iSkin Duo for iPod nano | iLounge

Reviews

21

This is a great case. I have had my Nano for about two weeks and I haven't had any problems at all with this case. It offers ample protection (unless you treat your iPod like crap). As far as the colors go, yeah they could be better, but I have the Carbon Blast (the black on orange) and I think it looks pretty good actually. The click wheel still works great and the sensitivity has not been lost. The only thing I think is stupid is the click wheel cover, which is the thinnest, most awkward feeling plastic cover ever made. I threw mine away without even trying it out. For all of you are thinking about buying this, don't think twice (trust me, I have looked for a better case). Just think about how much easier it will be to sell it on eBay in a year or so when everybody elses is scratched beyond belief.

Posted by wood148 on November 17, 2005 at 11:41 PM (PDT)

22

Almost Perfect case!
pros-everything besides the following
cons-the screen protector slightly scrathese the screen, no big deal casue mine was already scratheced. and screen protector takes away a bit of the screen viewing

Posted by nanoboyrob19 on November 18, 2005 at 5:20 PM (PDT)

23

oh yeah i got the carbon blast

Posted by nanoboyrob19 on November 18, 2005 at 5:21 PM (PDT)

24

oh and i forgot xerxes your are on crack. this is by far the best case made for the nano so far, if this offers no protection then you obviously have no clue what ur tlking about, u must not own it

Posted by nanoboyrob19 on November 18, 2005 at 5:26 PM (PDT)

25

i dont know what everyone is talking about. this skin is amazing. it offers full protection plus screen protection and looks great. i just got a 4gb black nano and i love it but i ordered a duo before i got my nano because ive had 2 other ipods, 1g and 3g and only had a slide case which didnt offer any protection for my ipod when i was using it. the duo has great protection and i dont know why anyone could ever doubt this incredible case. plus the revo clip is extremly useful for runners like me and the case has yet to fail me. anyone who has a nano i highly reconmend this iskin duo if u want full protection and also wants to enjoy listening to your nano.

Posted by MIKE D. on November 21, 2005 at 7:27 PM (PDT)

26

I am about to buy a nano for my daughter for xmas. She plans on using it mainly while working out (particularly while running). I want to get her a good case to protect the nano but she also needs an armband to use the nano while running. Any suggestions? Thanks in advance.

Posted by Cynthia Baskin on November 29, 2005 at 5:31 AM (PDT)

27

Ok I just got this case and here is my take on it so far:
1) Definitely fits snug and thats a good thing.
2) The wheel cap...tried it, hate it..threw it out in 2 secs. Decreased sensitivity of the wheel big time.
3) Attracts lint like a magnet. Worse when you have a dog that sheds like there's no tomorrow (no i'm not getting rid of the dog)
4) Yes it does glow in the dark = easy to find
5) Luv the clip though can be pain to remove at times.

Since I've only had it for a few hrs, I'll see how I like it in the long run.

Posted by YearOfTheRat on December 5, 2005 at 9:40 PM (PDT)

28

So... if you wanted to remove the case for whatever reason, wouldn't the Nano get scratched while you are sliding the case off?

Posted by Warez on December 6, 2005 at 9:32 PM (PDT)

29

SWEET! The nano duo case is the best thing they have for the nano. My nano doesnt have a scratch and 'Warez':It doesnt scratch when you take it off. Geeze this thing is SWEEEET!

Posted by nanodude89 on December 8, 2005 at 4:32 PM (PDT)

30

I have the Carbon Blast for my black nano. Actually I like the way it looks. I've noticed the wheel sensitivity is really decreased with the clear plastic on it. Maybe I will take that off. Also, I noticed it is hard for me to reach the hold button (as it now is under 2 layers). I always worry I will damage the hold button by forcing my finger into the opening to get to it.

I did notice I cannot use the nano (with case on) on my RoadTrip anymore :( When I open the dock area, and place it on the RoadTrip, the plastic pushes it back up, thus never a true connection. *cry*

So, in My car I use my 4G iPod photo, and everywhere else, my nano. I am thinking of finding another case though.

Posted by Jing in USA/Singapore on December 8, 2005 at 9:10 PM (PDT)

31

Can't tell from the description, photos, or website: Is the nub for the belt clip removable?

I'll never use the clip and don't want it adding bulk or preventing the nano from laying flat.

