iSkin Claro Silicone/Clear Case Combination for iPod with video | iLounge

Reviews

1

It looks like the combining powers of 2 really good cases: Agent 18 (hard invisible plastic and evo3 (soft but strong silicone rubber). Nice.

Posted by kendo on June 26, 2006 at 1:59 PM (PDT)

2

Awaiting the full review...

Posted by kendo on June 26, 2006 at 4:14 PM (PDT)

3

Dying to hear the full review!
- How is heat dissipation possible through both layers??
- How scratch resistant is that thing, really?
- Will the clip break?
- Is the clickwheel usable?
- How's it made? Rough edges?
- Do holes line up?

That's what I'm dying to know. smile

Posted by ShuffinatorJayne in Columbus, Ohio on June 27, 2006 at 5:53 AM (PDT)

4

My biggest questions are: Is the belt clip / stand completely removable, and will the iPod still fit in the dock with this case in place. One of the nice things about the Agent18 case I use now is that the iPod, case and all, fits into the Apple Universal Dock with the adaptor removed. Looking at the pictures above, the bottom of the iPod in the Claro is more covered up than it is in the Agent18.

Posted by Stymyx on June 27, 2006 at 8:55 AM (PDT)

5

Never mind. Just checked their website. They say the iPod won't fit in the Apple Universal Dock with the case in place. It also says certain devices, such as the iTrip, won't fit with the case in place either.

Strike one, and strike two. There's no mention of the clip being removable, but not being able to dock the iPod with the case on is enough for me to say, "thanks, but no thanks". I'm sticking with the Agent18 case for now.

Posted by Stymyx on June 27, 2006 at 9:05 AM (PDT)

6

Hmm... drawbacks here and there, I like the evo3 better. I don't think the clip is removable because Jeremy says:

...Claro comes with three pieces - the large rear shell, with a unique two-piece belt clip and iPod stand, the soft rubber iPod sleeve, and a front shell that slides into grooves on the rear shell's sides.

If the clip was removable then it would be a fourth piece.

Posted by kendo on June 27, 2006 at 9:55 AM (PDT)

7

But the eVo3 attracts all that LINT...

...that's my main motivation for not getting a silicone case.

My main motivation for not getting just any old clear case is a lack of clickwheel protection.

This looks GREAT. I don't use a dock, any dock port accessories, and I don't use other headphones aside from the pack-ins (which I think are pretty great), so if this case is really as good as it looks, I'm going to rush ship one to my house. smile

Posted by ShuffinatorJayne in Columbus, Ohio on June 27, 2006 at 1:15 PM (PDT)

8

Yeah the iskin silicon cases too tend to attract ALOT of lint... but it can be easily clean.

Back to the point. From my expriences with the Iskin Duo the Claro probably has a removable belt-clip and stand.

Posted by KCman on June 28, 2006 at 2:18 PM (PDT)

9

I just bought my claro 5 days ago and i ust got it. there are pros and cons for this product. the silicone makes the screen of the ipod a little haze. and the belt clip is NOT removable.but the pros are that every thing is in perfect fit. no extra silicone around the sides and makes for great protection. any questions just ask.

Posted by keysdude61 on July 8, 2006 at 11:37 AM (PDT)

10

My only problem with the review is this: there is no 60GB version of the product available at this time, and the review should reflect that. In the first paragraph they state the product is for 30GB and 60GB. And according to iSkin's Claro FAQ:

"The Claro for the 30 GB iPod with video is out first in order to gauge the market for our new line of products. But rest assured, iSkin has not abandoned our 60GB iPod with video clients and will keep you posted on any new developments that lead to the release of the Claro for the 60GB iPod with video."

Posted by circeus on July 9, 2006 at 8:45 AM (PDT)

11

Hey keysdude, do you have a black or a white iPod and duid you buy a slims pack with it? I have a black iPod and by the looks of it on the review, it takes away the "blackness" if you keep the arctic slim thats included. I was just wondering how the arctic looks on a black iPod

Posted by spencer818 on July 10, 2006 at 12:47 PM (PDT)

12

Spencer818, I have a black ipod. And the color of the ipod with the silicone case they give you makes the ipod look grey. so i am going to either paint the top black or just buy the pack of three

Posted by keysdude61 on July 11, 2006 at 9:24 PM (PDT)

13

If I could get a Claro case with a Ghost white (glow in the dark) sleeve for my 60 GB 5gen Video iPod I would buy it in a heart beat.

Posted by TulsaGent in Tulsa, OK, USA on August 23, 2006 at 9:33 PM (PDT)

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.