iSkin eXo2 Case | iLounge

Reviews

41

does anyone know where i can get such skins in switzerland?

Posted by larson on December 29, 2003 at 1:46 AM (PDT)

42

So, if i buy a #### Exo2 or an Exo2 from iSkin, neither will work for the iTrip?

Posted by Erik Arveson on December 29, 2003 at 3:15 PM (PDT)

43

Ok, just got my arctic eXo2. I bought it because this review seems to give it about a 7 out of 10 and everything else seems to roll around a 5.

Here are my thoughts:

1) it is a little pricey for a piece of silicone, metal clip, and a gay plastic bag, that and the shipping from iskin is expensive!

2) it does seem to collect little folacles of dirt here and there.

3)the iskin logo is annoying.

4) like everyone says, I'd have to do a chop job to get it to work with my iTrip, but since I live in Los Angeles, my iTrip is kind of a joke. Thank god I have a tape player and a cd 2 tape converter.

5) As the review mentions, the clip is slidy, but if you want to clip to the inside of a pocket or something, it's cool. You can also just do without it and pocket the thing.

5) THE GOOD NOTES: unlike some other people here, I think this is probably the sleekest least annoying case out there that protects the most. Brilliant me dropped my iPod the second day after christmas and already slightly scratched it, so I was like... I NEED A COVER. I find this one preserves the original look fairly closely, while providing a lot of protection. Even with the clip, I can still fit the thing in my pocket, every button is easy to get to, even the lock is easy, since it's stretchy silicone. I also like the flap that covers the firewire in, while annoying to handle at first, it's going to add a lot of dust protection. I'm the kinda guy that already lost the two little plastic plugs that came with my pod.

I'm of the school that believes clipping the thing to my fanny pack is just asking to be bashed by a rock, but I like clipping it to the inside of my pocket, for a little more security.

All in all, I'd say, while not perfect, this is the best thing going.

Now: I'm going back to grad school in jan, can anyone suggest a cool backpack worthy enough to carry my iPod? smile

z00

Posted by z00story in Los Angeles on December 31, 2003 at 1:34 PM (PDT)

44

Erik,

If you are not into fanny packs, (hehe) I seriously recommend Oakley bags for protection and style. They are a bit pricey, but if you look hard enough and do your research, you can get them at a good price. Personally, I have the Oakley Sandbag which is like a sling bag. I ship my Sony Clie and all its accessories as well as an emergency phone charger, an umbrella and sometimes pack my lunch with the little devil! The bag itself is not big by any means, but it rocks in my opinion. So good luck!

Back to the #### Exo2 skin, i was inches away in buying the bugger, but because of 1. the wet screen look 2. difficulty in getting to the hold button with the skin on, not to mention what if I "DON'T" want a clip? So I think I will go with your mini review and opt for a Iskin Exo2.

Thanks for the info!

Posted by Jim on January 1, 2004 at 6:32 PM (PDT)

45

OOPS! the comment was meant for z00story! hehe

Posted by Jim on January 1, 2004 at 6:33 PM (PDT)

46

Anyone know an Australian retailer?

Posted by Nuke666 on January 2, 2004 at 2:24 AM (PDT)

47

My problem with "rubbery" cases like this is that I have nticed over time dirt and dust get trapped inside the case and scratch the iPod. Why not look at the new Contour Case or the Speck case? I appreciate your input.

Posted by mcquillian on January 4, 2004 at 3:14 PM (PDT)

48

Nuke666
I just ordered an iSkin Exo2 from Try and Byte here in Australia at [url=http://www.tryandbyte.com.au]http://www.tryandbyte.com.au[/url]

Not cheap at $54 plus shipping, but it looks like the best I've seen from reading through TONS of review!
Rob

Posted by glowinthedark in Melbourne, Australia on January 4, 2004 at 8:23 PM (PDT)

49

I recently bought an exo2 iSkin asphalt. I was pretty excited about getting it and very pleased for the first week or so. Ater that I noticed the small "included" screen protector was scratching up the iPod face. I was also very disappointed when I bought my iTrip since I couldn't leave it attached without removing the iSkin. I constatntly had to peel back the top and remove the plastic screen protector to attach it, scratching the face even further. After several irritating weeks of this, I decided to just chop off the top to attach the iTrip permanently. ever encountered, it stays attached to nothing. Unfortunatly this renders the iSkin worthless and defaced.

I also noticed the large amounts of hair, dirt and grit getting stuck to the rubbery plastic, a little tough to clean without removing the iPod again and again. Needless to say the iSkin is a poorly designed case for the iPod. Don't even get me started on the clip, that has to be the cheapest, saddest excuse for a belt clip I have ever seen staying attached to nothing. What a waste of money.

If anyone out there is looking for a used iSkin (asphalt) I'm willing to sell, cheap. I have decided on a custom vaja case in replacement of the iSkin. I prefer the open top, custom colors and non-scratching face protector.

Posted by carminethebowler on January 6, 2004 at 6:35 PM (PDT)

50

I have had my iskin exo2 artic for about three weeks now. I love the product for several reasons. One, I feel that the ipod is very secure inside of the casing. Before getting this, I was overly careful with the ipod, and now i fell comfortable placing it down almost anywhere. Two, the cover for the screen is very good in my opinion. The one that I received originally had an air bubble in it, and I emailed iskin and they immediately sent me a new one which is perfectly fine. Three, the cover for the docking port is an outstanding feature. Once again, this makes me feel secure about the safety of the ipod. Four, I like how when I remove the skin, the ipod is perfectly clean and scratch-free.