Posted by txCMT on December 11, 2005 at 1:28 PM (PDT)

32

yea the belt clip is removable

Posted by nanodude89 on December 12, 2005 at 1:49 PM (PDT)

33

After the belt clip is removed, can you also remove the belt clip nubs? I've seen an older version of the iSkin that also had the removable belt clip, but after you removed the clip, you were left with two nubs on the iSkin. Does the new RevoClip2 solve the nub problem?

Also, if you can remove the nubs, how easily can you do it?

Posted by nanoman555 on December 13, 2005 at 3:29 PM (PDT)

34

can this fit in the nike armband?

Posted by Mr.No on December 13, 2005 at 5:25 PM (PDT)

35

Jeremey,

Would also like to know if this case works with the nike armband, or any armband for that matter, for use when jogging.

Thanks.

Posted by GrandGouda on December 19, 2005 at 3:55 PM (PDT)

36

I might have missed this...

Am I right in my understanding that this case (iSkin Duo) does NOT work well with the lanyard headphones?

I really love using the lanyard and I need to find a GOOD case that is compatible.

Thanx

Posted by tampa turnaround on December 28, 2005 at 11:46 AM (PDT)

37

I just got my Christmas Nano today, and ran over to the Apple store to get the iSkin Duo and some Crystal Film. I really like this case. I'm clipping it onto the armband from the Marware Sportsuit Convertable I had for my 40G 4G (it tweeked and I got a 60G 5G in free exchange!).
I bought the new and improved Sportsuit convertable for my 5G, and love it. IMHO it is the best case of all, and when the Apple store gets them back in stock for Nano, I'll be getting one. But I agree with all the positive comments for the Duo -it's great.

Posted by TheSeeker on December 30, 2005 at 1:55 AM (PDT)

38

I got this case for my nano last week and I'm going to be returning it.

The screen is too small which makes it impossible to read the track timings unless you angle the device so that you are looking down at the screen at a pretty significant angle. The same thing happens with the battery meter and pause/play icons at the top of the screen. This isn't just a nuisance, it's actually a defective part of the case. iSkin even admits that the screen is defective and they are going to start shipping the units with bigger screens at some point. I'm puzzled at how the reviewer could write so much about a case and fail to mention something so blatantly problematic about the design. I understand that this will not be much of an issue for a lot of users, but it should still have been mentioned I think. I certainly would not have bought the case if I would have known about the defective screen. I do appreciate all of the good work that the reviewers here do for us, and the reviews have been very helpful for me - thank you for all the help Jeremy and others - it is surprising though that the screen problem wasn't mentioned . It's my recommendation that the review be ammended so as to include something about it.

The click wheel protection is also highly problematic. The click wheel is rendered all but useless once the inner layer and plastic click wheel protector are covering it. Even without the plastic wheel protector applied, it is still basically inoperable in the way that apple intends it. You can make it work with poor results if you really try but I would say that the click wheel is only about 10-20% effective with or without the plastic click wheel guard on. I suppose that I could cut the inner layer's wheel covering portion away with a knife and leave the plastic click wheel protector off of the case, but I'd still have a defective screen.

I'm not happy with this case at all. It seems like iSkin designed it to perfectly fit a nano's physical dimensions but failed to ever turn the device on and actually try it out with the case on. If they did then they would have noticed that the screen protector is defective, and that the click wheel protection almost disables the click wheel altogether. If they did actually test this case with the nano turned on, and they still decided that it was ready for production, then I'm inclined to say that their decision was irresponsible and a questionable business decision to say the least. They either failed to properly test their product before it hit the shelves, or they knowingly sold arguably defective merchandise at a premium price - either way it's not how business should be conducted imo.

Posted by fenningenarius on December 30, 2005 at 6:53 AM (PDT)

39

To the poster who wanted to know if the 'nubs' which hold the belt clip on are detachable:

Yes, they are easily detachable. The outer skin will have to be removed from the unit in order to get them off, but it's easily accomplished as long as you don't mind taking the outer skin off to do it. Once the outer skin isn't wrapped around a nano you can just push the nubs through torwards the inside of the case and remove them.

Even with the nubs attached they don't stick out very far at all. Much less obtrusive than the kind that fit onto cell-phone type cases. They probably stick out about 1/8" of an inch - maybe 3/16".

Posted by fenningenarius on December 30, 2005 at 6:58 AM (PDT)

40

Wow...looks like it's about a 50/50 split on this case huh? I'm torn between getting the Duo and the Otterbox case for my nano.

Decisions....decisions.... :/

Posted by McGRP01 on December 31, 2005 at 1:25 PM (PDT)

Page 2 of 5 pages  <  1 2 3 4 >  Last »

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.