iSkin eVo3 for iPod 5G (with video) | iLounge

Reviews

41

I just recieved the case and it looks great and fuctions fine for me, BUT, i ordered fit B (for a 60gb) and recieved the same clear color i wanted and it said on the box fit A (for the 30gb) and my receit says its for the 60gb, i was wondering if anyone else had this problem or is the little round sticker wrong?, my ipod is in the mail so i cant test it

Posted by socalsurf069 on December 23, 2005 at 7:19 PM (PDT)

42

Hey jMuss,
I had the same problem as you. They sent me one black evo3 skin when I ordered a nano duo and a blue evo3. It doesn't make sense... So I called the company number, and told them the situation. They said that they would ship the right order to me in time for christmas. I checked the order status page about in hour later and it said "Ready to ship". The next day, it said "Out of Stock"! Thanks a lot iskin!!

Posted by the_lumin8or on December 23, 2005 at 10:02 PM (PDT)

43

Hello all:

Just wanted to add my 2 cents. I recieved my evo3 yesterday afternoon after much anticipation. To echo "Too Many iPods" feeling, mine too had to grow on me overnight. I ordered an artic white to go over my black 5G. I was using an incase neoprene cover temporarily which was annoying to saythe least as it covered 20% of the screen. The visibility in the evo3 seems great. The fit is snug and solid. Looks like it will offer excellent protection. I have the same basic grips as others: the hold switch is now useless (I don't use it anyway) and the belt clips is WAY cheesey. Other than that and the relatively high price, I think its a cool looking and sound protector for the coveted 5G.

Posted by G5jive on December 24, 2005 at 9:09 AM (PDT)

44

^^^hey, i was also thinking of ordering a artic white for my Black iPod, but i thought it would look sorta weird. do you mind taking some pics for me and sending it to my E-Mail?

.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

i REALLY appreciate it if you could!

Posted by Ketsuo on December 24, 2005 at 11:25 AM (PDT)

45

How can you rate this rubber "case" an A- when you rate the only case on here that actually does what it's supposed to do - protect the iPod - a B+? AND that case is $15 cheaper

Posted by MattPaintballer on December 24, 2005 at 6:58 PM (PDT)

46

I want one really bad. iSkin is based in Toronto, Ontario, and I live here too. I asked them if I could pick it up and they said no. So I'm waiting till I can get one.

Posted by Noah Gomberg on December 24, 2005 at 9:37 PM (PDT)

47

***from a store that is. haha...

Posted by Noah Gomberg on December 24, 2005 at 9:37 PM (PDT)

48

well, here is a followup. I ordered mine on the 8th, and paid the $7 and change to ship in 3-6 days. I had to call the corporate number on the 22nd. They told me that it would ship overnight that night and that I would have it on friday the 23rd. Friday came and went, I called again and the next guy told me that they didn't have a tracking number for me. So today, nearly 20 days later I have yet to get the Iskin i ordered for a christmas present. Maybe it can be a newyears present at this point. I suggest that ANYONE THAT WANTS TO MAKE SURE THEY GET ACTUALLY GET AN I SKIN TRY TO BUY IT FROM A LOCAL RETAILER. I have found that as far as customer service goes it pretty much a free-for-all and they just make stuff up to get you off the phone. I'm very frustrated and will hopefully never have to order another one.. since i have heard they are really good cases. Hopefully when all is said and done i will actually have the right order!! Stay tuned.

Posted by petey361 on December 25, 2005 at 9:22 PM (PDT)

49

Am I the only person who wishes iSkin made a Duo version for the 5g? I'd be all up on that.

Posted by thekeyofsee on December 25, 2005 at 9:24 PM (PDT)

50

I absolutely love my new 5G iSkin. I ordered the clear model in mid-December...when all the fun started. First, my status on the iSkin website said processing for about two weeks. When it finally shipped via UPS, it said it would arrive on the 21st. It never came and the next day UPS said it was left behind a shipping center. What a...well, you know. So it came the 22nd and was easy to slap on my iPod. I wish iSkin would really work on their customer service though, many calls to Canada and daily website checks. I guess it is all good now and I am very happy. I would suggest this to anyone who treasures their iPod(s) as much as I do!

Posted by marvalbert on December 26, 2005 at 12:02 AM (PDT)

51

I was wondering how thick the 5G becomes when wearing this skin? Thanks

Posted by DylanL on December 26, 2005 at 2:31 AM (PDT)

52

I finally got my evo3 and the wait was worth it! I believe that this product should have gotten an A instead of the A-... This skin looks soooo good in person than looking at it through pictures. You can still use the hold button unlike what others have said. Everything on the ipod is protected and the screen is so clear also. A PERFECT case!

Posted by GeoDesic in CA, USA on December 26, 2005 at 3:03 AM (PDT)

53

Is the white version of this case actually white, or is it clear? Basically if I have a black iPod, will it be completely white or will the black show through? Also, how much thicker and bulkier does this case make the ipod?

Posted by Duto8672 on December 26, 2005 at 3:13 PM (PDT)

54

Duto,

It is clear and you will be able to see the black through it.

grin

Posted by marvalbert on December 27, 2005 at 12:43 AM (PDT)

55

Dylan,

The skin, although very durable, is extremely thin. You can hardly notice it and it does not increase the size of the iPod by more than a few millimeters.

Posted by marvalbert on December 27, 2005 at 12:45 AM (PDT)

56

Thank you marvalbert for your reply.

I have another quick question for anyone that has one of these cases. Is it possible to somehow modify the belt clip to be an armband? Like breaking off the clip peice and somehow wedging an armband in there.

Posted by DylanL on December 27, 2005 at 2:08 AM (PDT)

57

I have a question for anybody who can answer it.
I am really fed up with the customer service of iSkin, is there a number I could call, and if so what is it?
Thanks

Posted by PulcherPuella on December 27, 2005 at 8:33 AM (PDT)

58

"To use in Appleā€™s Universal dock, simply fold back the flap to expose the dock connector."

Not true. I now have this contraption for my 5G 60GB iPod and it DOES NOT work with the Universal Dock. Folding back the flap does exactly what I though it would: make the iPod unstable atop the dock...eventually falling over and losing the connection. It might work if the flap is cut off, but there is still an issue with the dock connector not fully supporting the encased iPod, so it still may fall over.

How hard would it have been to actually try docking it before spitting out what iSkin told you iLounge? You obviously didn't, since it was obvious to me it wouldn't work before I even seated the iPod.

Now I have a case that I'll probably never use. This isn't a review, it's a press release.

Posted by Gordy. in Atlanta, GA on December 27, 2005 at 11:15 AM (PDT)

59

Im about ready to order my evo3- for the most part the reviews sound good -but I am debating over what color to get. I am worried that the color cases will not look good on a black ipod. Is there anyone who has bought a green or blue (for example b/c i am leaning towards those) case and put it on a black ipod? if so, does it still look good?

Posted by Nenya on December 27, 2005 at 6:13 PM (PDT)

60

To add to that- are the ipods in the pictures on this page black?

Posted by Nenya on December 27, 2005 at 8:21 PM (PDT)

Page 3 of 11 pages  <  1 2 3 4 5 >  Last »

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.