Macally PodWave/AP-A111 Speakers Versions 1 and 2 | iLounge

Reviews

1

does it spin around on the top of the ipod without the 4-pin port plugged in? And are there any LED lights on it to signal when the item is on? Other than that, the logo is a bit loud for an ipod accessory. Even the iTrip has a smaller logo on it. Pretty nice forms though, simple, the battery door could use some finess but not too shabby. I expect these details are smaller in reality, than in pictures.

another good review though.

Posted by apple juice in USA on December 7, 2004 at 5:41 AM (PDT)

2

The reviews says it will spin if you touch it. I'd find that annoying too.

I'd buy it in a heartbeat IF it had the option to run without a battery installed. I'd rather use up some of my iPod's excess 10 hours of battery than have to feed AAs to one more device.

(I do have cheap non-powered speakers from my eMachines Boat Anchor 3000 hooked up to my iPod, and am surprised at the volume the iPod's able to generate without any other power source needed. But wow, those eMachines speakers are BAD!)

Posted by Nagromme on December 7, 2004 at 2:08 PM (PDT)

3

Im actually selling mine, $30 shipped...I already have portable speakers so if anyones interested. Let me know.

Posted by marley2778 in Palos Verdes, CA on December 7, 2004 at 6:15 PM (PDT)

4

Looks great; I'm adding it to my wishlist.

Posted by Galley in Greenville, SC on December 7, 2004 at 11:15 PM (PDT)

5

I'm looking for something in the middle. I guess I would like an attachment similar to the one above that "transmits" to a set of speakers somewhere within 50-150 feet. those speakers should be battery and wire-driven (my choice).

Similar to a set of wireless speakers. I also agree that the iPod attachment should be battery or iPod driven.

Any ideas?

Posted by stuschwartz2004 on December 8, 2004 at 6:44 AM (PDT)

6

I think this is great, especially for powerpoint presentations. With an iPod Photo and this device, instant powerpoint given most TVs. If the navipod worked with the photo's photo app, it would be even better. Now, only if I could use the laser pointer accessory, and the pod wave at the same time. Just think of it, you can use an iPod at big corporate meetings, and not get fired.

Just making conjecture.

Posted by ctrlbuild on December 8, 2004 at 5:23 PM (PDT)

7

Nagromme, I want to buy it. E-mail me at .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

Posted by clumsy on December 8, 2004 at 9:00 PM (PDT)

8

I've always wanted an all-in-one MP3 player with a speaker, like an old transistor radio. The fact that this has not been made really shows the limitations of marketing. However, maybe it's an indication of how people spend all their time either in their house, car or office, and never travel enough to warrant a simple speaker unit.

So having just bought this thing, it's almost their:
It's MAJOR flaw is the fact that it swings around loosely. I had to tape it down to stay in place.

A MAJOR plus is that in combination with the Alarm, the Ipod is now a great music alarm clock!

The sound is great, though never as loud as you want it.

Posted by JUZ on December 9, 2004 at 12:53 PM (PDT)

9

Great Item. Like having a transistor radio. If you don't like earphones....this is the next best thing for portability!!

Posted by basement on December 13, 2004 at 7:25 PM (PDT)

10

Did iPodLounge get a "special" review copy? I got my Podwave today. It sounds very tinny and also can't really be listened to at the 75% volume level recommended in the review here. Did I get a defective Podwave or did iPodLounge get a ringer?

Posted by yyoo on December 16, 2004 at 6:06 AM (PDT)

11

I also received a PodWave yesterday, and was less than impressed with the performance. I agree that it could barely be heard at 75% volume in a quiet room, and sounded tinny. There was also a constant low frequency hum emanating fron the speakers when the power switch was turned on, even when not connected to my iPod. It's going back for a refund.

Posted by Brian A in Dallas, TX on December 16, 2004 at 11:40 AM (PDT)

12

One of the most iconic images of the 80s was that of black teenagers walking around with boom-boxes. Maybe next year the streets will be populated by teenagers with iPods and PodWave speakers.
smile

Posted by Sol in Brisbane, Australia on December 16, 2004 at 6:28 PM (PDT)

13

I just sent a note to iPodLounge because they need to amend this review before more folks are hoodwinked.

Posted by yyoo on December 16, 2004 at 6:28 PM (PDT)

14

It sounds like you both received defective PodWaves, as the performance problems you experienced were not in line with our experiences.

We review products as they receive them, and note defects (sometimes to the chagrin of manufacturers) if we encounter them ourselves. If users such as yourselves honestly experience problems, you can contact your vendor and/or use these comments areas to mention the problem, and hopefully will take the time to comment further if your problem is properly resolved by the vendor.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz in East Amherst, NY, USA on December 16, 2004 at 8:42 PM (PDT)

15

Received my PodWave today. It is a little "tinny" but what do you expect? Using the iPod's equilizer helped quite a bit (btw, if you have equilizer settings for your songs in iTunes, use the "Flat" setting on your iPod so songs aren't equilized twice). Also, placing the iPod/PodWave inside an open book helps alot, the sound is reflected off the pages of the book (or use another hard surface, the book is just convenient). I am impressed with the clean, crystal clear sound. Not much bass, but again, what do you expect for the size. Is it worth $40? Not really, maybe $20 - $30 tops.

Posted by maclevin on December 17, 2004 at 7:37 PM (PDT)

16

Maybe you two should change/activate an equalizer. Tell us if it works because I really, REALLY want one for XMAS!

Posted by DoTheChew on December 17, 2004 at 7:50 PM (PDT)

17

how can i get one ibn the UK?

Posted by bsmart in wales on December 20, 2004 at 4:28 AM (PDT)

18

How can i get one in the UK?

Posted by bsmart in wales on December 20, 2004 at 4:28 AM (PDT)

19

This is a great idea with bad execution. I have one too and it is brutal. Jeremy, I'm sure your review is legit, I just think you received a juiced unit. You may want to buy one on your own and confirm.

Posted by iPod Junkie on December 20, 2004 at 4:19 PM (PDT)

20

We have contacted the manufacturer to request official comment on the complaints in this thread. Stay tuned.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz in East Amherst, NY, USA on December 21, 2004 at 12:38 AM (PDT)

Page 1 of 3 pages  1 2 3 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.