iSkin eXo2 Case | iLounge

Reviews

61

Got my Arctic eXo2 today. But there was some yellow discoloration at the bottom near the scroll wheel, and extending slightly down to the dock opening. I picked this color so that the iPod's whiteness can show through, but this ruins it for me. I emailed them to ask for a free replacement. We'll see if they reply. :-(

I really wish it could still fit in the dock without having to stretch the skin to pull it off and put it on. I might have to get the ShowCase instead if iSkin doesn't come through.

Posted by Juju on January 12, 2004 at 9:38 PM (PDT)

62

Smithy

I got a black exo2 (iskin version) from streetwise software in glenferie rd hawthorn (http://www.streetwise.net.au)


Joe

the battery pack dies not fit with the skin

Posted by timmy in Melbourne, Australia on January 14, 2004 at 9:07 PM (PDT)

63

Like some others here I just got an eXo2 recently. Took two months to get here... but I ordered through my school, so that always takes long.

Anyway, alot of people seem concern over the unprotected portion of the iPod when used in conjunction with the iSkin. The solution I use, though a bit ghetto, is to first wrap my iPod in shrink wrap (Saran-Wrap), the stuff that you wrap your unfinished food with. This acts as a first line of defence and protects both the buttons and screen area before inserting the iPod into the iSkin.

Which brings me to my second point. I hate using the clear screen protector cuz, mine at least, it a distorted pieces of plastic that removes much of the screen clarity.

The rest of the Package seem decent, but still can't figure out how the strap attaches to the clip. Is there a hole there that I can't see?

Posted by iskinny on January 16, 2004 at 3:03 PM (PDT)

64

Actually the second point was more a gripe than a point.

Oh yeah... I paid $29.00 Canadian. That price is about the cheapest I seen around.

Posted by iskinny on January 16, 2004 at 3:07 PM (PDT)

65

I just ordered my iskin thursday after reading these reviews. I paid for the overnight shipping, but it still hasn't gotten here yet. :(

Posted by ///Mdriver on January 17, 2004 at 4:35 PM (PDT)

66

Does anyone know if an iPod with an Exo fits in the Belkin TuneDok? If not... Does anyone know of an iPod cover that does fit in the TuneDok?

Posted by Craig on January 18, 2004 at 9:23 PM (PDT)

67

The skin looks great, I would love to replace my old case, especially with one that shows off the form and beauty of the iPod. My only hesitation is dropping it. I have dropped my iPod, 5 feet on cement and because of my larger, but padded case, no damaged occurred. Does anyone know how well the iskin holds up to drops?

Posted by Bill on January 19, 2004 at 8:34 PM (PDT)

68

I just recieved my iskin today, and its great. I recomend it, and it fits perfectly. Its everything they say and more!

Posted by ///MDriver on January 20, 2004 at 2:44 PM (PDT)

69

can the ipod with the exo2 fit into the dock or do you have to remove the exo2 everytime you want to plug it into the dock. no one seems to mention anything about docks. only the connector. thanks!

Posted by herman on January 21, 2004 at 2:13 AM (PDT)

70

I really like this case, but there is no way I will buy it because I cant use it with an itrip. That settles it for me.....

Posted by cdj on January 24, 2004 at 4:34 PM (PDT)

71

To z00story and everybody else, burton sells a backpack designed specifically for the ipod. it has a softtouch remote control built into the shoulder strap, a little pricy, but worth it for the true ipod lover.

Posted by stormer13 on January 25, 2004 at 5:14 PM (PDT)

72

yeah I'm looking for an open-topped, silicone jacket & the jamjacket is the only one I can find. but I object to paying 25 pounds for the thing which is USD19.99 over the internet. but the US distributer charged USD60 for delivery!

does anyone know what the RadTech (http://www.radtech.us) cover is like? I it's open topped and covers the buttons. I think it's made of some kind of fibre. It's also cheap to order.

note to uk readers: cases are so damn expensive, I reckon it could be cheaper to order from the US, especially with the exchange rate the way it is.- gives a wider coice too.
ta

Posted by daytripper on January 27, 2004 at 3:14 PM (PDT)

73

iskinny wrote:

*******
Which brings me to my second point. I hate using the clear screen protector cuz, mine at least, it a distorted pieces of plastic that removes much of the screen clarity.
*******

This is the first I've seen this mentioned. Has anyone else noticed this?

I already have some issues with seeing my iPod's screen when using it while driving. I think I may have to turn the backlighting on full-time while using it in the car (that doesn't shorten the life expectancy of the screen, does it?)

Posted by Dennis on January 29, 2004 at 4:03 PM (PDT)

74

I just got my sonic exo and put it on.
The skin is great in my opinion. The silicon material's thick and protects well. The buttons are all easily accessible even with my big fingers :0)
After looking at the belt clip for 10 seconds, I decided not to install it at all, I would be crazy to trust my brand new iPod on such a cheapo clip. I wasn't planning on using it anyways, but I woulda liked to be able to use the hand strap. The screen protector fits well into place and was easy to install. It has a few little specks in suspension inside the plastic wich only show when the backlight is turned on but I can live with that. I also must say I've had great service. I originally ordered the artic skin and changed my mind. I dropped a line on the site in the customer support section and asked to have it changed to sonic (blue) and they replied to me same day with an affirmative response. So overall I recommend this to iPod owners.

Posted by hyde on January 30, 2004 at 1:36 PM (PDT)

75

Pirchased a iskin exo2 based on your review -- as much as I dig the design and the fell of the case (if feels a lot less easier to drop with the non-skid rubber) the damn thing is a dust and cat hair magnet! It gets fuzzy just sitting on my desk -- like some kind of reverse ionizer! Did they say this was ANTI static?

I swear my ipod now reminds me of something I had as a kid called "Fuzzy Wuzzy." It was a bar of soap that, if wet and left on it's own, would grow soapy "fur" overnight. I purchased the EBONY iskin, but by each morning the dust accumulation makes it looks like the gray ASPHALT version.

Think if I leave it alone for a week it'll turn electric blue?

But seriously, anyone else have this problem -- or a solution?

Posted by Sami on January 31, 2004 at 4:00 PM (PDT)

76

is there good protection with this case. If I drop it, will it be more pretected then if I dropped it without the case?

Posted by dave on January 31, 2004 at 6:30 PM (PDT)

77

I heard someone talk about an eXo3 from ####, and checked their website. They're not taking orders yet, but it says the price is $9.50 (cheap!!). Does anyone know when it's coming out or what improvements it makes? I'm looking at the eXo3 and the iSkin eXo2, and both look good. Anyone have an opinion one way or the other?

Posted by Zach on February 1, 2004 at 12:54 PM (PDT)

78

The iSkin itself is a great case, hands down one of the best however I found that the screen protector, protected my screen however at the same time scratched the white surface of my iPod now I am puzzled about how to remove the scratches from the iPod itself! Can any-one help me?

Posted by Damien Govind on February 5, 2004 at 2:16 AM (PDT)

79

does this work with the 1st gen ipods??/

Posted by josh on February 6, 2004 at 10:16 PM (PDT)

80

I'm pretty sure that i'm getting an exo2, but i don't know what color to get!! Can anyone help me out? I also am playing with the idea of maybe getting a contour showcase, and i'm wondering if the ipod would fit in the showcase while wearing the skin...

Posted by Kes on February 8, 2004 at 4:35 PM (PDT)

Page 4 of 6 pages « First  <  2 3 4 5 6 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.