Logic3 i-Station Portable Speaker System | iLounge

Reviews

21

Question. Is there an Audio Out (or headphone) jack on the system? I have a set of remote speakers in my studio which I plug my iPod into now. I'd love to be able to just set it on the dock without having to plug in an extra cord to the iPod... Does the inMotion system have the Audio Out (or Headphone) jack?

Posted by lancephoto in North Tampa Bay on February 22, 2005 at 8:27 PM (PDT)

22

deepshallows- did you read the review on this page?

robot- there is no audio output for both the Logic3 and the inMotion series. They both have audio inputs which is great if you use them for other things besides the iPod.

to everyone else- i purchased these speakers because the remote control with the inMotion3 that i have is basically USELESS. the only buttons that work maybe 1 out of 20 trys, are the play/pause and the volume UP button. so i basically came to the conclusion that since the inMotion3 remote barely even works, it won't really be a downgrade to go to these Logic3 speakers. i am waiting for them to arrive still....

Posted by christomapher in chicago on February 23, 2005 at 8:12 PM (PDT)

23

oops! that first response was supposed to be for ROBOT

the second response was supposed to be for lancephoto

my mistake wink

Posted by christomapher in chicago on February 23, 2005 at 8:15 PM (PDT)

24

by the way I took a look at the inMotion (not 3) yesterday at Best Buy and it does have a line out jack. I guess the Logic3 doesn't though?

Posted by lancephoto in North Tampa Bay on February 24, 2005 at 7:43 AM (PDT)

25

UPDATE: I had posted sbove that I got the Logic3 speakers that didn't have the iPod Photo cradles as I must have gotten older stock made before the Photo came out. I emailed Logic3 in Europe and, within two days, I got an email from EB Carlson Company (I believe they are the marketing company for these speakers in the US), and he sent out the iPod Photo cradle to me free of charge. Great customer service! Best, Pam smile

Posted by Pam M. in So. California on February 24, 2005 at 9:15 AM (PDT)

26

lance- ooops, i guess i based my findings only on my inMotion3, i wish mine had an output jack though....

have you guys seend the new inMotion4 speakers yet? in my opinion, not even worth reviewing on this site.... check 'em out on Altec's website.

Posted by christomapher in chicago on February 24, 2005 at 2:26 PM (PDT)

27

just ordered from amazon. I really need the travel-friendly portability. Feeling cheap, I went with the free shipping though. Maybe I will get my Logic3 before the 6G ipods come out.

Posted by treeshark in Tidewater, Va on February 25, 2005 at 6:16 AM (PDT)

28

Arrived today. Took less than a week for amazon to get the i-Station to us (free shipping). Logic3 sure pack this thing with lots of stuff, most of which we'll never use but I suppose it's a warm and fuzzy feeling that they were thinking about us consumers just in case we ever WOULD need any of the extras.

No, it's not great-sounding (my 40GB 4G has never sounded so bad...well, except for the time I stuck it on an inMotion at the Apple Store), but I suppose it's (barely) adequate for casual listening in a low-fi sort of way. The paper sub is as about as cheap and fugly as it gets, but at least it kind of pushes *some* minimal low frequencies out, though I wouldn't sell the JL Audios just yet. I haven't heard any hum or line noise as others have reported. It does push out higher dBs better than the AL without the dreaded distortion. On fresh batteries I couldn't hear any difference between DC and AC.

For 80 bucks it's a decent buy, but don't expect stupendous sound. Well, at least the other iPoders in this house are pleased with it, though I can't believe I really married and am related to such lo-fi ears.

Posted by flatline response on February 25, 2005 at 5:03 PM (PDT)

29

I have them and love them.
Yes it's true 'flatline', the sound isn't 'stupendous' ... but hey, THEY'RE PORTABLE SPEAKERS! We're not talking aobut super hi-fi sound here.... portables are about getting music out into the feild, and these speakers do that just fine.

Posted by moonliner in Seattle on February 28, 2005 at 12:42 PM (PDT)

30

Exactly ... they are portable speakers and are awesome for that! Plus you get a dock and charger at the same time ... great item for a more than reasonable price! I'm so glad I didn't "splurge" on the InMotions. Pam smile

Posted by Pam M. in So. California on March 1, 2005 at 7:55 AM (PDT)

31

Wish I could find these in Toronto. No luck yet. They look like something I would be interested in.

Posted by Monaghen in Toronto, CA on March 2, 2005 at 12:11 PM (PDT)

32

I just got my Logic3 speakers in today. After a side-by-side comparison lasting about 5-10 minutes (yes, it only took me that long), it made me realize that I wasted my money on the Altec Lansing speakers. At first, I thought I would never use the "3D" function on the Logic3 system, but I find that it almost makes the speakers seem twice as far apart as they are, making the system sound almost twice the size. The sound is so much better on the Logic3 system, I actually disagree with the original review, the sound is better at all volume levels, in my opinion.

