Monster iCarPlay Cassette Adapter for iPod/iPhone | iLounge

Reviews

1

I have found that using the Monsterís Ultra-Low Profile Charger, SiKís imp car charger, or the dock overdrives the tape adapter with most if not all brands of cassettes and causes distortion.

Did you try this with a one of the above or did you try the Belkin AUto kit. The reason why the Belkin does not distort is because you can lower the preamp so it doesnt overdrive the tape...however my ears tell me that you lose a lot of quality using the belkin as compared to using the Dock, Monsterís Ultra-Low Profile Charger, or SiKís imp car charger. THey all are much cleaner line out solutions.



Posted by jason on May 19, 2004 at 10:45 AM (PDT)

2

I have a problem my cassette adapter - when I pop it in it automatically reverts to the radio, I have tried everything. Can anyonre offer any solutions

Posted by Robert Syme on October 7, 2004 at 9:07 AM (PDT)

3

I have exactly the same problem with the cassette adapter reverting to radio, and likewise have tried everything. The weird thing is that it works in one car but not in the other. Any suggestions?

Posted by Sally on October 7, 2004 at 11:46 AM (PDT)

4

just pluged mine in my bettel today and I only get one audio channel. SUX. bad design, the audio cable gets cramped up inside the tape player.

Posted by julian on October 8, 2004 at 1:01 PM (PDT)

5

Some cassette adapters seem to 'stick' - the wheels turning round inside catch, making an auto reverse deck think the tape is at the end, changing the direction back and forth non-stop. Maybe your player is doing something similar, thinking the tape has stopped and reverting to radio?

I couldn't fix the adapter to run smoothly so I took it back and got a new one, which runs fine.

Posted by PC on October 14, 2004 at 10:53 PM (PDT)

6

Hello, can anyone tell me about a cassette adapter that works on an auto-reverse deck? Thanks very much.

Posted by Salvador Silahua in United States on December 12, 2004 at 10:39 AM (PDT)

7

Hey, does anyone know if you need a special kind of cassette adapter for an ipod, or would the same one that worked with my discman work with an ipod?

Posted by safyrechic on January 2, 2005 at 8:32 PM (PDT)

8

I have a Monster cassette adapter for my ipod. The car's tape player kept fillping between sides before ejecting the tape in error. I opened up the adapter (5 screws) and found that one of the gears was too tight to spin freely. I lightly sanded the inside of the gear until it moved without much effort. Reassembled the tape adapter and now it works perfectly. Very nice sound quality.

Posted by Ipod User on January 9, 2005 at 6:43 PM (PDT)

9

I got a Monster cassette. The sound quality is good, but the cassette runs with such loud mechanical noise. When I pop the cassette in, the noise was very loud and it sort of die down a bit. The noise will go on and off. In the first few times I use it, the noise level came down to OK level after a few minutes. However, now it just keeps making noise. The noise is so noticeable regardless I am playing some techno or classical piano. It may just happen I got a defective unit but other users here seem to have quality issue as well. I know it is not a hi-end product but for $20 it should be better manufactured and QCed. I have switched to a Maxell cassette adapter and it has been fine. The Maxell is quiet and the sound quality is the same as the Monster. I've also used the cassette adapter that comes with the Ten Technology's Flexdock. That one is quiet too but the sound quality is flat and with distortion.

Posted by alvinh on January 17, 2005 at 4:03 PM (PDT)

10

I had serious problems with Monster adapter. Moving the wire even a little bit causes terrible loud popping sounds. The Sony version works with no problems.

Posted by iGreg on February 16, 2005 at 8:13 AM (PDT)

11

I didn't have any issues with the sound quality, but my tape deck didn't seem to want to keep the adapter in. I thought it was a problem with the tape deck, but it keeps regular tapes in fine. I replaced it with the Sony, and so far so good...

