Kensington Stereo Dock for iPod | iLounge

Reviews

21

"I realized that the remote for the dock controls the output level of the dock, it does not actually control the volume level of the ipod. So I turned the volume all the way up on my ipod and then turned up the volume on the remote and then I had some output!"


Vegasrob - Thanks! That's the answer. I just tried it again and kept pushing the "+" button on the remote and it was unreal. I can hear my pod playing in the next room as I write this and the volume is set at "15" where before a level of "50" was unsatisfactory.

This Kensington Stereo Dock is a great little addition to my hoard of pod accessories, and at $50 it was well worth it. Since I'm using this in the bedroom (BR), the remote is not a problem at all. As of right now, I rate this as highly recommended!

To all of you having problems with the aux input, try this solution and it will probably be the answer if you're not getting volume from the pod/stereo connection.

Thanks again to all those that posted answers!

Posted by panorama in Boston on July 28, 2005 at 9:10 AM (PDT)

22

When I first hooked up the dock and started using it, I also noticed there was very little output. After messing around with it for a bit I realized that the remote for the dock controls the output level of the dock, it does not actually control the volume level of the ipod. So I turned the volume all the way up on my ipod and then turned up the volume on the remote and then I had some output! The output level I get is as good as what I get from my CD player or DVD player. Hopefully this will be the solution for everyone.
By vegasrob on 07.24.05 at 12:48 PM


Vegasrob: You are a wizard ! It was the problem. Thank you !!!
Eddie51

Posted by eddie51 on July 29, 2005 at 7:55 PM (PDT)

23

Bought mine at Costco also for $49.99. After reading how the dock really works (the remote is the key to volumn), I am now completely satified. Sound quality with my Sony receiver is excellent and I am playing it loudly. My recommendation for new users is to set your volumn first with the remote, then adjust the volumn on your stereo. It discussion group was very helpful.

Posted by taurus51 on July 29, 2005 at 10:50 PM (PDT)

24

Bought mine today at Costco too, for 49.99 with a 10 dollar rebate, which i easily remitted at Costco.com.
very happy with it.

Posted by williamR in iowa on August 6, 2005 at 5:50 PM (PDT)

25

Awesome item!
I was looking for an ipod dock with a remote control all-in-one solution for some time (instead of having to buy a dock and remote separate and deal with the hassle of plugging it all together each time).

I'm very happy that finally kensington came up with this product.

Got it at Costco WHS for $39.99 after $10 rebate!

Just dock your ipod, which charges as you play and use the remote control to skip, play/pause or control the volume.

If you're looking for a better (audiophile-wise) quality sounding solution and happen to have an ONKYO receiver - onkyo just came up with their own solution that works with onkyo receivers/remotes only...
Once again worth a look only if you already own an onkyo receiver or thinking about buying one...

Otherwise look no more! This is the perfect solution that every iPod user with an A/V receiver should have!

Posted by andrejoid on August 12, 2005 at 9:27 PM (PDT)

26

I am considering buying JBL Creature II speakers & this Kensington Stereo Dock. I think it would make a great home set-up for the combined price of about $115 US (found the discounted prices at Amazon.com & Buy.com & probably same deals available elsewhere too.) But I want to make sure they are compatible -- anyone tried this set-up?

Posted by ccina on August 15, 2005 at 8:41 AM (PDT)

27

Bought mine online and it worked great the first day, then just died. The iPod wasn't playing at the time and the speakers (Creature IIs) suddenly started buzzing like they weren't connected to anything. When I checked it out, the dock was dead. No little Kensington light, no nothing. Haven't been able to resurrect it and hopefully I'll have more luck wth kensington's customer service than bglaum1 did. Bummer, because it made an awesome alarm clock that first morning.

Posted by rjsimps on August 17, 2005 at 5:59 PM (PDT)

28

Just bought one today. The only problem was the batteries in the remote. One overheated so I replaced both. I now have three ways to control the volume - iPod, dock, and receiver. For best sound quality, should I turn the iPod and dock all the way up and control volume with the receiver or some other combination?

