Pacific Rim Cube Travel Speakers | iLounge

Reviews

21

good luck trying to cancel your order with pacitic-rim, i ordered these speakers 2+weeks ago for an upcoming trip was notified that they were on 2 weeks backorder therefore tried to cancel order only to find out credit card was billed and speakers were sent today and i fly out tomorrow so now i have lansings and these useless cubes. to Mr Bui Laurent thanks for nothing and will not by anymore products from Pacific Rim in future

Posted by pommy on March 8, 2005 at 10:00 AM (PDT)

22

DO NOT ORDER FROM PACIFIC CUBE!

I ordered my speakers a month ago and was informed they would be posted in 2 weeks on back order. Have been emailing since and they keep saying "they'll be in in a week". I don't think I'll ever get them, yet they charged my credit card straight away.

Their website STILL says they are in stock, even though I've waited over a month from mine.

Posted by charliebarlie on March 16, 2005 at 4:50 PM (PDT)

23

I got mine last week dude. They are great!

Posted by Point 3 on March 17, 2005 at 3:36 PM (PDT)

24

hi all

new to the lounge, and ive been reading the reviews on portable speakers and cant decide on which ones to get... the pacific rim cubes or the logitech mm22? they say that they cant compare them but they look like they are in the same league? can any one point me in the right direction?

Posted by toryman76 on April 5, 2005 at 3:51 AM (PDT)

25

I just received a set of these speakers re-branded through overstock.com. A couple of quick comments:

1) The design is inspired. Nothing else in the market looks like these speakers.
2) Considering their size and cost, they sound excellent. If you want to replace your home stereo speakers, you are going to have to spend a lot more money and deal with a set of largely non-portable speakers.
3) This little unit does an excellent job of getting enough volume to fill a small office or any hotel room. Heck, you can even hear it over a conversation between multiple people.
4) Distortion exists at the top end of the volume level, but at 90+% they sound just fine and are still loud enough for my wife to ask me to tun them down.
5) I also own a PodWave and this product beats it hands down in sound quality and volume. However, they take more batteries and are somewhat less portable. The PodWave truly fits in your pocket, the cubes do not, but still fit easily in my laptop bag.
6) The DC input option is nice. Any adapter around 6V with the right polarity seems to work just fine. This allows you to use an ipod and a set of cubes as an alarm clock without burning through a set of batteries each night.
7) Yes, the plastic piece that holds your iPod has to be removed to fold the speakers up. However, it is the right compromise. think of the speakers as an inexpensive, ultra-portable speaker solution that has the bonus of a non-charging dock to hold your precious iPod.

Posted by KMap on April 5, 2005 at 11:08 AM (PDT)

26

i also got the rebranded ones through overstock. one plus that is different than the review is that it has its own volume control. i haven't tested other ipod speakers so i can't compare it to them, but i find the sound quality to be adequate. it's not the greatest, but considering its size and price it's pretty good. if you care more about sound quality, i would recommend something else. but if you just want an inexpensive speaker for casual use, this one will do nicely.

Posted by rg4life on June 24, 2005 at 1:18 PM (PDT)

27

do you have a link to the rebranded speakers?

Posted by Wengero on June 28, 2005 at 6:00 PM (PDT)

28

Here's a rebranded version for $15 with free shipping.

http://www.pcmicrostore.com/PartDetail.aspx?q=p:10502796

Steve

Posted by Steve Podley on July 14, 2005 at 2:46 PM (PDT)

29

These are available at Walgreen's under the name i.Sound mini by a company called dreamGEAR (http://www.dreamgear.net) for $30.00. I am not sure if this is the regular price, or a limited-time sale price. They do sound pretty good, but remember, there's no AC adapter included in the box, so you're limited to 4 AAA batteries unless you have an unused power adapter sitting around, or want to spend an extra $10.00 for a power adapter.

Posted by Greg Koelpien on July 19, 2005 at 8:19 AM (PDT)

30

Hi there,
just wanted to add one thing to this great piece of design which I use as an alarm clock and travel disco.
One more thing I would like to share with you:
To safe money and minimize weight(in your luggage) you can easily use the IPODs USB Charger (5.5V) to power the rim cube speakers !
Just take any USB cable, cut the plug end off that fits the power adapter from apple, lay open the red(+)/black(-) cable. fiddle (ideally solder) these together with the DC Plug cable that fits the speakers socket, (which you would have to buy from a local supplier for no money, if you can not find it attached to some others outdated gadget power supply.the lead with the white mark should take the (+). Don't worry wrong polarity does destroy anything...
Voila ! Very easy, cheap and lightweight

Posted by breglis on August 18, 2005 at 1:41 AM (PDT)

31

i just bought a pair from the pcmicrostore link above for $12 no shipping - 1 question - what does "rebranded mean"?

