iSkin eVo | iLounge

Reviews

1

It wouild look a whole lot better with a better color.

Posted by Rage710 on April 22, 2004 at 3:03 PM (PDT)

2

like pink

Posted by chumpyipoop on April 22, 2004 at 3:19 PM (PDT)

3

yes

Posted by loser on April 22, 2004 at 3:19 PM (PDT)

4

it DOES come in pink! its so exciting. i would completely recommend the evo. in response to "the bad" however --

-- the control protection is rather unnecessary seeing as only the chrome and screen scratch significantly.
-- as for the dock, its not aggravating at all - you just peel away the case on the bottom to expose the port! much better than cases that have those flaps on the bottom [ew]
-- the belt clip is indeed somewhat flimsy. i wouldnt depend on it for my [or my ipods] life, but it does work just fine, dont get me wrong. im also just not a fan of belt-clipping at all.
-- what else are you going to buy?! its a silicone case with a belt clip, thats all. a miiiiighty sexy silicone case.

Posted by kaylin on April 22, 2004 at 4:50 PM (PDT)

5

I ordered one of these last week for a friend (who doesn't know it but is getting an iPod for her birthday). It's no great shakes. The belt clip feels like it could snap with any hard knock, and it hugely comes into contact with the back of the iPod, which worries me. Plus, as you can tell in these photos, the purple Vamp doesn't at all look like the purple on their website.
I'm pretty non-pleased, but it's a serviceable case--will do. But nothing to get excited over.

Posted by Prudence in Somerville, MA on April 22, 2004 at 6:38 PM (PDT)

6

It sure looks better on their site.

Posted by Ivan on April 23, 2004 at 12:17 AM (PDT)

7

Slightly merry after an evening at the rubadub... I took the plunge and ordered one of these - The Purple Vamp as seen in the above pictures - I had been dazzled by it when previously I`d checked out the iskin website, Its colour and glow in the dark looks just blew my socks off... that was of course until it arrived... as prudence mentioned the colour was not what was advertised and its glow in the dark properites were in my opinion laughable or for those technically minded - complete pants. I was guttedl.


It now sits in a draw far away from my ipod as I nurse my very burnt fingers...

Posted by Azzagiu on April 23, 2004 at 10:49 AM (PDT)

8

I got all the glow colors and I am very happy with them. Too bad you guys did not like yours, if you hate that much then send it to me because the more skins you got the better. Yippy!!!!!!!!

Posted by JROC on April 23, 2004 at 11:12 AM (PDT)

9

As they mentioned, it doesn't have control protection. Is this an important issue? What other (nice) cases offer this? Thanks.

Posted by whozyodaddy on April 23, 2004 at 7:36 PM (PDT)

10

I love my eVo. I got the graphite one--the others seemed too "look at me!" Which is why a lot of people buy iPods, but not me.

I'm not one to go around sporting my rubber-coated fashion accessory (an oxy-#####, if you ask me) on m belt, so the belt clip isn't a concern of mine. Although the eXo2's (available from iSkin.com) belt clip attachment does work with the eVo (if you really have that much a metal fetish).

The main siren that drew me into buying this case was its support for the iTrip. I hated having to peel off the top of my eXo2 to put on the iTrip--the buttons become difficult to use with an overly stretched top.

I would give this case a 4.5/5. I don't *need* button or scroll covers (I'm not a horribly rough iPodder), but they would be nice. But at the same time, I'm leery with trying any case with button covers, having had awful problems with ####'s first case with button covers, with which the buttons didn't work at all. And then there was the next generation of those which had thinner silicon on them--the silicon covering the buttons was raised slightly over the buttons, so pressing one was comparable to pushing down on bubble wrap. I know, nice analogy, huh?

Posted by dethbrakr in Tacoma, WA on April 24, 2004 at 10:02 AM (PDT)

11

any chance for the next case reveiw we could get a picture of an ipod in the case standing next to an ipod without a case? ...(to compare how much fatter it looks etc.) also...anyone know how much this case would protect against a drop?

Posted by lime in Bonny Scotland! on April 24, 2004 at 11:11 AM (PDT)

12

I bought an iskin exo2 in graphite... it looked better on the site, I will sell it and get one of these...

Posted by Robert Keys on April 24, 2004 at 11:54 PM (PDT)

13

Is iskin.com.cn iskin.com in Asia? I am teaching in DongGuan maybe I could buy direct.

Posted by american in Asia on April 25, 2004 at 1:46 AM (PDT)

14

I've got the old one of these. It's pretty cool but if you have hairy pets you might wanna consider getting a non silicone case as it picks up hair like selotape. Sand is also a problem, just got back from the beach an if you get any sand in your pocket then it tends to stick and then scratch the ipod inside. Does make you appreciate how cool a naked Pod looks though so I tend to use mine only when I venture outside. The screen protector is great and its stops the small scratches that everyone hates.

Posted by Jon Hopkins on April 25, 2004 at 4:34 AM (PDT)

15

iSkin rocks! I have an Arctic one, and there is nothing wrong with it. I have BARELY noticed the lint problem and its in my pockets a lot, now it doesn't have any lint on it, I think its just new silicone that does it. I'd like to see some pictures of all the glow colors, in day and night.

Posted by pilgrim on April 25, 2004 at 7:37 AM (PDT)

16

does the case interfere with the docking station?

Posted by ohmagolly on April 25, 2004 at 2:24 PM (PDT)

17

Yes, although I have seen some threads on the forum where people have modified the top part of the dock, allowing the iPod to fit in with the iSkin on.

Posted by pilgrim in Indiana on April 25, 2004 at 3:42 PM (PDT)

18

hey pilgrim, by any chance can you maybe send me the link to the website where they modded the stand PLEASE...oh ya the EVO ROCKS!! so perfect

Posted by SupraFan on April 25, 2004 at 5:13 PM (PDT)

19

It was an old thread on the forums on this site, I don't know where it is right now, couldn't get the right terms to search for it. You can also just pop up the top cover on your dock. Search the forums.

Posted by pilgrim in Indiana on April 25, 2004 at 6:31 PM (PDT)

20

I have used an eVo Ghost for about 2 weeks now and I've been very happy with it. The one poblem that I had I never see mentioned. The depth of the belt clip. The new plastic clip's max depth is 1/2 inch less than the older metal one. I wear a very thick 1&3/4 inch Duty belt most of the time and the new clip is unusable with this large a belt. I've made the older metal clip work with this new case but you need to cut a hole for the center clip retention pin that the plastic backing plate lacks.

Posted by WTF Over on April 25, 2004 at 8:32 PM (PDT)

Page 1 of 5 pages  1 2 3 >  Last »

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.