OtterBox oPod water resistant case | iLounge

Reviews

1

The oPod does NOT have ample room for any headphones exept the apple earbuds. I can't find a single pair that fits comfotably into the case.
I bought one, and It had problems with the water resistant membrane. Their customer service is excellent, so they sent me another one right away, but this one had problems with the o-rings. I have since returned them both.

Posted by finig on July 20, 2004 at 10:03 AM (PDT)

2

The headphones are not supposed to fit into the case, only the male headphone jack.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz on July 20, 2004 at 12:13 PM (PDT)

3

How about using the Apple Remote with this case? Possible?

Posted by Curtsan on July 20, 2004 at 4:11 PM (PDT)

4

Yes. Anything can be plugged into the iPod's headphone jack.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz on July 20, 2004 at 9:08 PM (PDT)

5

you obviously havn't tried to fit anything into the case. any headphones with a normal sized jack that turns 90 degrees won't fit well. Only one of the 4 pairs of headphones that I own allow me to close the case with them plugged in, and the cable of the ones that do work have to be pressed down by that u-shaped white thing that seals the insert. It puts un-due pressure on the headphone jack in the ipod.
As for the remote, that's what the engineers said. But two problems, that defeats the purpose of being able to use the buttons through the case, and anybody who bought a 15gig ipod after the price shift has no remote. I don't want to spend another 30 bucks just to use third-party headphones with this case.

Posted by finig on July 22, 2004 at 3:08 PM (PDT)

6

Does anyone know how well the matias ipod armor works with the 4G 20gb ipod?

Posted by Jake on July 27, 2004 at 8:34 PM (PDT)

7

yep

I emailed matias and they said they wont make a 4th gen case, and if they do itll be in a few monthes and it would be purely cosmetic. They said they tried the matias on a 20 gig and it worked.

Posted by David on August 3, 2004 at 9:49 AM (PDT)

8

WOW - i found this case to be exactly what i needed - now all we need are some waterproof headphones. =) (i do a lot of swimming) BTW i found the best price at [url=http://www.theipodmart.com]http://www.theipodmart.com[/url] - not as many color choices but i only wanted the white.

Posted by mark carsten on August 20, 2004 at 8:18 PM (PDT)

9

I just got an oPod for Christmas (to go with a 4G 20G iPod)! I had the same problem with the earphone plug, but I cut away some of the plastic on the plug (not the oPod) and now it closes fine - probably better than with the original iPod earphones.

Posted by Alaska Mike in Virginia on December 31, 2004 at 5:38 PM (PDT)

10

I got my oPod yesterday. I own a 60GB iPod Photo. With no headphones plugged in and one foam pad it closes and seems tight. With no foam it does not fit snug enough and the controls are a couple of mm away from the case front. Over all not a great fit too tight or too loose. Next problem and the deal breaker; headphones. I use ER6i's now. (I used to use Shure E2c's, they will not fit at all) With them plugged in to the iPod and one foam too much stress is placed on the plug by the case. If I use no foam it is slightly better but then the iPod does not fit flush against the front of the case. Also the stock Apple ear bud also have some minor stress from the case. I could use a Dremel and grind some of the case, but I am returning it. They sent me an RMA # very promptly. They really need to redesign the top of the case in my opinion and include a foam pad that is half the thickness of the ones provided for the iPod Photo 60 GB. They told me their iPod Mini case they are working will accomodate any headphone, we shall see. I might get mini for working out.

Posted by cthomasian in SoCal on January 7, 2005 at 3:52 PM (PDT)

11

Just received the 4G oPod case and was struck by the high quality throughout. Since I don't expect to scuba dive with my iPod, the fact that it's not fully waterproof is not a big issue. What is a big issue is that I can access all iPod functions with the iPod encased in this hard plastic shell. The click wheel protector works fine. I highly recommend this case.

Posted by Spring Lake Bob on January 27, 2005 at 11:57 AM (PDT)

12

If you have the 60gig Ipod and are having trouble fitting it into the Opod by Otter Products just give them a call and they will send you the correct sized foam for it to fit. Just ask for Pam. Also they are coming out with a FULL WATERPROOF ipod mini case!! It Rocks!!

Posted by dhouse on February 3, 2005 at 6:23 PM (PDT)

13

Otter Products New Ipod Mini Case is usable with any head phones and is Total Waterproof!! I have one my self and have done some extensive testing and it works like a dream. You can get them on their web site soon. [url=http://www.otterbox.com]http://www.otterbox.com[/url]

Posted by dhouse on February 3, 2005 at 6:27 PM (PDT)

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.