Posted by cheap on November 2, 2005 at 4:49 PM (PDT)

32

"rebranded" means these speakers were made by the same OEM factory in China but sold to various branding companies like Pacific Rim. That's why you see so many of the same speakers branded under different names in various channels.

Posted by FarSide on November 9, 2005 at 8:36 PM (PDT)

33

The same speakers are available at my local RadioShack AND THEY COME IN BLACK. But instead of Pacific Rim, the brand was Presidian. Is this brand of the speakers lower in the quality of sound or exactly the same as Pacific Rim's, but in colors and sold by a someone else? I don't care about power adapters because I have one.

Posted by lilimacmike on November 14, 2005 at 3:53 PM (PDT)

34

The same speakers are offered by pcmicrostore.com for $13.99 with free USPS shipping as of 12/17/05.

http://www.pcmicrostore.com/PartDetail.aspx?q=p:10502796

Posted by tjschwartz59 on December 17, 2005 at 2:23 PM (PDT)

35

Not happy at all with the Pacific Rim speakers. They completely failed after two weeks use. (Purchased on 12/10/05, but didn't start using until 1/14/06). Discovered that there's only a 30 day manu. warranty on them either. I have another cube set, but sold from Radio Shack under the Presidian label, but it at least has a 90 day warranty. Things that fail so soon shouldn't be endorsed.

Posted by BobC on January 28, 2006 at 8:21 AM (PDT)

36

I got mine from pcmicrostore.com for $13.99. last night. I played it for two hourse and absolutely LOVED it initially. I was blown away by the sound quality and the volume this little thing can produce. But it only lasted for a few hours!!
This morning I played it again, the sound quality went down dramatically. I found a small tear in the black rim part... This would have been a great product if it was made to last... but I guess this is what you get for $13.99. I am just glad that I didn't pay $39.99 for something that only last a day.

Posted by tokyogirl on January 29, 2006 at 11:52 AM (PDT)

37

Just as an advisory, the units that you're buying from places other than Pacific Rim are not the "same" as these, despite their similar appearence.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz in East Amherst, NY, USA on March 21, 2006 at 10:58 AM (PDT)

38

I just bought a pair of these directly from Pacific Rim Tech. A couple of items to note:

The price has dropped considerably! I got mine WITH THE AC ADAPTER for $24.99. Not $39.99 as suggested here. Got them to my door 3-day select for just under $30. No problems, no delays (Sounds like lucky me, though).

Sound quality is great for the size. Good for the office or going in the travel bag on my motorcycle.

The AC adapter powers the speakers, but does not charge the unit (as stated). I suppose you if you're near a AC socket, you could use your USB/AC charger plugged in the bottom of the iPod while hooked up to the speakers (as they only use the headphone jack).

Also, I have a silicon skin (the "Duet") on my 5G 60-gig unit. It fits just fine in the cradel between the two speakers (contrary to what has been said here). It's snug (due to the tackyness of the silicon) but it works fine.

For $30, I can't help but think these deserve a bump in the rating: Definatly an A pushing A+!

Posted by msh441 on May 3, 2006 at 3:18 PM (PDT)

39

And now folks, theyre even cheaper! Pacific Rim has dropped their price to 14.99 and they even include the power adapter. Also, the people who experienced rippped speakers probably played them at their maximum volume, which was too loud and ripped the speaker cones. NEVER crank the volume on speakers when they contain felt or paper supports, because that means that they were not intended to go that loud. By the way, these can be bought for $8.99 on Amazon:

Posted by anti-luddite on June 12, 2006 at 2:34 PM (PDT)

40

Forgot the link, sorry, and they are 8.95 not 8.99, save a whole four cents@! http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0007YUODM/qid=1150147989/sr=8-1/ref=pd_bbs_1/102-7068626-5380112?_encoding=UTF8&v=glance&n=229534

Posted by anti-luddite on June 12, 2006 at 2:35 PM (PDT)

Page 2 of 3 pages  <  1 2 3 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.