Monster iSpeaker Portable | iLounge

Reviews

1

What a silly review. Comparing a light, cheap portable speaker to Creatures is just a waste of time. We need a back-to-back with the Sony T70/77, T55, InMotions and the Creative travel speakers, not with non-portable heavyweights.

And if you can't do it, then send me the new speaker, cos I do have three of the four mentioned above.....

Posted by Jacko on February 11, 2004 at 2:06 AM (PDT)

2

The best portable that no one is talking about. The Tivoli PAL

http://www.tivoliaudio.com/pal.htm

Posted by Joseph Gray on February 11, 2004 at 5:14 AM (PDT)

3

This sounds like a typical Monster product, priced about three times what it's worth. I recently purchased the SI speakers here:

http://www.mindfireis.com/cgi-bin/PnGC/PnGC_print.pl?page=product_detail&prod_id=17&mid=si_technologies

for $20 shipped. An optional USB-5v cable powers the speakers for my Powerbook. For the iPod I use the batteries. Sound is good for small speakers, and it travels very well.

Posted by Eph Fithian on February 11, 2004 at 6:51 AM (PDT)

4

Agreeing with Joesph Gray: the Tivoli PAL ROCKS. And it has the added bonus of pulling in radio stations that you can't recieve through any other radio in your house.

Posted by thenightfly42 on February 11, 2004 at 7:19 AM (PDT)

5

Jacko - first, I'd be surprised to hear anyone refer to $99 Creatures as "heavyweights." They're nice looking speakers and all, but don't kid yourself, they're cheap. My pair cost $79 new (shop around, they're still available), which is only $20 more than the Monsters.

Second, we review what we get, and we generally now stick to iPod-specific products. I tossed in the Sony reference primarily to make people aware that there are other alternatives, but frankly, I'd be very surprised if these Monsters outperformed the Sonys or the Creatives. If they do, and our review was underinformative for that reason, I'll buy you a beer. grin

Posted by Jeremy on February 11, 2004 at 10:11 PM (PDT)

6

i agree with jospeh and nightfly - the tivoli PAL is the best i have heard, is fully portable, looks great, and has a fantastic tuner as a bonus!

Posted by chris young on February 12, 2004 at 4:01 AM (PDT)

7

My Tivoli's (two PAL's and a Model One) are the most satisfying products I've ever purchased, next to the ipod. Don't forget, the PAL, though mono, can also be used as a decent stereo headphone amp.
They should have a "lounge" of their own.

Posted by langdonauger on February 12, 2004 at 7:28 AM (PDT)

8



does the Tivoli Pal charge the iPod while its pluged in?

Posted by badkitty on February 12, 2004 at 10:35 AM (PDT)

9

The Tivoli PAL with the ipod is the perfect combo. I wondered if other people have found out about the PAL . It is nice to have a great tuner . BTW I still get almost 10 hours from my 2 year old battery .

Posted by Brad on February 12, 2004 at 10:57 AM (PDT)

10

The Pal is mono, right? Isn't that kind of a handicap with the iPod? Looks great as a radio though. Anyone know a cheap price for UK online? Ł129 is the best I've seen.

Posted by Biskitt on February 12, 2004 at 1:51 PM (PDT)

11

The Tivoli line is pretty nice. I've got several of them now, but not the PAL. More bass, rich midrange, and light on the treble. Still, pretty good sound.

But the PAL is not really in the same league as the tested speakers, unless they've developed a folding, stereo model.

I have no problem with referencing them to the Creatures, especially for the price Monster is asking. The Creatures are pretty common, and it gives some of us a point of reference. As long as the emphasis is on the sound and not the SPL, that is.

If I'm going to add a speakers to my 'Pods, they must be stereo, or a may as well stick to headphones.

Posted by RAMdŽd on February 16, 2004 at 6:29 PM (PDT)

12

just picked this up for $50

honestly, I think it sounds great for the price. I use and iriver and not an ipod so I would not be docking my mp3 player on the device like you would with the inmotion. The price is also 1/3 of the price of the inmotion which is the higest rated portable. For creating a mood in your hotel room or any other portable need this will work fine. The bass isnt very loud but the compact double cd size makes up for it.

I recommend it

Posted by ben on August 31, 2004 at 5:10 PM (PDT)

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.