iSkin eVo | iLounge

Reviews

41

i got a Ebony (jet black) one the other day, which looks alright and (so far) has protected well. I'm a bit iffy on some things tho...

It collects dust and hair like MAD

It makes you have to 'poke' your fingers into the button holes, whereas before you could just tap them.

It kinda makes my once beautiful iPod look like an old style Gameboy. Not good.

Overall it's a pretty good case though. Lime

Posted by Lime on May 22, 2004 at 7:17 AM (PDT)

42

All of your comments have been really helpful, in my decision for purchasing the evo. Sounds like the belt clip bites! I use the iTrip on a daily basis and need a skin w/ a belt clip (weekend yard work). Can anyone recommend another product?

Posted by Hugh on May 22, 2004 at 5:12 PM (PDT)

43

First time visitor here. The reviews have been so helpful!! It still p*sses me off that you have to plunk down so much money for a device, and Apple had the short-sightedness to spare us of the worries of getting scratches and such. You'd think so of the other manufacterers would capitalize on this fact. Anyway, felt good to vent. Sounds like the ISkin for the most part, is the way to go.

Posted by Mike on May 27, 2004 at 5:04 PM (PDT)

44

ok so i just got my EVO...and lets just say that im a little disappointed...why? because of the color!! i got the glo int he dark Wasabi...and i was sooo excited...then then it came out to be...lime...ew...haha...

the only thing...um...i used to have an action jacket and although it was BULKY, it felt like it would protect it...but this thing feels thin...i may not know much, but im just wondering if i could put it in my bookbag and not worry about it...

Posted by ohmagolly on May 31, 2004 at 6:10 PM (PDT)

45

I just got the evo carbon. does anyone know if it looks the same color as it does on the site? i really hope so.

Posted by jimmy jammer on June 3, 2004 at 1:25 PM (PDT)

46

i've had an evo (in ghost) for about...2 months and its alright, definetly better than the incase sleeve that i got when i bought my ipod, which scratched up my screen...my only big problem is that that the corners of the screen cover are progressivly breaking off. i think the way it elevates the screen from the surface of the ipod makes the corners a weak point so now the screen slides aroudn like crazy...still it protects my ipod well enough (although at this point the screen has become kind of a lost cause) yeah..just something to keep in mind

Posted by scratchpod on June 3, 2004 at 4:05 PM (PDT)

47

Just got an EVO, and must say that overall, I'm pleased with the construction. The clip is the only questionable issue; whether or not it will break apart, time will tell.

One important thing I did was apply some self-stick felt to the back of the plastic disk that anchors the clip to keep from scratching the ipod. Good thing I did, because it sometimes slightly shuffles around.

Overall, a pretty decent product.

P.S. Jimmy, I ordered it in carbon; it looks great.

Posted by Jose on June 4, 2004 at 9:51 AM (PDT)

48

I just picked up a 15GB iPod and evo in sonic blue. I have some extended business travel coming up and I was not going without a better music solution!

I agree that the clip looks suspect, but only time will tell. I have worn it on my belt and it was fine.

The color is really nice, no complaints here.

The biggest advantage of the evo is that it renders the iPod much less slippery - without the case, I was always scared that it would pop out of my hands like a wet ice cube and tumble to the floor. The stickiness of the silicone is a comforting touch.

Overall, the issues surrounding chrome damage strike me as a bit misdirected; why would Apple make this beautiful device so easy to scratch and drop? I want to use it for music, I don't want to get bent out of shape over every little cosmetic ding. The iPod is fundamentally too fragile in this area; too smooth, too shiny for a portable device.

I think that is where the iPod Mini is a better design. Unfortunately, getting one takes some doing, and thus I have a 15GB for $50 more. C'est la vie.

Posted by Brad on June 4, 2004 at 2:22 PM (PDT)

49

I was wandering which skin to get the speck ipod skin or a iskin evo. What are the pros and cons of each and which one can take more drop shock?

Posted by Michael on June 4, 2004 at 3:36 PM (PDT)

50

Well, the evo would probably take less drop shock than the speck's harder case. On the whole, I picked the evo, because of its fog-free plastic screen protector and its ability to work with such devices as the iTrip. It doesn't comfortably work with the dock, however, so I modded it with a pocket knife to match the design of the exoflp. (I don't recommend the exoflp, BTW-- the covered buttons don't work well.) Hence, the evo is (by a little) the best solution available, IMHO.

Posted by Chris on June 10, 2004 at 4:09 PM (PDT)

51

The only thing I can say is that this product sucks. The belt clip broke, literally the first time i used it. Forty bucks for this crap? RIP OFF! Go elsewhere.

Posted by Rob on June 12, 2004 at 12:48 PM (PDT)

52

I'm a brand-new ipod user. I purchased the iSkin EVO earlier this week and received it within a couple of days. I think this is a great product. Sleek, soft and great colors. Very friendly service too. I browsed the ####.biz website as well to look at some other skins, but the navigation of that site is horrible. Iskin is the way to go.

Posted by arjanwrites.com on June 17, 2004 at 5:24 AM (PDT)

53

Can I use this skin with the BTI external battery?

Posted by Earl on June 18, 2004 at 4:58 AM (PDT)

54

Any opinions on the colors wasabli and sonic?

Posted by Cameron on June 18, 2004 at 3:32 PM (PDT)

55

I just got mine in Vamp yesterday. Nice color and fits my 40GB iPod well. Just a little bummed it didn't come with the clear zipper case everyone's been talking about.

Posted by jvickers01 on June 24, 2004 at 4:00 PM (PDT)

56

Well, the belt clip test results are in - and not good. I used the iSkin for about 3 weeks and used the belt clip frequently for casual (non-athletic) use. All seemed well until I was in Switzerland last week and bumped the belt-mounted iPod gently with my arm and found it falling to the sidewalk.

The belt clip had snapped in two, leaving one piece still attached to my pants. Fortunately, the silicone proved adequate to it's task and my 15GB iPod seems unphased by the mishap.

iSkin has offered to replace the clip, but I cannot in good conscience ever use that feature again. Too bad.

Next case????

Posted by BradPDX in Portland, OR USA on July 6, 2004 at 8:43 AM (PDT)

57

I just bought a ebony evo. I couldnt decide between that and lava but when you actually picture yourself with a glow-in-the- dark ipod, it would be the same as attaching a neon sign to it that says "STEAL ME"

after reading some of the reviews I am wondering if it is possible to attach the exo2's belt clip to the evo. i mean, if you can do the opposite, why not?

I am not an experienced ipod caser but has anyone returned their evo becuase they hate it THAT much?

Posted by Greg on July 7, 2004 at 7:15 AM (PDT)

58

I do not like them they attract dust and dirt and it is hard to clean the dirt off.

Posted by RS on July 10, 2004 at 7:33 AM (PDT)

59

I've had my iskin evo for a week and have been happy with it with 2 exceptions. 1- the thing's a dust magnet and 2- the belt clip snapped. Initially I thought the belt clip was tres dorky but now I miss it. I'm going to email them and ask them to replace that part.

I don't find that the cover adds much bulk to the ipod. it's just a little fatter.

Posted by Danielle on July 15, 2004 at 5:59 PM (PDT)

60

I otherwise liked this case, until it actully used it. The only problem with this case is how it eliminates one of the main reasons why people buy ipods. Their slender and thin design, as soon as you slide this case on, it turns your ipod into a fat piece of plastic.

Posted by M Bargo in Chicago, IL on July 18, 2004 at 6:34 AM (PDT)

Page 3 of 5 pages  <  1 2 3 4 5 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.