Things I like:
Sound quality is superb compared to iM3

Built in 3D sound processor greatly increases the sound stage

Extra cables are nice

40GB iPod fits much better into the dock on the Logic3 compared to the inMotion3 system.

There are a few things that I don't like:
No speaker covers/grilles

No Remote control (but the iM3 only worked 10% of the time for me)

I want an option to turn off the cheesy blue lights (especially when using battery power)

I don't want to have to put a plastic (scratchable) backing on the speakers to support the iPod, I want it to support it on its own.



Conclusion:

My inMotion3 system will be up for auction on eBay soon grin

Posted by christomapher in chicago on March 2, 2005 at 5:09 PM (PDT)

33

I'm real happy with them -- especially for $80 w/free shipping. The sound is pretty good, they're wonderfully portable, and they're cute. What really makes me happy, though, is that I'm using the i-station as my dock. Now, I have the Apple dock connected to my stereo in the living room, where the ipod sounds really great. Another bonus is that the ipod is always fully charged when I leave the house.

Posted by jjmpdx in Portland on March 7, 2005 at 10:09 AM (PDT)

34

No remote...but can you use a Griffin or equiv to control ipod functions while docked on the i-station? I know you can't with most, if not all, the other speakers.

Posted by heychuck on March 8, 2005 at 9:19 PM (PDT)

35

Does anyone know if it comes with the cradle that works with the iPod photo 40G generation? If not, does anyone have the contact information to make sure it arrives with my order?! Thanks guys!

Posted by Nim1981 in Chicago on March 9, 2005 at 12:51 PM (PDT)

36

These are fantastic! I was about to buy the JBL Onstage, which sounded pretty darn good, but when I saw this was $100 cheaper, had more features, was more portable, and sounded 90-95% as good, I was sold.

I just got back from a week in Mexico where I gave them a workout in my hotel room and on the balcony and I was pleasantly surprised at the sound quality, especially at higher volumes. I haven't found the AL iM3's here in Toronto so I was unable to test them, but I'm more than happy with this unit.

I'm now using the speakers on my desk at work where they also sound great and are handy for laptop hookup.

And Monaghen, I got mine at the FutureShop at Yonge & Dundas smile The sales guy said they had just arrived (in late Feb) and he let me test them right out of the box. They are also now available on FS.ca.

Posted by CleverBoi in Toronto, Canada on March 9, 2005 at 1:47 PM (PDT)

37

I wish i could get one they look awesome

Posted by lordofthesocks on March 15, 2005 at 3:52 PM (PDT)

38

I'm well impressed with the sound out of these. Much louder than I expected, and loud enough to fill a large room adequately. Very clear and distortion-free; only a tiny bit of distortion at the highest volumes. And they look cool too - I especially like the blue lights! Definitely a good buy and recommended by me too!

My only complaint (and it is a minor one) is that the buttons are a bit too exposed and should be covered by the plastic cover or more recessed - as shoving the speakers in a bag can result in the power being turned on and your batteries being drained (or possibly the button being damaged).

Posted by cool'n'funky on March 21, 2005 at 4:12 PM (PDT)

39

If you are after travel speakers at an affordable price with good sound, then these are the best. Remember these are portable speakers and are not intended to replace your hi-fi. If you want to do that then get the Creatures or the Bose Soundock, which do produce amazing sound, but neither of which are portable and in the case of the Bose are very expensive, especially here in the UK.

If you really want to enjoy the sound of your iPod at its best, then get yourself a good pair of headphones. This is and always will be the best way to enjoy music.

Thought I would mention, unlike other people I like the design and the little blue L.E.D.s give it a cool look at night. The only problem I have had with the iStation, is my iPod would not fit in the cradle with the evo2 iskin attached. But if you remove the adapter cradle it will fit with the iskin attached, but you have to gently insert and remove it. The only other problem is that I noticed a constant hum on the speakers, when it is quiet. But this is only when it is connected via the AC adaptor, if you run it off batteries there is no hum. I asked Logic3 why this is and they said I must have a faulty AC adaptor and that they would replace it.

Conclusion, if you want to share your music on your travels, the iStation is a great choice.

Posted by iPod Jedi in UK on March 22, 2005 at 3:57 AM (PDT)

40

Thanks for the heads-up on availability in Canada. Picked-up a set of these last week. Sounds good for a portable system. Too bad there was no carry case or something to prevent damage when travelling. As well, I only received 3 different sized cradles. My iskin-covered 4th generation ipod does not fit. The review said 7 different sized cradles. Can someone confirm whether the set of 7 fits an iskin covered 4th gen (40 gig) ipod and where they purchased the istation with 7 cradles as opposed to the 3 cradle one.

Thanks,

Ag.

Posted by Monaghen in Toronto, CA on March 28, 2005 at 5:00 AM (PDT)

Page 2 of 3 pages  <  1 2 3 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.