J. Masters EphPod 2 | iLounge

Reviews

1

Anyone know how well EphPod works with the new 3rd generation iPods? Would you reccomend it over XPlay? And one last question, with the new iPods can you hook it up to PCs and Macs without reformatting the drive? Thanks!

Posted by Jeff on May 25, 2003 at 3:46 PM (PDT)

2

since you can read mac-formated drives with this windows tool that is mentioned in the article you can just format you ipod drive with hfs+ and keep it for mac and windows .. without reformating..

Posted by mirza on June 4, 2003 at 5:56 AM (PDT)

3

I did format mine into Windows format before I tried EphPod. Now I just install the free part of EphPod (without the MacOpenner) and it works! Of cause I still need my iPod manager running in my Windows.

Just that I have to find out some way to get rid of the iPod driver in my MusicMatch now.

Posted by Siube on June 12, 2003 at 9:37 PM (PDT)

4

I've been using it with a G3 IPOD and having problems with tracks skipping. It is probably due to some configuration but since it isn't consitent it is hard for me to figure out what the problem is.

Posted by Trainwrek on June 17, 2003 at 10:10 PM (PDT)

5

I've been using EphPod with Windows 98SE on a 3G 20Gb iPod and it has worked brilliantly. Intuitive, simple, got all my music on within 20 minutes of opening EphPod for the first time (including transfer time). I've set it up to Sync with one click, but i'm wondering if it's possible to have it load and sync of it's own accord when the iPod is connected?

Posted by PickledHales on October 9, 2003 at 10:50 AM (PDT)

6

Note: turn off the internal file copy apis and use the windows ones.
I've lost the entire contents of my iPod more than once when Ephpod went down the wrong way. Had to reformat the iPod and start again... don't let that detract you from using this program, tho, it's quite good.

Posted by Marduk on October 11, 2003 at 7:39 AM (PDT)

7

How do you get movie reviews on your iPod with EphPod?

Posted by Mbellt on December 15, 2003 at 3:17 PM (PDT)

8

How do you get movie reviews on your iPod

Why bother with boring reviews?

I download movies to my Lyra and watch them there. 200+ hours on a single handheld.

I can quickly scan through the movie - if I don't like it then I click to another.

I am maxing out my Comcast 3Mbps cable downloading DIVX movies.

Maybe if Apple brings out video iPod I will go back, but until then this Lyra is the best early xmas present ever! I find I hardly use my iPod these days, except for running.

http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg/detail/-/B00008VFCU/

Posted by Lyra on December 15, 2003 at 3:33 PM (PDT)

9

i'd recomend you guys try anapod explorer by redchairsoftware. the program can be found at redchairsoftware.com/anapod. i think you'll all thank me later!

Posted by Malcolm on January 10, 2004 at 6:53 AM (PDT)

10

mbellt- i am having the same prob as you with this software. i can't get the news headlines to sync properly. on my 3g. if i was just getting single movie reviews tho i would just cut and paste into a text editor and save it as .txt. and manually move it into notes. or i pod library works well too (also freeware).

Posted by cara on February 6, 2004 at 12:00 PM (PDT)

11

I have a 30gb iPod which I am using with my XP windows machine.I am thinking of getting a mini iPod for my wife. Will I be able to synch the mini using ephPod and will I have any problem using both iPods with the same computer?

Posted by Sherman Pazner on February 11, 2004 at 12:37 PM (PDT)

12

What is the best program which u use with the new 3rd generation iPods? Why u think like that?
1. Anapod
2. Xplay
3. EphPod
4. Ipod Agent

Posted by pure in thailand on March 31, 2004 at 9:06 AM (PDT)

13

quote -Why bother with boring reviews?

I download movies to my Lyra and watch them there. 200+ hours on a single handheld.-


I wonder how you pack 200 hours of standard divx video on to a 20GB player...

Posted by chrisclark on July 28, 2004 at 10:06 AM (PDT)

14

ephpod 2 says it works with iTunes. I wanted to use it to edit tags. I had all sorts of problems with something booting out my connection, then it corrupted the disk, and I have to re-format my iPod. No worries cause I have it all in iTunes, but I don't remember having these problems with earlier ephpod and MusicMatch. Anybody experience similar probelms? Ideas? suggestions? Alternative tag editing software that plays nicer with iTunes?

Posted by dandatt on October 5, 2004 at 9:53 AM (PDT)

15

I've been using Ephpod since I had a 2G iPod (i'm now on a 3G with new battery) and I've never had a problem with it, even when I was using the 2G with the old MacOpener software. I now use iTunes to upload & cdrip to the iPod, & then use Ephpod to download (or upload if I want to...) from the iPod when needed. I also use euPod Volume Boost to ramp those tunes up, and MP3 Tag Studio to edit all the tag's.
Believe me when I say this...I've tried ALL the software out there for use with the iPod as well as the Musicmatch's & all the other rippers, and all ther various taggers like Dr Tag, etc.... and the combination I've found above is by far the easiest !!

Posted by Ed on October 18, 2004 at 5:51 AM (PDT)

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.