Newer Technology NuPower Replacement Battery for 1G/2G iPods | iLounge

Reviews

21

I replaced my 2G iPod battery (with a Newer Technology NuPower 'Super High-Capacity' 2100mAh Apple iPod Replacement Li-Polymer(internal) Battery for all 1st & 2nd Generation.) Since then my iTrip has had static inteferance, and is unusable in my car. Has anyone else had this experience?

Posted by saxmac in Boston on March 8, 2005 at 6:23 PM (PDT)

22

they now have videos for 3g and 4g battery installation...

Posted by Puck in washington dc on March 16, 2005 at 5:05 AM (PDT)

23

What am I doing wrong ? I have the newer technology 3G iPod battery but I can't get the tools inserted between the metal back and plastic front. The tool tips are getting mangled in the attempt.

Posted by PodontheRock in Newfoundland on March 31, 2005 at 4:34 PM (PDT)

24

Got it ! Finally.
There's one tip missing from the instructions.
Tip:Place iPod face down on firm flat surface and place thumb on centre of back (on apple logo) and press down hard, this opens up the seam and allows the tools to be inserted. After that it's smooth sailing.

Posted by PodontheRock in Newfoundland on March 31, 2005 at 5:46 PM (PDT)

25

I just replaced my well worn 3G iPod battery with the Newer Technology high capacity product. The original battery was down to holding a 2 hour charge at the most. Now I'm getting around 12 hours out of a single charge and that was after the first 2 or 3 charge cycles without letting the new battery drain completely. I'm hoping that number increases a bit as the battery breaks in.

As for installation tips, I found that the easiest place for me to open the 'pod was not along the side, but from the top, being VERY careful to not damage the headphone and remote jacks. Once I got the tool in place had no problems sliding it around and opening up my 'pod. My only complaint is about the fact that the installation instructions are written in such a tiny font that made it almost impossible to read them without resorting to a magnifying glass. The installation video at the iStore web site made things MUCH clearer anyway...

Highly, highly recommended for 3G owners who use their iPods during the work commute and at the office, as I do.

Posted by soundude32 on April 13, 2005 at 10:27 PM (PDT)

26

Newer tech website has an excellent quicktime video, teaching you how to do it. I strongly recommend you watch it first before attempting anything. the tiny, tiny piece of instruction that came with the package is completely worthless. You cannot understand it without watching the video. I first read it and thought I understand it. But it is 10x much simpler just to watch how it was done.

My second big complaint is that the battery's packaging is much bigger and doesn't fit well. Compared to the original battery, it is a little too big. I almost thought about taking off the black rubber cover, but then I realized the video did not show this step. So I gingerly squeezed the battery into its compartment. Voila, it worked. However, that extra waste 10-20 minutes of trying it to get it open was stupid. I should have just watched the video first.

Posted by shaq2001 on May 9, 2005 at 1:38 PM (PDT)

27

I have just changed my 3g battery after the original battery was holding around 2-3 hours charge. I went for one of these newer tech batteries with 850mah . I ditched the tools after one broke but with carefull use of a small kitchen knife (please only do this with care) I managed to get the case off with no damage. The instructions and video on the website are also helpful.

Wow the newer batter has given my ipod a new lease of life I have been using my 3g instead of my mini because of the 10 hours battery life - recommeded

Posted by experiment626 on May 10, 2005 at 11:32 AM (PDT)

28

Just replaced the batt in my friend's 3g 10gig pod. I must say, those vids on their site help a lot! We had it replaced in less than 10 mins. Put it back together and viola! So nice. Anyone with a dead or weak battery shouldn't have to think twice about this. So worth the 30 bucks.

Posted by MatthewR on May 20, 2005 at 1:01 PM (PDT)

29

Any idea how these compare to TruePower 3G batteries?
http://www.truepowerbatteries.com/
iLounge - is a TruePower review coming? Please?

Thanks!

Posted by saycheese200 on July 27, 2005 at 8:31 AM (PDT)

30

This is the story I told the distributor of my battery when it almost killed my precioussssss:

I had had the battery replacement in the iPod for a couple weeks. I took very good care of it as far as the environmental conditions and the handling of the iPod. It started though when the iPod stalled on me, so I performed the "soft reset" function of the iPod that always resets its without erasing any music. When it restored, the iPod registered some sort of disk error and wouldn't start. I figured I was going to have to send in the iPod to get a factory reset or something so I attempted to put my original battery in place. This is now about a week later, and I had a ton of trouble getting the case off. One thing I noticed from the start is that the Newer Tech. battery is a slight bit thicker than the original, so I figured the difficulty in getting the case off was from that. I kept on trying everyday to get the case off until I noticed the keys on the front wouldn't even press down. That struck me as really weird and I figured something had happened to the battery and it was pressing against the back. The back side case was also very slightly bowed.

At this point I knew something was up with the battery, so last night I actually was at wits end and pried the case open with a little more force than before, almost damaging the case to get it out. When it popped off, it **really** popped off, because the battery had expanded within its shielding.

***************************************

They said it may have just been a faulty unit, so there sending me replacement.


Things to note:

-I bought the 2100 model two months ago, and it was ten dollars (US) more than it is now. Interesting????

-The reason I had to send the email above to Other World Customer Service is because they wanted more info on the incident, something the Product Manager specifically needed. It could be standard ops, but maybe its not the first time it happened to them???

Just things to consider. Luckily, my iPod survived and came to when I put the original battery back in.

Has anyone else encountered anything as bad as this or did I maybe just get a lemon?

Posted by The Senator on August 5, 2005 at 12:46 PM (PDT)

31

Watched the vid on the OWC site, popped open my 3G iPod in about 4 minutes, pulled out the old battery, put in the new one, and was up and running in less then 15 minutes. This is an awesome upgrade and so easy. I bought the Newer RoadTrip FM transmitter for my car at the same time and got a discount. It too works beautifully...very clean sound from my old Toyota's radio. A double shot of iPod upgradeness...so sweet.

Posted by rossco63 in seattle on November 4, 2005 at 8:26 PM (PDT)

Page 2 of 2 pages  <  1 2

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.