Logitech AudioStation High-Performance Stereo System for iPod | iLounge

Reviews

1

So no alarm clock?

Posted by akatsuki on October 2, 2006 at 3:03 PM (PDT)

2

Good review Mr. Horwitz. I do like the looks of it a bit better without the speaker covers. About the only thing I do not like is the Logitech logo emblazoned on the remote, and front and back on the unit. Why couldn't they have simply had it show in the display on startup and shutdown? Oh well, I abhor most logos to begin with...

I will be taking a look at this unit for a possible purchase.

Posted by FahrenheiPod 451 on October 3, 2006 at 8:07 AM (PDT)

3

Does anyone know if this can be used with Apple's AirPort Express Base Station with AirTunes?

Posted by crucifiedenvy on October 3, 2006 at 3:53 PM (PDT)

4

The benefits of sitting back and studying everyone else's faults...

I suppose it's not really a surprise that it would be Logitech who would build a better mousetrap. Bad pun I know, but the message is what counts. They've justly deserved all my mouse business (sorry Mighty Mouse), and I've yet to be put off by any of their other computer and gaming peripherals I've bought and had the enjoyment of using.

Too bad (for Logitech) that I'm so enamored with my Klipsch iFi set; if I were to consider a unibox solution, it sounds like the AudioStation would be the one to fixate on, particularly with all the added features that the iFi never intended to have. And NO lowercase 'i' anywhere to be seen; that alone is enough to cheer.

Posted by flatline response on October 11, 2006 at 12:26 AM (PDT)

5

Regarding alarm clocks - it does have alarms, and lots of them... *if* your iPod is connected. Dock your iPod and set your iPod's alarm (each clock can have its own alarm). The alarms can be set to play music. Of course there is no buzzer, but I suppose you could record the sound of your real alarm cluck buzzing for 10 minutes and put that on your iPod. smile

Posted by sjonke in Maryland, US on October 11, 2006 at 11:48 AM (PDT)

6

I just purchased the Audiostation, and man, it's exactly as reviewed. GREAT balanced sound,( they claim the frequency goes down to an unbelieveable 35hz!) blows away stinky Bose, and the look of it is MUCH nicer in person. The backlight looks cool against the all-black chassis. I have searched and searched and patiently waited for something like this. I've tried them all....this is the best.

Posted by gabbahey on October 23, 2006 at 8:57 PM (PDT)

7

Hi,

Does anyone know whether there would be a problem if my iPod has a skin?
I am using the new 80GB iPod with Marware skin. It is relatively slim. I tried it on the iPod Hifi and it was fine. I am used to pulling the skin up a little bit to recover the connector.

If somebody has experience with that, would be much appreciated.

thanks.

Posted by kuck on October 25, 2006 at 4:07 PM (PDT)

8

I agree with all that was said about the overall sound quality that the Audiostation produces, but I am complelled to share a likely rare but startling event. I purchased one yesterday and it simply "exploded" when I plugged it into the wall....smoke billowing from the top grille enclosure. I immediately returned to Best Buy to exchage and the new one works exceptionally well. It does sound superior to the IM7, Sound dock and I dare say even the Apple hi-fi. I wanted to see if my experience with the first one was a freak coincidence or if this has happened to anyone else?
-Phillip

Posted by pkirschberg on November 1, 2006 at 10:54 AM (PDT)

9

ps.
Your 80GB ipod w/ Marware skin should work fine with the Audiostation.

Posted by pkirschberg on November 1, 2006 at 10:56 AM (PDT)

10

anyone know whether the AudioStation is compatible with European electric voltage (i.e.: using a plug adaptor vs. using a converter)?

Posted by seagaucho on November 4, 2006 at 3:27 PM (PDT)

11

The audiostation does not come with a euro-plug adapter so I am afraid that I do not know the answer to that question. It does have a pretty large AC/DC switching power supply adapter. My guess is that a plug adapter would work.....but just a guess.