Posted by Coruscant on February 21, 2005 at 9:11 PM (PDT)

12

I just bought the Monster iCarPlay today hoping I would get bettetr sound than I've been able to get with the AirPlay FM transmitter. I wanted the Sony cassette adapter, but the store didn't have it so I took a chance on Monster. Unfortunately it hasn't worked out. In my Audi A4 I only get sound out of one channel, plus there is a low-level hum that it noticeable between tracks. A regular cassette works fine, with sound coming out of both channels plus the AirPlay sound richer. Part of that is because it plays out of both channels, but the Monster adapter also seems to over accentuate the treble. Very disappointing. It's definitely going back to the store.

Posted by salvino in los angeles on March 15, 2005 at 2:24 PM (PDT)

13

Hey Guys, I had the same problem. your cassette player needs to be auto reverse because the tape only plays on one side. On some tape players it automatically flips the tape side over. As mine didnt have auto reverse, i just opened up the cassette using the screws and had the wire coming out the other side of the tape so that i could insert it the other way. Now it works perfectly. Give it a go

Posted by spoonfed on June 8, 2005 at 1:14 PM (PDT)

14

Bought the Monster iCarPlay Cassette Adapter a few days ago and imediately had trouble with it only playing one audio channel. you have to eject and reinsert the player for it to "sometimes" work. A poorly made item. I wouldn't buy it again.

Posted by danway on August 26, 2005 at 4:36 PM (PDT)

15

I tried this one out and no matter what i did there was terrible static and low outout. My car stereo was at max and the music was very quiet. This thing is a piece and i don't recomend it to anyone. I luckily found an old sony tape adapter i had lying around from an old discman. It sounds about 1,000 times better than the monster.

Posted by colecifer on January 14, 2006 at 2:29 PM (PDT)

16

I tried three songs with this in the parking lot of the Best Buy I bought it in and then immediately took it back. I wasn't expecting great audio quality, but this still dissapointed. I could hear an annoying humm the entire time, especially during time between songs. Volume and clarity were also poor. Do not bother!

Posted by jrmagil on January 17, 2006 at 7:31 PM (PDT)

17

The Monster iCarPlay is a great car accessory. I recently purchased a new 5G iPod and originally bought the Griffin SmartDeck tape adapter, but it made way too much noise in my tape deck and didn't interface properly with my car stereo as advertised. I returned it for the Monster iCarPlay Wireless plus which was by no means worth 80 dollars, which i then returned for the Monster iCarPlay tape adapter for 20 dollars. The Monster iCarPlay cassette adapter is by far the best car adapter I have used, and a great value. The sound quality is much better than any FM transmitter because it is a direct wired connection. It is also much easier to use than any other FM transmitter. Despite iLounge's review, the iCarPlay looks good with my car, but I have a gray interior.I highly recommend it over any other product.

Posted by sergeantpress371029 on February 24, 2006 at 1:28 PM (PDT)

18

I have had bad luck with tape adapters lately, so I decided to test this one in the parking lot before I left the store. Sorry to say, it didn't work. Just spit the tape out, saying error.

What I find even more dismaying is that this product has a picture of a Beetle on the front, which would lead you to believe it will work in a Beetle. Wrong again. It went straight back to the store.

Posted by HIPPICIDE on April 10, 2006 at 11:59 PM (PDT)

19

This is the 2nd Monster iCarplay tape adapter I have owned, and now twice I have an worthless adapter. The tape plays for about 20 seconds, then ejects with an ERROR message. Cleaned the tape and tape deck with compressed air, still the same problem. The original one I bough 2 years ago, I figured something was wrong with it. So Today I got a new Nano and have heard the bad stories about FM Transmitters, so I picked up the Monster at Best Buy. Same deal, its absolutely usless. I have a 2004 VW Jetta, with the Monsoon sound system.

Posted by Doscl on April 17, 2006 at 12:55 PM (PDT)

20

the output was great, absolutely clear. it's just that mechanical sound that you can hear when the volume is turned off. but when you turn your music off, ofcourse the noise will ne masked. but i'd rather have no noise at all. what brand is better for this problem?

Posted by ChristineChristine on June 15, 2006 at 1:15 PM (PDT)

Page 1 of 2 pages  1 2 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.