have gotten it's supply chain in order before the release date.

Posted by Josh on April 4, 2004 at 5:43 PM (PDT)

43

ya i have a question, does the internet have anything to do with putting cd's on your ipod? becuase i want a 3g regular but i cant decide becuase if internet speed is an issue im goiing to have to think about it, i only have 56 k. Also about how long does the transfer take from a your cd to the ipod?

Posted by yoshi on April 5, 2004 at 12:27 PM (PDT)

44

The ipod mini is in a different class than the ipod. Compare them if you want, but all you have to do is pick them both up and you can tell. 4gig is plenty for me, even though I have over 20 on my computer, the mini is just that more appealing (and cheaper!!!). Besides, with itunes it's so easy to keep up to date. In fact I only have around 3 gigs on it. That's a couple of days of straight music. That's alot. I think most people don't need their whole music collection with them at all times, and probably never!

Posted by Bruce on April 7, 2004 at 5:34 PM (PDT)

45

Hey guys, for everyone wondering whether to get the new mini or the 'old' original iPods, I can't really give you a straight answer, as your decision shouldn't just depend on what the reviewers say. But I will voice that I recently purchased a 15GB iPod from CompUSA this weekend (hoping for a mini, but the entire state of Michigan is out, so the sales rep. told me), and I couldn't be more happy. The original iPod in my hand doesn't feel like it can be any more mini! Plus, the 15GB is nice if you maybe want to use it as a backup Mac OS X drive when your desktop fails, or if you have multiple computers and simply want to transfer files back and forth. All I'm saying is that now I've experienced the 3G iPod, I'm not sure the mini can be any cooler! Either way you choose, you'll be happy... I promise smile

Posted by Craig on April 10, 2004 at 12:49 PM (PDT)

46

Does using the ipod mean that you do not have to use your pc hard drive to down load music. I do not have much room to be downloading music, so I would like an ipod as long as I don't have to down load to my computer first. I want to be able to download direclty to the ipod.

Posted by Kim on April 13, 2004 at 1:52 PM (PDT)

47

Hi,
I am brand new to this. I have been using a mini disc for some years now but am thinking of an iPod. From somebody who is totally new my perspective on a few points are:
Firstly 4GB seems like a huge amount to me. I don't really see myself needing to store my 'entire' music collection on it. If there is something that I want that isn't on there then I can always just download it and delete something else if required right?
Secondly. I am thinking of the mini because I will be using the iPod for exactly what it is designed for. A portable music player. For that reason I want something that is going to fit into my pocket and be as lightweight as possible.

Anyway on another note I was surprised to read that the remote control is not included and you need to purchase that seperatly. I see a remote as being pretty essential to a portable device nowdays.

Also what is the docking station for that is not included? Is this used to charge and sync with the PC? Is it necessary?

Is there a release date for this in Europe as yet?
Thanks!

Posted by Ben on April 16, 2004 at 12:06 AM (PDT)

48

> I have been using a mini disc for some years now but am thinking of an iPod.

From your message itseems like you use the MD for playback only, yes? If so then an iPod will work.

But if you use your MD for recording you will be disappointed. The only recording option on the iPod is an overpriced add-on from Belkin with quality approximating a telephone handset.

Posted by MDGuy on April 16, 2004 at 7:46 AM (PDT)

49

my mini (gold) came with a full charge and formatted for PC. And three songs. I ordered directly from apple. Oh by the way i ordered mine Mar 31 and it came April 28th little less than month

Posted by fdfdsfdsf on April 29, 2004 at 5:08 AM (PDT)

50

"Anyway on another note I was surprised to read that the remote control is not included and you need to purchase that seperatly. I see a remote as being pretty essential to a portable device nowdays.

Also what is the docking station for that is not included? Is this used to charge and sync with the PC? Is it necessary?"

The dock isn't manditory or anything, you can charge it without a dock. The dock is just for style and it makes it a little more convienient in that you can charge at a desk, while sync to your computer (although I heard it goes a little slower)

I bought a 20gb ipod about 2 months ago, but after seeing how sensitive it is to scratches and how the price killed my bank account, I returned it.

Lol before everyone starts yelling at me, I am going to get another ipod later on but I am researching it more and finding out every single thing about the specs etc. I have about 500 songs or around 2.7 gb (around there). So I don't exactly know if I should go with the mini or buy the 20 again.

Also if you research the ipod, you will notice that the 15 gb cost will come out to be the same as the 20 if you decide to buy the remote and clip with dock (which I was planning to buy anyway) so I found the best to buy was the 20 gb, plus you gain 5 gb if you do plan to buy the dock.

