iSkin mini | iLounge

Reviews

21

Just received my Arctic iSkin Mini today. From the pictures that I had seen, I thought it would be more white in color, but it's more clear than anything. That's okay, because I love the look of it with my Silver Mini. I never use belt clips, so the rather flimsy one that came with it is of no use for me. Also, as Chris had said, getting access to the port on the bottom is very easy if you spend 10 seconds to figure it out.

Posted by JJBravesFan on June 29, 2004 at 8:13 PM (PDT)

22

Thank you JJBravesFan,

I'm glad other people are also understanding the new fangled high tech device known as rubber. If only iPodlounge reviewers would read yours and my posts and correct one of their biggest gripes with this superb case.

Posted by Chris Derry on June 30, 2004 at 11:37 AM (PDT)

23

Have had the clear one for my mini for 2 mo. I love it. The protection is great. So the clip is a bit scarry. Love it and highly recommend

Posted by bug on July 8, 2004 at 3:46 PM (PDT)

24

please...someone let me know if this is compatible with the itrip mini

Posted by rollin900 in Oklahoma on July 14, 2004 at 10:31 PM (PDT)

25

The belt clip is a loser. Don't expect it to work well, especially for exercising. You can never run with it. What were they thinking??

Posted by david on July 27, 2004 at 10:54 AM (PDT)

26

For those of you worried about the itrip fitting, why don't you just cut the top out of the case. I don't see what problem that would cause. That is the first thing I would do.

Posted by david on July 27, 2004 at 10:58 AM (PDT)

27

cool I wiil definatly buy iskin for my mini thanks!

Posted by BadBoy17 in greenwich on August 9, 2004 at 9:39 AM (PDT)

28

Overall, I'm very happy with the design. After a few months' use, however, my belt clip broke (I sure am glad it didn't break while I was walking), and iSkin tells me it's sold individually at the (IMHO, undeserved) price of $7.99 (not including shipping)! I'll either have to forego the belt clip routine, or purchase a different case with a sturdier clip.

Posted by loix on August 11, 2004 at 4:04 AM (PDT)

29

THIS IS THE BEST THERE IS ON THE MARKET. I WOULD SUGGEST THIS CASE TO ANYONE! SOME PEOPLE DOES NOT LIKE THE LACK OF WHEEL PROTECTION BUT I LIKE IT THAT WAY.

Posted by Tom on August 22, 2004 at 1:00 PM (PDT)

30

i got an iskin mini a month or so ago and 2day when i took it off 2 clean mi ipod my ipod mini lookd so ... well mini. and the iskin mini inda gives it a bit o bulk . i went onto the net and lookd at utha cases but the iskin was still the top case. the bulk s prolly 4 extra protection. i very highly recommend it

Posted by penguinguy in Sydney, Australia on August 22, 2004 at 4:15 PM (PDT)

31

Love the full enclosure. Some comment on the lack of coverage for the click wheel. As a workaround, I reapplied that factory-supplied piece of round clear film that came with the Mini out of the box.

The belt clip's retention strength is ALMOST as flimsy as a paper clip. My Mini's fallen off the side of my drawers EVERY time I've clipped it on my love-handled person. I wrote to iSkin to rant about this. They better not tell me to wear a belt when I clip the Mini? Who the hell would wear a dress belt when working out anyways?

Posted by erayser in Los Angeles, CA on August 30, 2004 at 11:39 PM (PDT)

32

yeah i agree with everyone, got the ghost cover looks excellent especially when it glows....absolutely awesome....
the clickwheel protection is a problem coz it gets dirty quite quickly....any suggestions on cleaning? cant get the iClean just yet...

Posted by kalinka on September 1, 2004 at 8:00 AM (PDT)

33

After reading this review I purchased the iSkin Mini and must say at this point I am quite pleased with it. It offers great protection and fits the my Mini perfectly. My only problem is the the iTrip Mini doesn't fit, but ther old iTrip does so that isn't too much of a problem. Also, the belt clip is pretty much a waste of plastic. It is extremely flimsy and no even worth using. I, however, dont have any use for the belt clip so this is no problem. Overall, this is a great product and I would recomend it to anybody looking to protect their Mini.

Posted by Jason on September 9, 2004 at 10:50 AM (PDT)

34

Re: click wheel protection...I cut out a piece of overhead transparency film and placed that underneath the rubber...seems to work perfect...fingers did not glide as easy on the fresh piece of film but after a while with some finger oil build up, I've forgotten that it's there...

Yeah...the belt clip is a loser...

Posted by Marc Smith on October 3, 2004 at 7:21 AM (PDT)

35

Is dat ipod mini underneath pink??

Ghost on pink looksss sickkkk!!!
Can you get us some pics of diff colors on diff color ipod minis!!

Posted by R@JY on October 28, 2004 at 5:18 AM (PDT)

36

I love this product! Great protection for iPod, provides good grip for my weak hands. But the belt clip is a joke. I took it off after a day.

Posted by sparkyjean on October 31, 2004 at 7:24 AM (PDT)

37

iSkin is probably THE BEST YOU CAN GET!!! I got my pink one yesterday and it looks AWSUM on my silver iPod mini. I must admit, I took the belt clip off, because personally I will not use it. The belt clip on any iPod accessory, I will not use! I don't do running and stuff like dat.

Click wheel protection... pfft, as erayser and Marc Smith has said, use the bit of plastic that came with the iPod mini when you bought it or if you threw it away, make another one! I have NEVER take mine off.

The removable hard screen is so good. It is easy to take out and clean if necessary and is just a great idea other then just soft plastic or stuff like that.

That dock thing at the bottom... STOP COMPLAINING SOME OF YOUS!! You should be greatful that is even protecting it! and of course.. as many people have said.... if you actually have trouble opening it, pull it back a bit and then it is free for you to get it! Problem solved!!

I AM SO GLAD I BOUGHT THIS... I VERY HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT! (take the belt clip off though!)

Posted by xkatex in Australia on December 17, 2004 at 4:26 PM (PDT)

38

I just got this case for Christmas and I love it. I just dont like how it is a magnet for dust and hair and the stupid belt clip!!! Does anyone know how to get it off? Overall this is a great accessory for the ipod mini.

Posted by MiniBlu109 in Ohio on February 12, 2005 at 11:13 AM (PDT)

39

I like iPods!!

Posted by Lyryx on March 2, 2005 at 5:22 PM (PDT)

40

I am glad of the purchase of my clear i-skin, but it would be better if the belt clip part of the case wouldnt thin out when I took the belt clip off. And I have a question: Will the rubbery stuff stretch over time, taking it on and off? If it does, that I would consider this case a bit pricey.

However, its a good case, and is worth a A- rating.

Posted by Momochi on March 6, 2005 at 8:02 AM (PDT)

Page 2 of 3 pages  <  1 2 3 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.