Posted by arnold931 on August 21, 2005 at 2:26 PM (PDT)

29

Kensington say this is Nano compatible.
So does this mean all I need is this dock and I can charge the Nano and listen to music on my stereo system or have I got it all wrong?

the power adaptor goes to the dock and audio comes from the dock to the stereo syste (amp)

Posted by GoldCoaster on September 29, 2005 at 4:13 PM (PDT)

30

Just purchased one and am confused as to which jacks to plug it into. I have a Denon receiver that doesn't show auxilary but does have CD, Tape and Remote jacks
walfam4

Posted by walfam4 on November 2, 2005 at 11:10 AM (PDT)

31

I have started watching video podcasts. Does this dock have video out as well?

Posted by Wardo in Minneapolis,MN on November 13, 2005 at 8:19 AM (PDT)

32

Has anyone had problems with volume dropping for a few seconds then coming back up to the original level? Its like a ghost is sporadically toying with the volume on the Kensington stereo dock. (3rd gen. 10GB)

Posted by boondoggle on November 19, 2005 at 2:38 PM (PDT)

33

Does the 5G ipod video fit in this? It doesn't look like it would.

Posted by dmclane on December 7, 2005 at 9:42 AM (PDT)

34

Yes it does. I've been using my black 5G with this stereo dock for about a month already.

Posted by cellphonejunkie on December 11, 2005 at 1:00 AM (PDT)

35

Unable to locate this device at Costco web site. Any sugestions?

Posted by boblupcho on December 15, 2005 at 10:31 AM (PDT)

36

The output level I'm getting from this dock is less than what I get from my cd player, I'd say maybe 50%. I tried the suggestion about cranking the ipod volume first then using the remote volume. I connected to "cd" and "aux" input and the output is still low. It's ok and sounds good, but not equivalent to my cd player output. Any advice?

Posted by dave LJ on December 15, 2005 at 7:38 PM (PDT)

37

<< It’s ok and sounds good, but not equivalent to my cd player output. Any advice? >>

If it sounds good and is OK, why worry about it? what difference will it make?

Posted by Remington in Sacramento, CA on December 18, 2005 at 12:01 AM (PDT)

38

I bought the Kensington dock a couple of months ago. The remote does have a very short range, and the sound quality is good, but the volume levels between albums became a concern about a month ago. I originally adjusted the dock/iPod/receiver volumes as instructed, and still some albums were *loud* and others were barely audible. And every time I removed and replaced my iPod (5G, which Apple says works with this dock), the volume levels would always reset, either too loud or too low. And then the volume started shifting within songs, like a previous poster mentioned.

So I bought a Maxell Dock, even though I've found few reviews on it. I've only used a few days. The line level is much better. So far I would recommend it, but don't bother buying the seperate remote -- I almost broke it in half just *trying* to get the battery compartment open (and I never did get it open), plus the accompanying receiver doesn't work on 5G iPods, so the remote's being returned.

So far I'm usiing the Kensington dock to prop up my iPod in the Maxell Dock -- the video iPod doesn't quite fit Maxell's 60 GB adapter -- it's a bit wobbly, and that metal bar on the Kensington dock is handy as a leaning tool.

If you go to the Kensington website, they do have a 90 day guarantee form for their products as an option to return the dock if you're not happy with it. If I can find another way to keep my iPod in place, I have a few weeks to send it beack. Otherwise, I spent $60 on a Y cable and a metal bar.

Posted by lachic on December 19, 2005 at 12:25 PM (PDT)

39

Does this dock support S- video? Can anybody educate me on the outputs avail?

Posted by mark s. on December 27, 2005 at 3:22 PM (PDT)

40

Thanks for all of the suggestions on the Kensington dock. I increased the output of my dock, and that help the volume problem I was having.

Posted by lgscheurich on December 30, 2005 at 5:22 PM (PDT)

Page 2 of 3 pages  <  1 2 3 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.