Pacific Rim Technologies 4G iShield | iLounge

Reviews

1

Could someone with a previous model answer a few questions:

How heavy is the case? Is exercising an issue?

Any problems with heat?


On a side note: could the smaller opening for the clickwheel be protection for the "seam" around the wheel?

Posted by thewagon on September 17, 2004 at 3:42 AM (PDT)

2

That looks like a v.nice case indeed - I hope that everythingipod.co.uk will be getting them in.

Posted by Sensei-Katana in Cambridge, UK on September 17, 2004 at 9:54 AM (PDT)

3

I can't believe no one except me thought about using a MARWARE SportSuit Convertible model for the 1G/2G model on a 4G iPod. It fits perfect and I purchased it right at the Apple Store. The sales idiots swore to me that it wouldn't work on a 4G model and boy were they wrong! It works great and can be found discounted down to $19.00 usd. If you don't believe me take your 4G iPod with you and check it out for yourself. You won't regret it. And the Griffin iTrip fits perfect on it too! I can't say the same for the 3G version.

God is this Pacific Rim Technologies 4G iShield the ulgiest device i have ever laid eyes on. Trust me, save your money and buy the above mentioned case.

Posted by Mike on September 17, 2004 at 8:50 PM (PDT)

4

Mike,

It's pretty funny how different people have different tastes. Personally I think the iShield is the best looking case I've ever seen.

Conversely, I'd rather be skewered with blunt bamboo than wrap my precious ipod in all that neoprene and nylon, but that's just me.

Posted by thewagon on September 18, 2004 at 3:56 AM (PDT)

5

Is there any chance that this will fit a 3G 20GB ipod? The reason I ask is because I HATE the idea of not having a clear screen cover, and the only ones with it are the mini and the 4G shields.

Posted by T on September 19, 2004 at 11:38 AM (PDT)

6

T, go have a look on the web site, there is a similar hard case for your 3g pod

Posted by Laurent on September 21, 2004 at 11:19 PM (PDT)

7

check out the 4G cases on [url=http://www.iskin.com]http://www.iskin.com[/url] I have one and it is awesome

Posted by sri on September 23, 2004 at 6:55 AM (PDT)

8

This case may be good, but my experiences with the company have been plain terrrible. Ordered a 3G case in January 2004, was never delivered, they kept telling me that they would be getting new stock, but they never did and in August they refunded my money after many emails and threathening to take legal action. They seem very happy to take your money but not too eager to send you the product. Id stay clear of this company. Buy it from a reseller if you must.

Posted by cdj on September 23, 2004 at 6:06 PM (PDT)

9

I ordered this case based on this review (the update about them improving the clickwheel cutout was very reassuring), and I just found out that it was shipped today, 9/27/04, four days before it was scheduled to ship (would have been nice to receive an e-mail notification, but it may still come later today).

I chose the 4GShield because it's a metal case that allows access to all ports and the clickwheel (Unlike the ipod armour). Also, it makes the ipod look like a giant silver mini, which I was on the fence about buying originally.

I'll follow with a full review once I receive it for anyone who's interested.

Posted by thewagon on September 27, 2004 at 11:14 AM (PDT)

10

I ordered this case based on this review (the update about them improving the clickwheel cutout was very reassuring), and I just found out that it was shipped today, 9/27/04, four days before it was scheduled to ship (would have been nice to receive an e-mail notification, but it may still come later today).

I chose the 4GShield because it's a metal case that allows access to all ports and the clickwheel (Unlike the ipod armour). Also, it makes the ipod look like a giant silver mini, which I was on the fence about buying originally.

I'll follow with a full review once I receive it for anyone who's interested.

Posted by thewagon on September 27, 2004 at 11:15 AM (PDT)

11

definitely interested. trying to decide between this and a contour.

Posted by Sharks and Sailors on September 27, 2004 at 8:00 PM (PDT)

12

So, thewagon, what is the verdict?

Posted by Abby on September 30, 2004 at 6:31 AM (PDT)

13

I didn't mean to keep anyone in suspense.

Truth is, I expect to receive it tomorrow, 10/1, and I'll post my review then.

Posted by thewagon on September 30, 2004 at 7:45 AM (PDT)

14

i'm suspicious about that clip. hey thewagon please tell us how well the clip works. i work out a lot and i dont want my ipod falling off my belt when i work out.