Posted by pkirschberg on November 7, 2006 at 5:16 PM (PDT)

12

I'm living in Europe and wondering about the voltage issue also. I've checked the Logitech site for contact e-mails (none, just phone numbers) and also tried to download the manuals in pdf (wouldn't download). The specs on this page ( http://lowendmac.com/newsrev/06/0825.html - near the bottom) mention an "International voltage AC power adapter (100-240 V)" for the Logitech AudioStation Express but NOT the bigger AudioStaion reviewed here.

A review of the AudioStation here ( http://www.thetechzone.com/?m=show&id=637&page=2 ) says "One thing that surprised us is the size of the AC/DC switching power adapter used to power the AudioStation - it's bloody huge!" The accompanying pic does show a very big power cable. Not sure if that means anything though.

Posted by Flashman on November 13, 2006 at 3:27 PM (PDT)

13

Will this be available in white anytime soon??

Thanks

Posted by jmkueter on November 17, 2006 at 1:05 PM (PDT)

14

It looks like it could be wall mounted, but there is no mention of it? Is this possible?

Posted by Mike S. on November 21, 2006 at 7:19 AM (PDT)

15

After receiving my much anticpated Logitech AudioStation today, I was horrified when the soft-touch volume button kept turning the volume down to the point where it was completely off. Even after setting the volume to the desired level, once I tried to lower it slightly using the other volume button, once again the sound turned completely down until it was off and would not come on again. Perhaps I just got a lemon but want to know if anyone else has experienced this problem. Also, looking forward to a musical experience fit for a true audiophile - which by the way, I'm not really - I was disturbed to hear a great deal of fuzz and distortion in the few songs I did manage to test before the volume problem drove me to pack up the entire elaborate setup (by the way, this takes up a LOT of space, and the attached cord, power brick and additional power cord were clunky at worst, unsightly at best). I should have gone with the Klipsch or Bose but iLounge rated this unit best in class. Very disappointed. I bought the product from apple.com: not a disreputable vendor. My advice is stay away.

Posted by cwerbler on December 4, 2006 at 7:49 PM (PDT)

16

Though we can't speak to the reliability of every unit coming off Logitech's assembly lines, and it's entirely possible that there were some bad units or a bad batch, we've had no problems with our AudioStation. You shouldn't hear a great deal of fuzz and distortion on a working unit - at least, if you're using properly encoded music files - and anyone looking for a "true audiophile" experience will be far better off with this than with the Klipsch or Bose all-in-one offerings.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz in East Amherst, NY, USA on December 4, 2006 at 8:39 PM (PDT)

17

Does anyone know if it's possible to synchronize an iPod and a PC using this station as a docking station (like it's possible with the JBL On Time) ?

Posted by tras on December 13, 2006 at 6:44 AM (PDT)

18

Follow-up to comment #12:

I contacted Logitech customer service regarding the voltage issue. The unit is NOT 220v capable out of the box when ordered from the USA for use in Europe. A voltage converter is needed.

At $300, this unit should be 220/110 capable.

Posted by Flashman on December 14, 2006 at 3:08 PM (PDT)

19

Just wanted to warn people about buying this unit at BestBuy. Apparently there is a bad batch that went to BestBuy, and I unfortunately am the recipient of one. As cwerbler indicated, when pushing the volume up button, the volume goes down, is one of the problems. Also, when we play on shuffle, it shuffles for a few songs, then gets stuck on one artist. For $300, you would think these things would have better quality control. Now, I have a project on my hands to find out how to fix this problem or get a replacement. Shame on Logitec!! Beware of buying this at BestBuy!

Posted by bostonpies on December 17, 2006 at 10:48 AM (PDT)

20

An update:

Logitech has fixed the 'bad-batch' problems in their newer units, but after paying (no toll-free number) to be on hold with product support (about 20 minutes on my dime) they offered to send me another one in 10 business days. Thanks, thats great around the holidays (read sarcasm).... But first, I have to re-package up the damaged unit and wait for DHL to come pick it up. This was a compromise for Logitech, at first they wanted ME to pay for shipping their damaged product back and I had to argue the point. AAARRGGHH! I am so mad!

Posted by bostonpies on December 18, 2006 at 7:53 AM (PDT)

Page 1 of 3 pages  1 2 3 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.