Motorola ROKR E1 iTunes Mobile Phone | iLounge

Reviews

1

Mediocre Phone...
...Awesome review!

Posted by Jerrod H. in TX on September 11, 2005 at 9:28 PM (PDT)

2

It's also the first iPod-related device that we're glad to see covered by a thirty-day return policy.

I just reversed the ROKR E1 Unpack Photo Gallery to see the ROKR E1 Packup & Return Photo Gallery. grin

This phone is advertised as being available from 16th Sept in the UK for £209.99 ( ±$384 ) on a Pay As You Go tariff or free with a monthly contract (12 or 18 months contract).

Apple could have, and should have, released a better product....

Posted by Bob Levens in UK on September 12, 2005 at 2:31 AM (PDT)

3

It would be nice if someone answered my question about this phone. Can a person screen their calls? Meaning, can you set the phone so that you can just see on your screen that someone is calling and who it is without your song being automatically paused, so you can decide if the person is worth pausing the song for?

Posted by JackDawson838 on September 12, 2005 at 4:29 PM (PDT)

4

Jack,
You can always try it in person yourself...there IS that 30-day return policy, after all.

By all accounts I've read, the E398 that the ROKR seems to be based upon is a ghastly phone. Why anyone thought the ROKR would have any hopes of being any better is beyond me.

Aside from the RAZR (and even there it seems more style than substance), it's not like Motorola's been releasing great product of late.

Posted by flatline response on September 13, 2005 at 3:58 AM (PDT)

5

rest in peace poor phone what a shame not the phone we are all waiting for
stick to w800i

Posted by superbientotal on September 13, 2005 at 9:15 AM (PDT)

6

The E398 is notorious for being slow to respond to key presses and when accessing the card... wonder if those issues is fixed with the E1?

Posted by WilliamC in Philippines on September 13, 2005 at 11:54 AM (PDT)

7

Does the phone support smart playlists? Lotsa phones do mp3, smart playlists would put this phone slightly above the others.

This was Steve's big chance to get into the Cell market. Too bad he blew it. He's batting 1/3 with the last three releases. Nano +, shuffle -, e1-.

Posted by __redruM in Gaithersburg, MD on September 15, 2005 at 7:00 AM (PDT)

8

I'm glad this crap got a low rating. C+ is still too high in my opinion. The ROKR just stinks of restrictions. Restrictions that Apple probably placed on the device so it wouldn’t take away from iPod sales. This could have been the next big thing! Why it was even allowed to see the light of day? I’ve been a loyal Apple follower and especially the iPod for a while. My 60 GB is great and I wish I could carry it everywhere like I carry my phone. Here we had the perfect marriage, only to realize it’s all a sham. Well, its time for someone else to give it a whirl…maybe they will get it right and give us what we really want.

Posted by gubbas on September 19, 2005 at 2:27 PM (PDT)

9

You can always get a Palm Treo, and stick a 2Gb SD card in it. Using AeroPlayer software, you can also play both Mp3 and AAC files on your Treo. Plus there's a skin for the software that makes it look like iTunes!

Posted by Harbour Boy on September 29, 2005 at 2:38 AM (PDT)

10

I have an HP iPAQ and I did that with the SD cards. I ended up buying a nano because it was too cool to be taking around on bike-rides and too big to be keeping in my pocket. Even with a case on, the screen would get touched and make a clicking noise (this was a noise made by the Pocket PC, so it came through the headphones) when it was in my pocket. Other than that it was okay. I only had a 512MB card for it so I couldn't fit all that much. iPod works much better. MUCH MUCH better!!

Posted by Werewolf on March 27, 2006 at 3:46 PM (PDT)

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.