iSkin mini | iLounge

Reviews

1

Thanks for the iskin mini review! I've been waiting for it, even though people posted their own experiences on the forum, I wanted a review from the site. Since I already ordered an iskin, reading this makes me feel a lot more at ease about my purchase.

Posted by Angelus on May 6, 2004 at 7:23 AM (PDT)

2

How much "bulk" does it add to the mini?

Posted by Mish on May 6, 2004 at 3:21 PM (PDT)

3

Got mine and I think the thickness is just fine. I agree with this review pretty much. I have the Sonic so I can only speak for that color.

Posted by gest133 on May 6, 2004 at 6:19 PM (PDT)

4

"We note that the other shades arenít quite as vibrant, either. Consider yourself fairly warned."

The pink iSkin - Blush - is quite bright!

Posted by Aine on May 7, 2004 at 8:19 AM (PDT)

5

I have the artic mini Iskin. I love the case and have had many friend comment favorably on it. My only issue is with the belt clip. The studs that the removable click mount to cracked off after 4 days of use. Iskin is sending me out a new holder a no charge, so I suppose that even this really isnt a complaint.

Posted by mdobilas on May 7, 2004 at 4:47 PM (PDT)

6

I have the artic mini Iskin. I love the case and have had many friends comment favorably on it. My only issue is with the belt clip. The studs that the removable click mount to cracked off after 4 days of use. Iskin is sending me out a new holder a no charge, so I suppose that even this really isnt a complaint.

Posted by mdobilas on May 7, 2004 at 4:48 PM (PDT)

7

I am very happy with artic mini iSkin. My gold mini isn't quite as bright in the frosted skin, but it seems to be very well protected. And I am sure I am going to appreciate the no-slip texture on many occasions! Good review of a good product.

Posted by morrismh on May 15, 2004 at 3:48 PM (PDT)

8

The case fits the mini well but I'm not sure about the belt clip. It seems cheap and fragile. It doesn't feel as stable as the Apple mini belt clip. The mini seems to just flop about and twist on my belt. This may be because the point where the clip attaches to the rubber case has too much give. The iSkin eVo attachment is much larger and has hardly no give at all. It may be fine for casual use but I won't use it for jogging or working out.

Posted by othercat68 on May 18, 2004 at 9:08 AM (PDT)

9

I just ordered and received the Carbon (dark grey, almost black) iskin mini and I love it. It fits great and its very nice to look at. I have a silver mini and it looks fine with it on. They are right about it being a magnet for dust, but they ship it with one of those clear plastic puches with the zipper and it works to keep it clean when you're not using it.

And ipodlounge's biggest gripe is with the port flap at the bottom, but if you pull back the side the flap faces, its very easy to pull the flap back.

Posted by Chris Derry on May 19, 2004 at 11:40 AM (PDT)

10

pink iPod mini + blush iskin mini is very pretty. hate the belt clip though. love the screen protector. hate how it's always off center and i'm readjusting the case on the mini. all in all, i like it.

Posted by jenna on May 21, 2004 at 8:08 AM (PDT)

11

Same here I love the case but hate the belt clip. I will buy ####'s new twist clip as soon as I see a review of it. It looks like a good solution for a lot none belt cases or for poorly designed belt clips. Does anyone know when they will be available?

Posted by case heaven belt clip hell on May 21, 2004 at 6:36 PM (PDT)

12

Waiting for my mini, but have eye on Vaja leather case. Have one for my Motorola mpx200 cellphone, and it's awesome. Definitely top notch. vajacases.com

Posted by Patrick on May 21, 2004 at 8:21 PM (PDT)

13

i was thinking about getting a arctic one to show off my blue mini, but i opted for the ghost one, because i just love the white color on the ipods, and that's one thing im so jealous about over my brother's 3g 15gb. the ghost looks nice, although the glow feature does seem kinda fruity.

Posted by djsun on May 22, 2004 at 5:38 PM (PDT)

14

I just got mine today (arctic for my blue mini) and I really like it. The frosted color looks really cool and I like the screen protector because I'm always worried about breaking the screen.

It doesn't fit in the dock without removing the iSkin. I also dislike how dirt it gets and how hard it is to get that darn port flap open.

Posted by druberz on May 24, 2004 at 5:30 PM (PDT)

15

Once again, it is VERY EASY to get the port flap open.

Pull back the side the flap faces and then just pull the flap off. Its made out of rubber so the whole thing is very pliable...think about it.

Posted by Chris Derry on June 4, 2004 at 4:18 AM (PDT)

16

with the upcoming release of the griffin itrip-mini, i'm having second thoughts about getting the iskin for my ipod-mini.

does anybody know if the two will be compatible? also, does the iskin-mini preclude using any top-mounting accessory?

Posted by b.sure in boston on June 7, 2004 at 7:02 AM (PDT)

17

I just got a blue mini and i just found about iskin. A cover for it is a must, right? I'm new with this ipod stuff and I want to make sure I'm buying stuff that I need.

Posted by Laura on June 24, 2004 at 7:31 PM (PDT)

18

I own both the Ipod Mini and the Itrip Mini. Anyone know of a case on par with the Iskin that will cover the pod while using the mini trip? hopefully one that doesnt cover the wheel but does protect the screen. And yes, I do want everything and more!

Posted by Robb on June 24, 2004 at 9:23 PM (PDT)

19

Great fittin case, the screen protector is much better than the Speck style case (that my dog ate). Clip is functionally very nice, but lasted only 5 minutes in the hands of my 8 year old. Luckily she broke it before I did (visions of it falling off while cutting the lawn - chopping the iPod into a million pieces). Wrote to iSkin & they are sending a replacement, but in the mean time, I repiared & improved it by using clear silicone RTV and filling the portion above the hinge completely. The flexibility of the RTV gives a perfect spring rate to keep the clip firmly closed. I wanted to make it grip tighter on the belt & gently heated the center of the clip & bent the plastic to ensure that it locks onto my belt. I will probably reinforce the new clip when it arrives. Owners may want to premptively do this, an improvement even before the hinge breaks.

Posted by Chris on June 28, 2004 at 5:57 AM (PDT)

20

Once you've put the belt clip on can it easily be removed ???

I have circumstances where some times I'll want to wear on the belt, but other times in the pocket. Belt clips on things make pocketing things awkward.

Cheers.

Posted by limbot on June 28, 2004 at 8:53 PM (PDT)

Page 1 of 3 pages  1 2 3 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.