Matias iPod Armor mini | iLounge

Reviews

1

Wow! That's a beauty.

iPoder

Posted by iPoder on May 28, 2004 at 4:40 AM (PDT)

2

Oh, that is tight.

That case alone makes me want to spring for the iPod mini.

Posted by jerseyfreeze on May 28, 2004 at 5:07 AM (PDT)

3

I have an iPod Armor from Matias... the first case for my 3g iPod I bought. I stop using it when I realize that it scratches the top of my iPod (with the plastic top). I'm EXTREMELLY disappointed with the product, now I'm using a clear Speck's case, so far the best case.

Posted by elwilly on May 28, 2004 at 6:12 AM (PDT)

4

Well, it doesn't look like this one can scratch anything. The inside is all velvet.

And since the top is flush, I can use it with my iTrip. raspberry

Posted by iPoder on May 28, 2004 at 6:43 AM (PDT)

5

The case does seem pretty sweet, but the price is pretty high.

Posted by Tears on May 28, 2004 at 8:06 AM (PDT)

6

I just wish they would redesign the case for the 3Gs so it's similar.

Posted by JBF on May 28, 2004 at 8:14 AM (PDT)

7

Love the case, hate the price point. I'm guessing the fab on these things is huge... cause this is 50 bucks I dont think i'll be spending. I can only hope they'll find a way to shave 10 to 15 off the price, that would jumpstart sales in a big way.

Posted by mdobilas on May 28, 2004 at 5:46 PM (PDT)

8

I don't see a thing wrong with the case. I'm using it out here in Kuwait. It's working great protecting it against all sorts of things out here. I've rolled over on it a dozen times. Dropped it few. It still kept my iPod working.

Posted by WCW on May 30, 2004 at 5:57 AM (PDT)

9

whats the point of a plastic screen when you can't operate the buttons? seems rather useless to me, becuz no matter what you see on the screen, you have to open the armor to change it

Posted by Chizzle on May 31, 2004 at 7:07 AM (PDT)

10

^
so what you're saying, is that you'd rather have the screen not visible? I think that you would prefer to see the screen compared to not seeing it.

Posted by David on June 1, 2004 at 8:12 AM (PDT)

11

Hey all. Rhinoskin will sell an aluminum case for the Mini starting June 10th. It allows access to the click wheel, has a clear window over the screen, and wrap around protection for the front, back, top, and bottom, with a neoprene cushion inside. Oh, AND it will cost $34.95! Sounds like a better design and price than the hard case reviewed here.
See their site for details:
http://www.rhinoskin.com/rhinoskin/prod.cfm?cat_id=9015&prod_id=9038

Posted by Robert on June 1, 2004 at 10:22 AM (PDT)

12

Just checked out the Rhinoskin. I like the price, but geez that's one butt-ugly case!

I think the iPod armor might be worth the extra $15 bucks.

Posted by Joe on June 1, 2004 at 3:57 PM (PDT)

13

We will review the Rhinoskin case shortly and offer comparative opinions on both companies' designs. Sometimes (not always), cheaper isn't necessary better.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz on June 1, 2004 at 9:57 PM (PDT)

14

I just thought I would let everyone know, you can pre order your iPod Armor mini at http://www.iPodXtras.com

they are on sale too!

Posted by Stephen on June 28, 2004 at 7:41 AM (PDT)

15

I just thought I would let everyone know, you can pre order your iPod Armor mini at http://www.iPodXtras.com

they are on sale too!

Posted by Stephen on June 28, 2004 at 7:41 AM (PDT)

16

Sorry bout double post

Posted by Stephen on June 28, 2004 at 7:42 AM (PDT)

17

Looks good but mine scratched down the side of my new iPod after the first fit/removal. It's going back.

The plastic rear case edges seem sharpish and the edges of the velvet lining are quite stiff backed, protruding past the plastic edges into the case at one point.

Posted by Iain on September 3, 2004 at 8:50 AM (PDT)

18

looks fantastic, brilliant design, lets the mini strut it's stuff.
re above post , ours fits snugly, both blue + silver unmarked after several fit / removal cycles. Good luck ian, Matias seem to care,

Posted by Andrew on September 7, 2004 at 5:24 AM (PDT)

19

clear armour,looks fantastic, brilliant design, lets the mini strut it's stuff.
re above post , ours fits snugly, both blue + silver unmarked after several fit / removal cycles. Good luck Iain, Matias seem to care.

Posted by Andrew on September 7, 2004 at 5:31 AM (PDT)

20

this case is ideal for skiers and other sports but that would be about it. if u want a quick acces case, this is not the case for you. you always have to open and close it to change a song.

Posted by ipodmania on January 18, 2005 at 6:42 PM (PDT)

Page 1 of 2 pages  1 2 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.