I certainly love fashion, and the mini looks like fashion, but I also collect lots and lots and lots of songs and don't like to get rid of them, which one should I get the mini? or the ipod

Posted by K on May 1, 2004 at 8:39 AM (PDT)

51

After having my mini for a few weeks, I can only say it is phenomenal. I have ZERO complaints about it. It is such an improvement over the large, bulky, AND WHITE, iPods... I love it so much, if I could,I'd marry the darn thing. wink

BODANDMIND

Posted by BODANDMIND in Oklahoma, USA on May 2, 2004 at 7:22 AM (PDT)

52

Hey K. I think you should get the mini. I have a collection a little bigger than yours (65 CD's) I love the mini! Especially in gold. I can't walk down the street without at least 5 people asking me what the heck is on my jeans. Everyone has an iPOD only a select few have minis. They are soo cute! Also it comes with a belt clip, USB cable and firewire cable unlike the iPOD. Who needs the dock anyway? It doesn't really do anything unless you wanna say, HEY I HAVE A DOCk! Anyway, i really think you should get a mini they come in five really cute colorz. I personally think gold is the best. People at skool think i'm like rich! Hope this helped!

Posted by Super Duck on May 2, 2004 at 8:27 AM (PDT)

53

I'm getting a pink or green iPod mini at the first chance I can. Mainly for the cute colors, but I have maybe 75 songs (if that) that I need on it.. not enough to justify getting something so capable!!

Anyway, what I want to know is this: I have a PC. A Toshiba laptop that I hate with every ounce of flesh in my body. I have all my CDs uploaded on this "computer" (using the term loosely). They're on MP3 format. Can I transfer them to my iPod mini? No one can give me a straight answer.

Oh, and when my iPod's battery eventually dies for good, I can replace it.. right? (I'll send it wherever or pay however much) I just need to know if I can replace the battery!

Posted by Mal on May 4, 2004 at 10:28 AM (PDT)

54

Thz super duck! that did help, my mind is set on the mini now lols grin, but i am thinking about those sound disortion problems that lots of ppl say they are having, do u think they'll fix that soon enough? also, I know the regular fat white ipod make tons of scratches without a case.. and with a case on they're even bigger I was wondering, with the ipod mini is it almost like impossible to get it scratchesd without the use of a knife or something sharp? and also what if you put it in your pocket and theres some coins in there, would it get the aluminum scratched or is it strong enough to not make scratches, and does the screen get scratched?

Posted by K on May 5, 2004 at 6:43 PM (PDT)

55

The mini-iPod is competeing with mostly other harddrive players. As evidence of this, who do you know that has a $200 flash player? The only person I know with a flash-based player paid $100, and ended up getting a iPod later on.

I don't believe people cheap out when it comes to mp3 players, as they are seen as major investments akin to digital cameras or TVs. Areas were people don't buy the cheapest thing available, and instead go for features, product name, and word of mouth. Much unlike DVD players, computers(if people did research no one would buy HP), or microwaves.

Personally my I'd like to have an iPod mini(blue) even though it's smaller capacity-wise than my gen 1 5gb iPod. But I attribute that mostly to the fact it's new and cool. But it seems my next iPod will be a gen 4 something or other.

Posted by John on May 6, 2004 at 3:33 AM (PDT)

56

For K.
Well...are you really gonna listen to over 5,000 songs everytime you go out?? If not, go with the mini...it holds approximately 1,000 songs...which, although your collection may be more...you can just put on there what you're in the mood for...& you can change your playlists every so often!!
That's my recommendation...I have a mini & have lots of songs...& haven't even used 1/2 the space on my mini.
A friend of mine has the 15gb...she's a music freak...I can't even tell you how many gigs she has of music...but I'm sure she can fill up a 40gb iPod @ the very least...& 2 tell u the truth she barely even uses any of the space on her 15gb...she finds 2 carry all that music @ once is not really worth it...b/c ur not gonna listen 2 it all at once...so she just updates it with what she's in the mood for...that's my opinion...if u like the style of the mni go for that...& you don't need a dock at all!
Good luck!

Posted by Mo on May 17, 2004 at 7:32 PM (PDT)

57

mini's suck so bad. there to small and I hate them. Anyone who buys them is an idiot.

Posted by MSN in Seattle on May 20, 2004 at 9:36 AM (PDT)

58

the ipod all the way

Posted by MSN in Seattle on May 20, 2004 at 9:37 AM (PDT)

59

I am planning on getting an ipod mini, but I need to save up for it. So now I am importing all my CDs into itunes, and it imports at about 8x speed, but I just downloaded itunes 4.5, and now whenever I import a CD, it goes at 0.4x speed, which is PAINFULLY SLOW! It takes like over 2 hours to import a 1 hour CD, and I checked import settings, it lets you set everything except speed. If anyone can help me, please post a reply. Thx

Posted by wantanipod on May 26, 2004 at 8:35 AM (PDT)

60

lack of features, audio file support and hardware makes the iPod terrible in general

Posted by 123 on May 31, 2004 at 6:39 PM (PDT)

Page 3 of 5 pages  <  1 2 3 4 5 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.