Marware SportSuit Basic 4G | iLounge

Reviews

1

i have a sportsuit convertible and i agree with your assessment for the most part. it definitely is the best for working out, but there is a design flaw, at least in mine. the clear plastic that covers the front is not cut properly to fit the click wheel, so no matter how much i stretch and fuss with it, there is always a little bit of plastic covering the wheel at the top of it and impeding use. it seems as if they rushed the case to market and thus didn't fully take into consideration the position of the click wheel. hopefully they will change this in the future.

Posted by djte in Oxford, MS on November 30, 2004 at 8:14 PM (PDT)

2

looks ok but pricey also it appers to be wide

Posted by snowboogiethunder on November 30, 2004 at 9:55 PM (PDT)

3

I'm with Joshdude. The case just doesn't seem to be properly fitted, at least for the 40GB. After using the case for over a month the fabric finally stretched to almost allow clear access to the clickwheel. Another problem is that some black adhesive rubs off onto the back of the iPod while in the case. It's easy to clean, but annoying regardless.

Posted by egon on December 1, 2004 at 12:48 AM (PDT)

4

As you can see from the picture above (taken with the 40GB iPod), we didn't experience a fit problem re: the Click Wheel. We found that the neoprene initially forces a little bit of compression in the vinyl near the top of the wheel, but it quickly went away. That said, it's good to hear comments from others - thanks for posting. And thanks to Joshdude for his note on the original Good and Bad, which has been fixed.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz in East Amherst, NY, USA on December 1, 2004 at 8:23 AM (PDT)

5

I would also like to share my thought of this case. I have the convertible and I use it with my 4G at workout. I wear it with the arm band while I am on the running machine.
After a while, because of the weight of the 4G, the arm band started pulling the rare straps away from the back. Although it is not very serious but I believe after long period of time the thread will be worned out because of the pulling from the armband.
Haven't said all that I still think this is the best there is in the market for exercise for the 4G.

Posted by quentin in France on December 1, 2004 at 9:03 AM (PDT)

6

What annoys me is the rubber dock connector flap is always flapping open. I wonder if there is a 40Gb version or if its a one size fits all thing. I just got mine a week ago. It would probably fit a 3G 20 Gb better than my 3g 4o GB.

Posted by ipooh in Athens, GA on December 2, 2004 at 8:34 AM (PDT)

7

I was wondering if Marware made a matching white Sport Convertable for the 4G's, and I had that gunk problem on the back of the iPod after taking it out, another thing is the velcro located on the flap where it latches on to the main case to enclose the iPod, it loses its grip after a awhile and seems to get the neoprene all tacky if you slightly miss your target, other than these minor gripes, I think it's a very versitile case.

Posted by amp in anywhere on December 2, 2004 at 9:55 AM (PDT)

8

I had a 3rd gen iPod and sold it to get the U2 version. I wanted to keep this one nice so I didn't even take it out of the house until I got a case. I was planning on jogging with this unit so I decided on the Marware convertible. I received the case about two weeks ago and put my iPod inside and have been jogging with it and it has been great. The BIG problem however came when I finally removed the iPod from the case after a few weeks and found that the damn thing had scratched the living S*%T out of the front of the ipod!! Where the plastic is sewn into the neoprene there is of course the thread and this thread, along with the plastic constantly rub on the bottom section of the ipod. I was fairly pissed when I removed it to find HUGE scratch marks up both sides and around the bottom of the ipod! For this reason alone I will not be putting my ipod back in THIS case and will be selling it as soon as possible.
The other issue I had with this case is that the scroll wheel would never completely line up with the hole. It was always off by a bit and was somewhat annoying. Also the rubber plug on the bottom for the connector constantly came loose and fell out.
I would NOT recommend this case at all, especially with the U2 version, since the black tends to show the scratches easier.
The only positive of this case is how tight it is. Even if the velcoro strap does come off the ipod will not fall out even if you turn it upside down and shake it.
Negatives by FAR out weigh the positives for this case for me. I'm going with an #### or speck product rubber type case.
Very dissapointed!

Posted by milyrake on January 11, 2005 at 3:45 PM (PDT)

9

I just received my Marware Sportsuit Convertible and like it so far except I can't put it in my iPod dock. The biggest problem is that I put the belt clip on and CAN NOT remove it. I've tried everything. Anyone else have this problem/solution?

Posted by amyk on January 12, 2005 at 9:38 AM (PDT)

10

I bought this, had a hard time getting my iPod in it, then decided it was way too bulky. Returned it and got the SOCKS instead. SOCKS ROCK!

Posted by mikepod on January 14, 2005 at 7:14 AM (PDT)

11

I would rate this product a d- f+

I bought the case about 2 weeks ago. Today I took my impod photo out and noticed 2 major problems. 1: The plastic cover on the front rubbed against the clear iPod window scratching it. and 2: The neoprene starting breaking down and deposited a black sticky goo on the back of the iPod.

This case will damage your iPod! Don't use it! Now my iPod Photo 60G is forever damaged.

Posted by Kripto on January 28, 2005 at 10:36 PM (PDT)

12

I wish I would have read AMP's review before I bought this piece of crap....

I got my SportSuit about 2 weeks ago, and immediately put my iPod into it. While I was occassionaly stretching the neoprene to keep the hole lined up for the click wheel, this wasn't a big issue for me.

However, I JUST removed my iPod from my SportSuit to store it in my dock, and the white front of my iPod is SCRATCHED TO SIN!!!!

