MacSkinz PodSkinz Faceplates | iLounge

Reviews

1

might as well wate for the backs

Posted by BIGP in Texas on May 25, 2004 at 12:00 PM (PDT)

2

Agreed. These are nice-looking, high-quality products, but I'll wait for the "backplates." These will:

1) Allow 'total' customization.

2) Take care of that nasty 1mm raised edge. Cleaner look, less likely to get caught on something.

Posted by azdude_15gb on May 25, 2004 at 2:50 PM (PDT)

3

That is a very thorough review! I would like to point out that there will be a discount when purchasing the front & backplate together. Anyone who purchases just a front now will also receive this discount by providing us with their invoice number. Currently, only backplates for the 3g are in production and our current crop of designs is to see what consumers like. We are open to suggestion and would like to hear what iPod owners are interested in. Please let us know.

Thanks,
Doug
[url=http://www.macskinz.com]http://www.macskinz.com[/url]

Posted by MacSkinz on May 25, 2004 at 3:00 PM (PDT)

4

If backplates and faceplates come bundled for around $20, i think i'll get one, provided they fit in an iSkin. That would look cool.

Posted by booksacool1 on May 25, 2004 at 10:41 PM (PDT)

5

They look very cool... but what's the point in hiding them inside an iskin?

Out of interest... will an ipod still fit in it's dock with these on?

Andy

Posted by ipodx on May 25, 2004 at 11:13 PM (PDT)

6

No, read the goddamn review

Posted by bluejameso on May 26, 2004 at 8:17 AM (PDT)

7

THese do look cool. Kinda disconcerting to hear that the original iPods won't have back plates. I was gonna buy one.

Oh well, when I get my 4G, and they're supported, I'll buy a few of these--you know, to match my mood.

Posted by Gordy on May 27, 2004 at 6:07 AM (PDT)

8

Hey MacSkins, why not just manufacture one backplate for the original, black or white? Come on, give me a reason to buy...

Posted by Gordy on May 27, 2004 at 6:20 AM (PDT)

9

We may produce backs for the original iPods if demand is there. The problem is that we have to create all new tooling for the rounded back corners. If we produced them with the same 2-axis curved corners that the front has, it would be no problem. I don't know if people would like that but it may be our only choice. Any thoughts.

Thanks,
Doug
[url=http://www.macskinz.com]http://www.macskinz.com[/url]

Posted by macskinz on May 27, 2004 at 8:31 AM (PDT)

10

macskinz:
Im interested, if you show some images of how the 2Gs look with that option, will help.

Posted by Roman on May 27, 2004 at 10:43 AM (PDT)

11

I hear you and will have to make a prototype.

Posted by macskinz on May 28, 2004 at 4:20 PM (PDT)

12

What about heat when the back plate is on?




Bob

Posted by cheese1113 on June 3, 2004 at 12:42 PM (PDT)

13

The plastic that PodSkinz are made from should not be as insulating as leather, silicone or other cases on the market. Even being in your pocket would generate more heat.

Posted by macskinz on June 4, 2004 at 4:41 AM (PDT)

14

Well, its the end of the day now and I finally finished the tooling for the backplates (3g). They should be available in a week or so. I also just released a product we call "Mini skinniz". Thay are plastic "wraps" that completely suround the iPod Mini with a seamless graphic, come in the same designs as our PodSkinz, and add some scratch protection. Read the FAQs for the full scoop.

Thanks,
Doug
[url=http://www.macskinz.com]http://www.macskinz.com[/url]

Posted by macskinz on June 4, 2004 at 1:30 PM (PDT)

15

come on ppl, youre havin babies bout "frontplates" and "backplates", jus get an iSkin. Better protection, and it fits the iPod perfectly without covering any of the controls. Plus you hav numerous colours to choose from not any tacky american flag or smily face rubbish.

Posted by bert on June 24, 2004 at 1:50 PM (PDT)

16

Hey all,
just letting you know that backplates are now available for the smaller 3g iPods.

Thanks,
Doug
[url=http://www.macskinz.com]http://www.macskinz.com[/url]

Posted by macskinz on July 6, 2004 at 4:36 AM (PDT)

17

Doug,

Just come out with a screen-protector and you'll have a lot of buyers.

Posted by JeffA on July 9, 2004 at 6:58 AM (PDT)

18

I'm dying to get one but my money is waiting (and has been for a while) for the Marco Almera line. Macskins, if you still read these, I know you're coming out with Almera's "Charger" -- I hope I see "Chica Peligrosa" also!

Posted by Islareina in Missouri on January 14, 2005 at 6:26 PM (PDT)

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.