Nyko Universal Car Mount | iLounge

Reviews

1

Does it fit an iPod Photo in a skin or sleeve case? Or are the largest 'Pods a tight enough fit that there's no extra space?

Two worries I have about this kind of mount: not enough shock protection (rigidly attached to vehicle) and being in the direct path of hot or cold air.

Looks useful though!

Posted by Nagromme on March 17, 2005 at 12:29 PM (PDT)

2

Nice touch in that you can keep your pod in its case and have it fit the cradle. Other cradles I have seen require the removal of the case--iSkin in my case--and I don't want to bother with all of that trouble.

Posted by Dingleberry on March 17, 2005 at 12:47 PM (PDT)

3

Just a note to those who want to keep their iPods in a case while mounted in a vehicle. I recently used a Contour Showcase and it's belt clip to make a customc ar mount. You can see a pic here:

http://www.mindspring.com/~cthomasian/blog/C426396105/E1471879857/index.html

I just did a little cutitng and drilling to make it work, great for all the DIY folks that like their iPods encased most times.

Posted by cthomasian in SoCal on March 17, 2005 at 2:29 PM (PDT)

4

ugly. a car-mount should match the car, not the device it's holding. companies are completely going overboard with this ipod-matchy design crap... it's a CAR-MOUNT, not something that you need or want to jump out and say -- HEY, LOOK AT ME, I'M A CARMOUNT.

Posted by petro on March 17, 2005 at 6:49 PM (PDT)

5

The only problem I have with these type of Car Mounts is that my iPOD gets really hide blocking the heating vent. Is this something I should be concerned with? Do you think the 3M backing is secure enough?

Posted by Randy in NJ on March 18, 2005 at 9:47 AM (PDT)

6

Extremely good. It works fine with my Optex sleeve (http://www.kensington.com/html/6373.html) The design allows you to remove the whole craddle from your car, while leaving the mounting still in your ventilator. Very stable and its cool for the adjustable white clips.

Highly recommended. I bought it from KL Malaysia.

Posted by BreonWei on May 4, 2005 at 9:12 PM (PDT)

7

The iPod-being-in-the-path-of-hot-and-cold-air thing is what bothers me most about this mount. The snap-out release is neat and it easily plugged right into my Grand Am's vents (which, unlike the vertical and horizontal ones Jeremy referred to in his review, are circular) and there's plenty of clearance for my charge cord.

But this note in the Nyko directions has me worried: "Please restrict hot or cool airflow to the air vent holding the Universal Car Mount and iPod. Excessive temperatures can cause serious damage to your Universal Car Mount and iPod." By "restrict" do they mean "cut off," or just "don't let the thing get too hot or too cold." Has anybody had a problem with this in their car?

Posted by mysteriousphantom in Flyover Country on May 18, 2005 at 5:37 PM (PDT)

8

I bought this mount today, and I'm pretty satisfied with it. It serves it's purpose nicely.

I have a vw golf, and I mounted it in the center/left vent. Concerning the hot/cold air, I closed the center vents, but can still use the outer vents for air. In fact, the air is now stronger as it is only directed through the outer vents. And if I wanted to cool down my iPod, I just open the center vents.

My iPod is now easily viewable and reachable, so I can take a quick glance at it while driving if I want to change tracks.

While the iPod is in the mount, it looks quite good. Without the iPod, it's ugly.

For it's low price and function, I'd recommend this option to anyone who doesn't want to spend too much for mount and who doesn't live in their car.

Posted by voltaireis on July 4, 2005 at 6:53 PM (PDT)

9

I bought this mount yesterday and was initially impressed with the ease of use and the stability offered rather than having my iPod slide all over my front passenger seat or having to find a space to fit it in my car...

However, after using it for awhile, i noticed 2 minor scratches already on my iPod... sigh

Can anyone suggest some modification or anything so that i do not just throw it aside somewhere?

Posted by mOOsifer the iPoDHoLiC on July 21, 2005 at 6:37 PM (PDT)

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.