Kensington Stereo Dock for iPod | iLounge

Reviews

1

Sounds good - one question.

This mentions that it doesn't use the line out, as it can control the volume. But it sounds like it isn't headphones either. What is the average volume level?

I ask because on my stereo, if I use headphone output it is very quiet, even at the highest ipod volume level, and so when I switch back to radio/CD its way too loud.

If this was louder than headphones I might jump for it.

Posted by mrklaw on June 23, 2005 at 2:15 AM (PDT)

2

The Stereo Dock's top audio-out level is similar to the peak headphone-out level, which incidentally is close to the same as the line-out level on Apple's official Dock, and more than adequate for normal listening. I'm guessing that your stereo connection is loose or that there's some other issue there.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz in East Amherst, NY, USA on June 23, 2005 at 4:04 PM (PDT)

3

Add a dock port for synching, use RF signals, re-arrange the remote so that your habits don't get confused with the iPod's own controls, and make it fit sleeves/skins. Then sign me up! smile

I thought the metal hoop in back looked silly, until I read that it holds the remote. That's kinda cool.

Posted by Nagromme on June 24, 2005 at 9:04 PM (PDT)

4

I picked up one today at Costco for $50. Very nice, but as noted in the review, the IR remote doesn't really go "up to" 30 feet. Very classy with lighted remote and lighted stand.

Posted by JOEKCMO on June 25, 2005 at 1:15 PM (PDT)

5

Has anyone used this dock with an iTrip or such plugged, broadcasting to a stereo, and still be able to use the remote. If this can be done, this could be the perfect dock!

Posted by phatcat on June 28, 2005 at 10:08 PM (PDT)

6

I saw it in person today, and it reminded me very much of a desk accessory from the business office of yore. I am not averse to that type of design, and I like Kensington products...I just guess that chrome rod winding around the product has not quite set-in with me yet. Did not purchase it, but might as I have a place where this would could in handy.

P.S. Have not known of a Kensington product that failed or I had to throw away--it simply grew outdated or I got tired to it (from seeing it so long) and that is a testament to how well Kensington thinks-out its products.

Posted by FahrenheiPod 451 on June 29, 2005 at 4:58 AM (PDT)

7

Where did you find it at Costco??? I couldn't find it online... This is the exact dock i've been waiting for and i would like to buy it... but save a little money too... I think the remote for the iPod will be mad perfect when some one designs it to be a handheld click wheel.

Posted by JeremytheIndian on June 29, 2005 at 5:25 PM (PDT)

8

Why does the docking station stay lit when ipod is finished charging..Will that cause the battery in the ipod to diminish in life after time..and is it safe to leave that docking station plugged in..constantly..or should it be removed from the electrical outlet..?

Posted by tigerxxv on July 5, 2005 at 9:29 PM (PDT)

9

This thing is pretty close to the best - may have to take it apart to fix the line out issue if it becomes a problem but until I get my hands on one... I have a Russound CAV 6.6 6 zone 6 source whole house AV system that uses ir for programing and control of source equipment. This is perfect mount it in the wall or by the front door of the house and drop the ipod in it at the end of the day and pick it up in the morning full charge for the commute to work! While at home I can control it from ANY room in the house ( and a few area's outside too!) Talk about drag and drop! Untill Russound makes their own dock (that hopefully provides title and artist info on the keypad wink This is the next best thing! I can't wait for it to come in!!!!

Posted by DJNemisius on July 7, 2005 at 4:43 PM (PDT)

10

Has anyone tried using this dock with an iPod with a skin over it? I have the Speck skin for my iPod photo that has the flap on the bottom which allows you to dock with the skin. Will a skinned iPod fit on this dock? If not, can the metal rail be bent to accomodate the extra size?

