JBL On Stage II with Remote Loudspeaker Dock for iPod | iLounge

Reviews

1

We sell them at the Apple Store in Century City, Los Angeles.

Posted by kcrmson on November 6, 2005 at 12:19 AM (PDT)

2

Considering how, ahem, "challenged" the sonic quality of the original On Stage was from only a few feet away when I sampled it for a week about a year ago, WHY is there a need for a remote that extends its range out to 50 feet? Despite the apparent improvements listed in the review, does JBL honestly believe that their On Stage II is really listenable from 50 feet away, or around and behind some solid obstacle?

Posted by flatline response on November 6, 2005 at 2:20 PM (PDT)

3

imo, i still personally think that the Kensignton SX 2000 speakers is better. Kensignton's style is more iPodish if you know what i mean.

Posted by itisme1760 on November 7, 2005 at 11:12 PM (PDT)

4

I saw the On Stage II at RadioShack two weeks ago.

And in response to Flatline Response, I can believe that the On Stage II is fully listenable at 50 feet away- I've used the original at that distance.

I don't know that it's worth the $170 price... you can buy the original On Stage for $100 online, and AirClick for $30. Is volume control really neccessary? Not to mention the AirClick will work without the iPod being docked.

Posted by EricS2008 on November 8, 2005 at 1:40 PM (PDT)

5

Whant does the little star (*) stand for?

"Compatible: iPod 1G, 2G, 3G, 4G/color/photo, 5G, iPod mini, iPod nano*, iPod shuffle*"

Posted by cayayofm on November 11, 2005 at 10:53 PM (PDT)

6

So far my favourite is the iDock by Logic 3 (?). I was playing with it at Best Buy and it sounds awesome and is only $150 CDN. It works with the 5G and Nano so I'd personally get that, but I dont know as much as you guys.

Posted by PimpyMicPimp on November 16, 2005 at 5:49 PM (PDT)

7

This thing ruined my 1st Gen Nano. The very first time I docked my Ipod into it, half of the screen became scrambled and hasn't recovered. JBL Customer Service is useless - their only solution is the have Apple repair the Ipod - never even considered their product damaged my Ipod.

Posted by bmanbe on October 11, 2006 at 2:03 PM (PDT)

8

I just bought this as a holiday gift for someone else, and I don't want to open the box and spoil it. Now I'm worried that it might not work with a 2nd Gen iPod, or worse, damage it. Does anybody have actual experience with successfully using an Onstage II with a 2nd Gen iPod? Incidentally, I got it at cheaperthanbestbuy.com for sixty bucks less than Best Buy:
http://www.cheaperthanbestbuy.com/z-ia/shopJBLOnStageII.htm .

Posted by iRivercity on December 4, 2006 at 1:10 PM (PDT)

9

After a disappointing experience with Logitech's AudioStation i had to give much more thought to what I really wanted from an ipod speaker. A much smaller footprint. The best sound quality I could get for preferably under $150. Reasonably lightweight and portable. Good looks. I decided on JBL On Stage II after reading iLounge reviews - I could not bring myself to take a chance on another Logitech. I was seriously pondering the supposedly comparable mm50 because of the overwhelmingly positive reviews on Apple.com as well as ilounge's recommendation, but when I tested both side by side at BestBuy, the mm50 sounded VERY transistor-ish, couldn't get any volume out of it and the sound distorted at roughly half the volume of the JBL. I just don't get why iLounge and many consumers rave about that thing. The feet are cheap, the sound is awful, and it takes up twice the space the 7" dia. OnStage does. Incidentally the guy at BestBuy said they were having a tough time getting their demo AudioStation to function properly. Hmmm. Though to be honest the JBL didn't sound that great in the store either, I took a chance and was blown away by the sound quality on many of the songs in my music library - particularly clear and sharp on solo vocals, piano and guitar instrumentals, and performed fairly well at medium volumes on songs with heavy bass. Only metal heads will probably be left unsatisfied. Consider where you're going to be playing this much of the time and whether you generally like to blast your songs or play at lower to medium and medium high volumes. If you don't intend to take it travelling (other than from room to room) and just want it for around the house I strongly recommend this. It nicely fills a medium to large size room - -some songs will have astonishing power and clarity at higher volumes in a larger room - Though the base weighs next to nothing, the power adapter, by comparison, weighs a ton (feels like three pounds)- but is much smaller than the bricks you get with the larger sound-dock class units. The tiny remote works across the room and through objects - it's perfect.

Posted by cwerbler on December 9, 2006 at 9:35 PM (PDT)

10

I just picked up an On Stage II for $35.00 on closeout from Office Depot!

Posted by Galley in Greenville, SC on April 20, 2007 at 12:51 PM (PDT)

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.