Exactly as AMP described - where the neoprene is sewn to the plastic cover, there is a thread bulge, and this puts extreme pressure on the white surface of your iPod right below the click wheel. Throw in 7-10 days of dust particles, and you guessed it ... one huge EFFIN scuff around the bottom of your click wheel.

I was excited with this case while I was using it, but as soon as I took my iPod out of it, I realized what a waste of money it was (if you think about it - I actually paid Marware money to destroy my iPod).

I am extremely disappointed with this case, and I will never - with the Lord as my witness - ever buy another product from Marware.

B*stages!

Posted by Lipmonger in Denver, CO on February 1, 2005 at 8:07 PM (PDT)

13

Gee, now we know why they named the company Marwear!

Posted by semuta in Tampa, FL on February 10, 2005 at 5:24 AM (PDT)

14

Woops..Marware...

Posted by semuta in Tampa, FL on February 10, 2005 at 5:26 AM (PDT)

15

As an excercise enthusiast, I have been looking for a product that would allow me to wear my 4G 20GB Ipod on my arm. The choices are surprisingly limited. I went to the Apple Store to get the Speck, but they were out of stock. I wound up with Marware.

First off, the reviews here proved helpful. I am sorry for those who scratched their LCD's and front of the ipod, but thank you all for the heads up. I was able to insert and remove my ipod with no damage by holding the ipod in the front and back (rather than the sides) in order to keep that seam out of the way. That did the trick. Now for the review:

I couldn't be happier. This case proved reliable as an armband and, unlike the Speck, I get the added protection for the LCD screen. Furthermore, with the convertible part back on, I would have no reservations putting my ipod in my backpack, carry on luggage or other place where it may get bumped around. This case sems to offer ample protection...

Finally, I will address the price. Yes, it is a bit pricier than alternatives, but consider this. You really get two cases in one: one for exercise and one for day to day use. I was prepared to buy the Speck armband product (retail $34.95) AND the Speck Toughskin (retail $34.95) to serve both purposes. This case takes care of both, and I spent less than I had planned.

I enjoy this case and haven't scratched my ipod as of yet. Hopefully, thanks to the prior posts, I won't in the future... My only complaint, the rubber on the bottom of the case (for the dock) seems a bit clumsy. But other than that, the fitament is quite good...

Posted by subguy in Chicago on February 14, 2005 at 5:53 PM (PDT)

16

i just got this case and yea it does scratch up the ipod a little bit, if you just put it in without looking for the seam, but for the most part, if you use your ipod mostly for exercise, then get this case, it's good for that... if u ain't gonna exercise, then don't... no point... i'm out...

raj

Posted by therb in U.S. on March 3, 2005 at 5:39 PM (PDT)

17

I've got a first Gen iPod and a first Gen SportSuit Convertible.

I have seen the black flecks of neoprene come off on the back of my iPod. These can be removed with a little soap and water. I have not experienced scratches, but then I've only had it out of the case three times in three years.

The key positives for me about this case are:
1) Protection! I've dropped my iPod from waist height a few times. no damage, no scratches, no evidence of trouble at all! To me, that outweighs every negative. I have yet to see another iPod case that seems equally protective.
2) The earbud holder in the case. Small thing, I know, but I through the iPod into my backback without a care, knowing that my iPod is protected, and I won't lose my earbuds either.

I've just ordered a 4th Gen iPod, and intend to order a new 4th Gen Marware SportSuit to go with it.

Posted by JohnnyO in Minnesota on March 22, 2005 at 8:59 PM (PDT)

18

I wish I had read this review as well. I chose the Marware case for my new 30 Gb iPod photo. No more than 5 minutes after taking it out of the box, I put my iPod into the case in order to keep it from getting scratched... and alas the *bleeping* case had scratched the screen. I was uber-pissed and seriously considered taking everything back immediately (I mean, my iPod was like 10 minutes old!). Anyway, I took the Marware case back and got a Showcase plastic case - much better and no more new major scratches. In the end, I tried be more philosophical about the whole thing to make myself feel better: the iPod is going to get scratched, no matter what, so it may as well be in the first 10 minutes so that initial sting is gone. Now I can just enjoy it without freaking out about the first little ding on it!

Posted by Chuckiebabie on April 29, 2005 at 7:56 AM (PDT)

19

OK, I've had the 4G iPod 20Gb and the new 4G Sportsuit convertable about the same amount of time.

I was a huge fan of the suit with my first Gen iPod. Now, with this version, I have two issues:

1) The rubber door at the bottom seems a bit too small. Connecting the cable requires a fair bit of precision.

2) The clear case front is off about 1/3 inch in terms of having the opening in front of the click wheel.

I have a light blue case purchased through a retailer. I wonder if it was older stock, and if by change Marware might swap it out for a newer one, as others don't seem to have that problem?

Thanks,

John

Posted by JohnnyO in Minnesota on May 15, 2005 at 8:09 AM (PDT)

20

I've had the case for almost a year. I still use it but am looking to get another case because the negatives of the case outweight the protection benefits.

The case scratched my 40gb Ipod, put a dent in the back where the multidapt belt clip attaches, and left "goop" on my ipod from neoprene deterioration. The clear front never lines up with my click wheel properly and the port protector on the bottom does not line up either. The rubber has torn about half way through on the port cover.

I recommened this case to several friends and now I feel like a complete fool.

Posted by alershka on June 18, 2005 at 6:51 PM (PDT)

Page 1 of 2 pages  1 2 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.