iStore iPod2Car Line-Quality Car Integration Kit | iLounge

Reviews

1

isn't the BMW install $150 for parts and an additional $150 for the install?

maybe i heard wrong...

Posted by StinkieDMB in Pittsburgh, PA on March 17, 2005 at 3:12 PM (PDT)

2

Ironically, I must now buy an in-dash unit with CD changer in order not to use it...

Posted by BradPDX in Portland, OR USA on March 17, 2005 at 3:25 PM (PDT)

3

I have the predecessor to this adapter and use it daily. Occasionally the adapter will be recognized as "AUX EXT" rather than a CD Changer (insodoing preventing the control macros to be transmitted), but a quick tightening of the cables and a (car) restart solves the problem.

I don't mind so much not having the artist/track info, but having the pre-programmed playlists would be great. I didn't think it would be difficult to change playlists while driving, but it's not all that hassle-free (probably easier than switching out a CD, but not by much).

Posted by dethbrakr in Tacoma, WA on March 17, 2005 at 3:32 PM (PDT)

4

Sure would be nice if it had a docking cradle, so you wouldn't have to plug and unplug every time you get in and leave the car.

Posted by Slappyman in Ohio, USA on March 17, 2005 at 4:22 PM (PDT)

5

Anyone know if this is compatible with the 2004 Range Rover? I know it's not listed, but it has easy access to the CD Changer which, according to theiStore.com, is all it needs.

Posted by benjs on March 17, 2005 at 6:14 PM (PDT)

6

iPod2car is fantastic. I was debating whether to buy a CD player with auxiliary in or this, and I ended up getting the iPod2car (for about $100 more then a decent CD player). But it's worth it. Installation was done via a local store smoothly, and it sounds fabulous. I also bought the Belkin TuneDok and keep the iPod in that. Very good product. I'd give it an A!

Posted by kainjow on March 17, 2005 at 9:48 PM (PDT)

7

The iPod's dock connector does transmit track text, doesn't it? I wouldn't want to spend that kind of money and not have support for that feature, if your stereo can display text.

Posted by Nagromme on March 18, 2005 at 3:21 AM (PDT)

8

Reply to BradPDX's comment: There are a number of late model factory stereos that have CD changer capability in the head unit, but don't come with a CD changer installed. Adding an iPod2Car to a system like this will not take away anything that you had before. The installation in the review disconnected the CD changer, but it looks like there's a single cd player in the head unit so you probably could still play CDs with the iPod2Car installed.

Posted by gord1733 in Canada on March 18, 2005 at 4:42 AM (PDT)

9

Another reason to thank the Goddess I bought my car that has a built-in aux port. A $6 male-to-male line from Radio Shack and one press of my "AUX" button built in on the dash, and boom - iPod tunez in car.

My car? The Honda Element EX. Love it madly.

Posted by DigitalKim in Dallas TX on March 18, 2005 at 4:59 AM (PDT)

10

This is an excellent product and challenging to install. Does it charge the iPOD as well? However, I am still happy with the traditional cassette adapter which can play all models of ipod including the ipod shuffle, I am using a white cassete adapter with retractable audio cable and the sound quality is good.

Posted by Jun on March 18, 2005 at 5:03 AM (PDT)

11

Jun writes:
"Does it charge the iPOD as well?"

The article clearly states:

"It also provides safe iPod charging, for those who want to keep their iPods topped off on the go. We tested with several iPods, and they all worked without a problem. When plugged into the iPod2Car, your iPod turns on when your car turns on, and off when it turns off."

Posted by AndyH in Berwyn, PA on March 18, 2005 at 5:34 AM (PDT)

12

There are other adapters that add iPod control ( through use of custom playlists ), that are cheaper than this solution. I assume this one doesn't give you much iPOd control.

For example P.I.E. makes several for Hondas. Haven't used them so I'd like to see a review here.

If you want to go cheap for about $50 you can add just an AUX input to a Honda radio using a different P.I.E. adapter.

As they mentioned, one down side is that these adapters use or take the place of the CD changer, but if you don't have a changer already that's not really an issue.

Posted by George Ross in Ottawa on March 18, 2005 at 6:40 AM (PDT)

13

I have a 2002 Passat, and I can't rave enough about this product.

The install was a sinch. VWs have a CD changer port in the trunk. Plugged it in, ran the wire, plugged in the ipod and I was off to great car tunes.

I keep my ipod in my armrest. I like not having anything exposed (no mounts).

Other than no track names, great product. HIGHLY Recommended

Posted by Tekam in United States on March 18, 2005 at 6:43 AM (PDT)

14

Whoops, it looks like the PIE iPod adapters similar to this one are vapourware, so far.

Still, I'd like to see a review when they are released.

Posted by George Ross in Ottawa on March 18, 2005 at 6:54 AM (PDT)

15

Does anyone know of a adapter that you could then hook to this so you could use a shuffle too?? USB to ipod pin, or audio in to ipod pin?

Posted by tk@innercreation in Bloomington, IL on March 18, 2005 at 7:47 AM (PDT)

16

It's crap. A cheaply done solution.

I installed one of these into my Toyota. Waste of money.

The iPod *should* pause when the car turns off. Nope. Therefore it drains the battery of the car when it shouldn't. Usually, the iPod crashes if I leave it attached when I turn off the car.

The iPod *should* go to the next track when I push the Next Track control (as documented in the instructions), but it doesn't. It kinda, sorta fast-forwards. Sometimes.

Yes, I've installed the latest iPod Firmware.

No, the manuafacturer has not responded to my attemts to get technical help. (Ok, to be fair, they responded once, with a completely content-free email, asking stupid questions I had already answered in my plea for help. Then all communication ceased.)

Do NOT buy this product. IMHO.

Posted by bestat on March 18, 2005 at 12:50 PM (PDT)

17

So what is the difference between this product and the Neo iON at [url=http://www.mp3yourcar.com?]http://www.mp3yourcar.com?[/url]

The picture look the same and I only see a price difference of 10 bucks, but does any one have any experience with either?

Brandon

Posted by mobious99 on March 18, 2005 at 3:32 PM (PDT)

18

I have the USA SPEC iPOD Interface which supports 5 playlists, and also sounds great. It was $120 and just as easy to install. When its plugged in, the screen is deactivated, so there is no need to look at it when I'm driving, which is probably a good thing, so I just keep it in a compartment below the dash.

Posted by 3 dogs on March 19, 2005 at 4:55 PM (PDT)

19

This unit looks identical to what was sent to me by mp3yourcar.com (even down to the label). It was fairly easy for my brother-in-law to install in my '05 Toyota Highlander (but then he's pretty mechanically inclined.)

Excellent sound! Using the buttons on the radio and/or steering wheel for volume and to change tracks on the iPod is great. Because the battery is being charged while it's connected, I can keep the backlight on all the time and see the info on the iPod's screen. Best of all, the iPod turns off when I turn off the ignition, so the battery doesn't run down when I forget to turn it off.

The only downside (besides the $$$) - and maybe the reason I will return the unit - is that the in-dash CD changer is disabled. Once in awhile, the CD will play when I turn the ignition on, but most of the time it's totally dead. For short trips, I prefer leaving the iPod at home and using the CD to avoid a tempting break-in target. With no CD, now I'm stuck with only the radio or tape for music.

Posted by nancy g in Sunnyvale, CA on March 20, 2005 at 9:02 PM (PDT)

20

I just got this off mp3yourcar.com this week, the install took about 10 minutes and the sound is fantastic! I highly recommend this product!

Posted by mattydread in NY on March 27, 2005 at 6:06 PM (PDT)

Page 1 of 2 pages  1 2 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.