iSkin eXo2 Case | iLounge

Reviews

1

Looks good. Anyone know where I can get it from in the UK?

Posted by Max Tipper on December 15, 2003 at 5:44 AM (PDT)

2

Try here:
http://www.everythingipod.co.uk/

Posted by azdude_15gb on December 15, 2003 at 5:48 AM (PDT)

3

whats the point of the anti static -when all the buttons and wheel is exposed?

Posted by gabe on December 15, 2003 at 9:54 AM (PDT)

4

i heard that the hard cover of the exo 2 can scratch the screen easily is that true?

Posted by v4 on December 15, 2003 at 10:22 AM (PDT)

5

i the hold button access really that good? i have a broken hold switch that requires me to use force when switching it off.

See this thread for more ifo about the hold button:

http://www.ipodlounge.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=18296

Posted by iPodMaster on December 15, 2003 at 11:26 AM (PDT)

6

Master, why not return your iPod to the Apple store, all iPods have a year long warranty, and if you noticed the defect from day one, why not get it replaced for free?

Posted by rsacer on December 15, 2003 at 12:28 PM (PDT)

7

Gabe--

The supposed antistatic coating is supposed to keep dirt and lint from sticking to the outside of the iSkin itself.

v4--

The screen protector does not touch the screen, but rather rests on the 4 points in the corners outside the screen. I've not experienced any scratches as a result of these 4 nubs.

Master--

I agree. Defective iPods should be returned/serviced. Even if it is 'working' now, you know that if it requires abnormal force, it's bound to break completely some day.

That being said, I'll answer you directly: Yes. The hold switch access is 100% easy to use... I never had any problems getting to it, and I never had to dig into any silicone with my nail as I did on the eXo 1.

Posted by azdude_15gb on December 15, 2003 at 2:23 PM (PDT)

8

Thanks for your review. I'm looking for a case that will allow me to use my iTrip without having to take the case off. All cases I've seen so far have some type of material on the top that prevents the iTrip from seating adequately, even if the remote does fit.

Any ideas?

Posted by gillespieonline on December 15, 2003 at 3:05 PM (PDT)

9

Sure--

Here are just a few:

Vaja iVod 3G
http://www.ipodlounge.com/reviews_more.php?id=1045_0_6_0_M

Speck Flipstand 3G (Flip open the top)
http://www.ipodlounge.com/reviews_more.php?id=2150_0_6_0_M

Terforma iSleeve (Designed for iTrip)
http://terforma.com/fullsite.html

DLO Jam Jacket
http://makeashorterlink.com/?V2B6161D6

Posted by Jerrod H. in TX on December 15, 2003 at 3:28 PM (PDT)

10

i'm very happy with my iskin exo2 mostly because of the fit and functionality. i also have the dlo jam jacket, but i was disappointed in the way it fit. it kept slipping out for some reason. but the jam jacket is one of the few cases that fits into the belkin tunedock. the iskin doesn't. anyone have any ideas for mounting the iskin without using an adjustable cell-phone car stand?

Posted by pinoiboirich in NJ on December 15, 2003 at 9:38 PM (PDT)

11

A friend of my got his exo2 a few days ago. It broke the first day. He's sending it back to get this money. The stupid clip is just flimsy. It's too bad. I was going to get one, but now ... no way. This is one product that looks way better on its web site than it actually is in person.

Posted by grubesteak on December 16, 2003 at 6:01 AM (PDT)

12

Yeah they are aware of some of the clips having problems and will replace any ones that have broken. Your friend should contact them. I did and my name has been added to their list for a replacement. My friend also has one and his is sturdy.

Posted by ipodmaxx on December 16, 2003 at 9:24 AM (PDT)

13

Well, the clip indeed does not keep one's iPod from hurtling from one's bag while running for the bus. However, the iSkin does keep one's iPod from becoming one's $400 paperweight.

Posted by Mindaika on December 16, 2003 at 10:39 AM (PDT)

14

Thanks for the review, now how about one for the other eXo2 from the other ####:

http://www.####.biz/

As #### himself posted here a while back, the companies split a few months ago and now they have divergent eXo2 designs. I'm particularly interested in the eXo2 design at the site above, b/c it covers even the wheel and buttons in silicon iskin, yet claims not to impede their functionality any. However, I'd like to see a third party review before I buy one, just to make sure that claim is true, and also b/c ####.biz is very sparing on other new features and improvements to their design (for example, do they have a dock port cover too?)

Thanks!

Posted by Byron on December 16, 2003 at 3:04 PM (PDT)

15

I was about to find/look for ####'s #### EXO 2, page and post this so he'll hopefully respond, but I figured i'll leave my review in both places. I just got the #### EXO2 with scroll wheel and button protection. This thing fits great, my little iPod has never worn a nicer outfit. The scroll wheel responds great to being covered up, but the buttons... well thats a different story. I have to push them really hard and hit them in the right spot for any responce at all, very annoying. I'm thinking of getting an iSkin exo2, but I cring at the fact that the exposed areas will get scratched. Since the wheel does work great, im thinking of sanding down the back of the button rubber, and with it being thinner, it should do the trick, I hope. It kind of sucks that I think I'm the first guy to review this case on iPod lounge, but my iPod needed a case so here we are. I wonder if #### is going to fix this issue, and if he is, can I trade mine in?

Posted by Sam Tramontana on December 16, 2003 at 4:09 PM (PDT)

16

Byron--

Indeed. The only improvement that the #### #### eXo 2 offers over the original iSkin eXO (and the iSkin eXo^2, for that matter) is the covered wheel & buttons. If this is more important to you (as it is to some) than iSkin's stronger belt clip, better screen protector, and dock cover, then consider the #### eXo.

There are large numbers of #### #### eXo 2 user reviews in the iPodlounge Cases forum... Check them out.

In a poll there, approximately 45% of respondents indicated that the covered buttons do NOT work properly.

Sam--

#### is very cooperative with requests for returns/refunds... contact him by eMail at .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

Posted by Jerrod H. in TX on December 16, 2003 at 4:37 PM (PDT)

17

so wait.. one quick question... and it'll determine whether i get the exo2... you can't use an iTrip while you've got the exo2 skin case on?

Posted by eric on December 17, 2003 at 4:41 AM (PDT)

18

That's correct.

Posted by azdude_15gb on December 17, 2003 at 8:15 AM (PDT)

19

bah... i use my itrip 90% of the time i use my ipod.... and so far, the graphite exo2 is the only good looking ipod cover i've seen.

i read on a page somehwere about people cutting out slits in their exo2 iskins. does anyone have links that document/mention this, or similar solutions?

Posted by eric on December 17, 2003 at 9:00 AM (PDT)

20

Great product especially in sonic blue. For iTrip and the Microphone attachment what I did was to cut about 1cm above the screen a horizontal line the full width of the case and then a cut towards the back at each end to get a 'flap' effect. I hasten to add, I did the cutting without the iPod inserted in the case!! Best to put some strong cardboard inside the case when doing the cutting to ensure the shape is not dostorted and thus the cut doesn't do any peculiar detours. It is terrible to have to cut the skin to do this, but the next model of iSkin needs to include such a flap as we are getting more an more accessories that need access to that top slot.

Adrian

Posted by Adrian on December 17, 2003 at 6:58 PM (PDT)

Page 1 of 6 pages  1 2 3 >  Last »

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.