There are some things that buyers should be aware of. One, because the iskin does such a good job of keeping dirt and lint OFF the ipod, the iskin off picks up a lot of small hairs and stuff (as in little pieces of wool from the inside pocket of a jacket). They come off easily, but especially when you have the clear case, this can be a little annoying. But I think this is counter-acted by the fact that the iskin keeps the dirt and stuff off the ipod. Two, the belt clip could be better. However, once again, this doesn't really matter to me because I don't think I would use the belt clip even if it was great. When I am at the gym, I keep the ipod in my shorts pocket. The material of the iskin is pretty sticky, and I think it is safer in there and won't fall out. Three, the iskin does make the ipod bigger, but not enough to matter to me.

All in all, I have recommended the iskin to four other people, all of whom like the product they received. I think that the web site accurately shows the iskin's features, all of which I like. The JamJacket and other skin-like cases I looked at don't compare to the iskin. On that note, I like that I can actually touch the buttons on the ipod.

FINALLY, if you are really concerned about the ipod, you can buy another case for it to use when travelling or whatever. I bought the Case Logic mp3 MPC-3 (i think that is what it is called). It is about $10 and available on both the Case Logic site and outpost.com (where I got it). Enjoy the ipod...

Posted by Peter on January 7, 2004 at 9:02 AM (PDT)

51

Iskin eXo2: Exellent

#### eXo @ : Horrible

The Only Problem with my Iskin Is trying to get my iTrip to fit. Besides that Perfect.

#### nothing good about that

Posted by Sean Tavares on January 7, 2004 at 3:08 PM (PDT)

52

One question, can you use the "wired remote" when you have the iskin exo2 on your ipod without needing any modifications?

Posted by Bill Hicks on January 7, 2004 at 11:46 PM (PDT)

53

I just bought an iskin exo2 after much research and reading here. It's really nice, cool looking, and seems to protect the ipod from scratches or if I dropped it. The bad thing is how dirty it gets from the coating? I owned it for ten seconds and dust just sticks to it. I can't imagine what it looks like after I put it in my pocket. I got the ebony one, so maybe the other colors with hide the lint and dust better. Other than the dirt and dust, it's great looking and feels good!!!

Posted by EEEE on January 8, 2004 at 10:13 AM (PDT)

54

The iSkin eXo2 I ordered last wednesday came today. Overnight service for $9 is a steal, especially when it's coming from Canada.

Anyway, I am extremely impressed. The 'Carbon' (grey) colored version looks great on my iPod, adds negligible bulk, and fits snugly. There is no shifting around, and because the iPod is inserted through the screen opening by stretching the silicone, there is no chance of it coming out.

Although I don't plan to use the clip, it appears very well made and an excellent design. The screen protector is great as well - it fits well, doesn't cause any 'adhesion marks', and provides and excellent amount of protection.

This is absolutely the best 'non-bulky' case of the three that I've tested, and the one that will put put into use permanetly.

Posted by Scott on January 9, 2004 at 11:28 AM (PDT)

55

can this cover be bought in melbourne, australia? ipod rocks

Posted by Smithy on January 11, 2004 at 1:03 AM (PDT)

56

I agree with Peter!

Great Review!

p.s. I have iskin Exo2 in blue

Posted by ssmith2k3 on January 11, 2004 at 10:52 AM (PDT)

57

is there any anti-static non greasy treatment for this skin?

If I leave it in my pocket it gets a little dusty and requires a quick brush off. it's no big deal, but it would be nice not to have that problem.

Posted by ssmith2k3 on January 11, 2004 at 10:57 AM (PDT)

58

Hello

Can Anyone tell me if the battery attatchment pack on offer from Belkin can fit the ipod over the new case?

Any help much appreciated

Ta

Posted by joe on January 11, 2004 at 11:11 AM (PDT)

59

the clip is absolutely horrendous. if it weren't for the clip i'd say it would be close to perfect but the clip is a joke. all other clips have a hinge that allows you to press the top and make the clip open wider for easy placement or removal. not so with this clip. it's a pain in the ### to get on or off. and why the hell is the handstrap designed to connect to the bottom of the clip??? try hanging the iPod using the handstrap and it hangs upside-down!. does anyone think before designing any more?

2 other issues. as others have stated this thing attracts dirt like a vaccuum. last but not least it's a pain in the ### to access the hold button on top of the iPod. one needs to grow long nails on their pinky finger or carry around a paper clip.

Posted by tu11ym0n on January 11, 2004 at 7:55 PM (PDT)

60

I recently got the clear iSkin Exo2, an personally, I love it...after dropping my iPod twice, one time scratching the screen and scuffing the corners, I decided that it was time for a better case than the cheap black one that came with my 20gb 3g...I knew i wanted a slim case that allowed for easy acsses to the butttons, and of course a screen protector...so after much reserch i opted for the iSkin Exo2...and i'm very pleased...only 1 complaint...yes, just as stated in the article, the belt clip doesnt keep it from falling off...but with a pair of pliers that can be easily fixed...

Posted by SiRius on January 12, 2004 at 9:30 AM (PDT)

Page 3 of 6 pages  <  1 2 3 4 5 >  Last »

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.