Posted by Havok on September 30, 2004 at 10:26 AM (PDT)

15

Sorry folks, it seems that Fed Ex "misdirected" my shipment. Looks like the earliest I'll get it is Tuesday 10/5/04.

Posted by thewagon on October 1, 2004 at 11:29 AM (PDT)

16

cases like this always scratch up your shiny ipod... get a skin from ####

Posted by Alex John on October 1, 2004 at 5:56 PM (PDT)

17

I purchased and received this case 9/30/04. As far as the undersized & roughedge clickwheel hole being remedied...I don't see it. Mine case still has a sli

Posted by eyzonla on October 1, 2004 at 8:02 PM (PDT)

18

Sorry -sent the previous post without completing it by mistake. As I was saying...
The case that I received still has a rough edge with a slightly undersized clickwheel hole. Perhaps I received one of the "preremedied" models? These "flaws" are not a major concern as all areas of the clickwheel are still fully accessable, & the ipod is totally functional. Hole in back-not an issue.

Case is very sturdy & well made-will protect the ipod from falls & outside elements. Don't see any potential for the case scratching the ipod as the inside of the case is covered with feltlike material protecting contact points between the case and the ipod. No scratches yet (but it's only been 3-4 days).

As far as excersising with the case... The case is a little heavy, but not too heavy. I'm a runner & don't feel that the weight of the case would hinder anything.

However, the major, major flaw of the case is the clip!!! The one I received, doesn't firmly attach to the case at all. It just freely spins around & around-like it's barely attached! I definatley can't run or attatch it to any belt,waistband, or anything else because it is not firmly attached. It would literally just fall right off! I can't believe this - it's unreal! Perhaps I just got a defective clip? Does anyone else have this same problem? Please let me know. I'm going to call the company about this. The main reason that I purchased this case was to go running with it, & I definately can't do that because it will just fly right off!

Posted by eyzonla on October 3, 2004 at 9:58 AM (PDT)

19

I just received this from thinkdifferentstore.com (very happy with them), but I was not too happy with the product.

The case itself was thankfully light, especially for being made of metal. And it seemed rather well protected inside, little fear of scratches from the iside of the case.

But I had three complaints:
-- The case has an extra peice of foam, not attached to the case, which sits behind the Ipod. It is black like the rest of the foam, with a hole (you see it above in the top picture, trimmed in yellow). Anywho, that foam makes it feel that the case was designed for a different Ipod, and that this was a shim. I have a 20Gig 4G. But worse, even with the shim in, the Ipod swimmed around the case a bit, so that the controls would mis-align with the holes sometimes, and align at other times. The play was small, but still annoying.

Also, the case is closed by a latch with operates mostly by friction, which had me worrying that it would just pop open, although I have no evidence of that.

Also, the screen cover is not clear, rather it is covered by plastic film layers, probably by design. It did not seem to be just protection for shipping, as there were several layers, but the result was that the screeen was hard to read.

I am new to the Ipod Case arket, perhpas I am too picky.

Short answer: I am returning this and getting an exchange.

Posted by Jeffrey Sink on October 4, 2004 at 6:50 AM (PDT)

20

Okay, so I just received my case this morning. Stupid Fedex.

Initial reaction: very well made case with a few flaws.

Pros:

1. Surprisingly light. I actually weighed the case on a scale (I work in a lab), and the 4G shield weighed 47g without the clip (58g with clip). For comparison, the official Apple case weighed 51g.

2. Solidly built. Very durable considering how light it is. Hinge and door clasp seem very sturdy. I even accidentily dropped the case from waist high with my ipod inside and everything survived wonderfully.

3. Style and design. I must say I was always envious of my friend's mini just because you could hold it and use it without much concern about scratches and nicks. I now feel that way about my ipod. If you like the way the ipod looks in the pictures above, then you'll love the way it looks in person. The cutout for the clickwheel is definitely large enough and has a smooth inward depression around the interior. The screen protector is a very clear, hard plastic separated from the ipod screen by a foam lining. The entire interior of the case is lined with this soft, black foam that does a pretty good job of protecting the ipod from scratches.

Continued on next post due to length restrictions.

Posted by thewagon on October 4, 2004 at 6:55 AM (PDT)

Page 1 of 3 pages  1 2 3 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.