Posted by nxmehta on July 8, 2005 at 1:42 PM (PDT)

11

You can get this item for 52.00 from http://www.directdial.com.....that includes shipping and handling.


http://www.directdial.com/us/shop/item/33164.html

Posted by miniApple on July 8, 2005 at 2:23 PM (PDT)

12

I picked one of these up at the Costco in Commerce, MI yesterday for $49.99. The Costco item number is 718207 so if you're local Costco doesn't have it, an associate should be able to look in up in their computer and let you know which locations stock it. I think it's an attractive unit but the shape of the ac plug/power supply made it a little tricky to find a place to plug it in. Some people might find it annoying that the Kensington logo on top stays lit as long as it is powered. Unfortunately I am unable to get this to work with my Iskin case. I'm sure it will be the same with a lot of other cases as well. The "performance" of the remote control is truly a disappointment. Even from 6 feet away I usually had to be aiming straight at the receiver to get it to work. So I decided to program the remote into my Home Theater Master MX-500. NOW i have some range! I can use it anywhere in the room from any angle and it works beautifully. Using an aftermarket remote is something you'd want to consider with this unit. It doesn't appear that charging the Ipod in this unit is any quicker than doing it thru the USB cable. Overall i'm very happy with it and it's backed with a 5 year warranty so I believe it'll be a dependable product for a long time to come.

Posted by vegasrob on July 12, 2005 at 11:20 AM (PDT)

13

Called my local costco and Item # 718207 is for a 30" lamp. Can anyone find out if it is at Costco.
Thanks

Posted by watstein on July 14, 2005 at 3:40 PM (PDT)

14

Went to costco earlier tonight and found the Kensington Stereo Dock which was 49.99 like vegasrob said. But like I said in my previous post that the item number he posted is not right. The correct costco item number or the item number that is in Norther California is 918207. So I hope this helps everyone, also my costco had lots of them and I love the unit.

Posted by watstein on July 14, 2005 at 11:11 PM (PDT)

15

I can't read my own writing! The correct item number is indeed 918207. Sorry about the confusion.

Posted by vegasrob on July 16, 2005 at 2:22 PM (PDT)

16

I bought this dock from Costco and also the new Harmon Kardon Soundsticks II woofer and satellite speakers. They are really cool looking (glass enclosed)and sound great. Only 1 problem: The powered woofer only has one connector since it was made for computer or MP3 player connections. When I connect it to the the audio port in the back of the dock I get very low volume. When I connect it to the headphone jack on the top of the iPod the volume is fine and it sounds great. I would rather use the audio port in the back of the dock rather than having a wire going into the top of the iPod. Has anyone encountered a similar problem or know of a possible solution?

Posted by eddie51 on July 18, 2005 at 10:02 PM (PDT)

17

"Has anyone encountered a similar problem or know of a possible solution?"


I purchased one of these today as well. I connected mine to my little JVC bookshelf system in the BR, but I have to turn it up all the way to hear it. I think the volume problem has to do with the auxillary input not having enough power to drive the speakers. This is the only thing I can think of (i.e., there's not enough power) but if anyone knows what's really going on or if there's a solution I'd appreciate hearing about it.

I think I remember reading Radio shack may have a power apmplifier, but I'm not sure if this is how it should be used.

Suggestions?

Posted by panorama in Boston on July 23, 2005 at 1:50 PM (PDT)

18

I bet you guys are using a phono input on your receiver. That input is not amplified by default. You'll need to use the "CD", "DVD", "AUX" inputs instead. Try it out. My buddy bought one and ran into the same issue. We were able to trouble shoot it and this was our solution.

Posted by cellphonejunkie on July 23, 2005 at 5:15 PM (PDT)

19

When I first hooked up the dock and started using it, I also noticed there was very little output. After messing around with it for a bit I realized that the remote for the dock controls the output level of the dock, it does not actually control the volume level of the ipod. So I turned the volume all the way up on my ipod and then turned up the volume on the remote and then I had some output! The output level I get is as good as what I get from my CD player or DVD player. Hopefully this will be the solution for everyone.

Posted by vegasrob on July 24, 2005 at 12:48 PM (PDT)

20

I purchased the StereoDock from 'Buy.com' and got a good price. When I got the StereoDock I found out the Remote did not work right. I emailed Kensington and they emailed me back:

Thank you for contacting Kensington Technical Support.
Its unfortunate that you are confronting this issue. As there seems to be an issue with the defective remote button, we suggest you to take it back to the retailer and get it replaced since currently, Kensington doesn't ship only the remote.
Please let us know, if we can be of further help.
Regards,
Alok Kumar
Kensington Technical Support

They don't stand behind what they make.

Posted by bglaum1 on July 27, 2005 at 1:14 PM (PDT)

Page 1 of 3 pages  1 2 3 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.