Pacific Rim Technologies iPod shuffle Gel Shield | iLounge

Reviews

1

I bought something like that off eBay I have had it for a few week its nice the clear ones seem to be thinner then the coloured ones though. And the bottom cap rubber on the clear ones is thicker silicon then the rest of it so it dosen't perfectly alinge other than that its super and it works really well I would definatly suggest any iPod shuffle user too buy one of these cuz otherwise your iPod shuffle will get very scratched up in your poket.

Posted by meep on March 2, 2005 at 12:13 PM (PDT)

2

1. Can the Gel Shield be used with the Apple IPS armband?

2. Does the Gel Shield provide adequate protection from sweat?

Thanks.

Posted by rmichiel on March 2, 2005 at 6:28 PM (PDT)

3

I am pretty annoyed that there is no lanyard cap for hanging it around your neck and there is nohole for a wrist strap or keychain

Posted by Bob333 in Galway,Ireland on March 3, 2005 at 12:39 PM (PDT)

4

rmichiel: Yes on both, and moreso on 1 than other (thicker) cases we've seen, though it fits imperfectly and surely would not be recommended by Apple.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz in East Amherst, NY, USA on March 3, 2005 at 12:53 PM (PDT)

5

I too purchased a pair of these and I'm very pleased. The shuffle is protected very well.

Posted by LDRiPod in Redondo Beach on March 3, 2005 at 5:16 PM (PDT)

6

Are these the same as the ones from ebay? Looks very similar.

Posted by shufflefanatic on March 3, 2005 at 8:11 PM (PDT)

7

don't really like the idea of such rubber-like cases... won't they trap heat in when the a charging ipod starts to get warm? read somewhere trapped heat is not a good thing for electronic devices...

Posted by Zoe on March 6, 2005 at 9:16 PM (PDT)

8

My problem with these cases (at least with the one I tried) is that they make the on/off switch hard to use. Even worse, I found that often the rubber pushes the switch from shuffle to the playlist position, causing my playlist to reshuffle. This is bad. Anyone else notice this?

Posted by dhl on March 12, 2005 at 11:24 AM (PDT)

9

Zoe, heat, from a shuffle? Bigger iPods heat up from the drive, but minimally from the batteries. Charging my iPod in my car will keep it from getting too cold, but it certainly doesn't warm it enough to pose a problem.

Posted by minty on March 12, 2005 at 8:36 PM (PDT)

10

pacific rim tech. is a horrible company. i have ordered on 3.7.05 and still have not recieved my order. i have emailed numerous times, and got answer saying it was shipped. i checked and yesterday, the 17th is when they shipped it. please look elsewhere when buying stuff from this place.

Posted by fizzle on March 18, 2005 at 8:00 AM (PDT)

11

I feel your pain fizzle. I had a bad experience with Pacific Rim last week. Their customer service is terrible. Their less than explainatory website caused complications which resulted in me spending the better part of a morning at my bank getting 240.00 in NSF charges refunded back into my account due to my card being run through over nine times (not exagerating). My bank manager even said they were giving her the run-around when she was trying to get a hold of someone. Needless to say everything got taken care of in time, but in the long run my account was in holding and I was late paying bills until the matter got cleared. My best advice....be patient and better accessories from more reputable places will be coming out.

Posted by SnippyHippie in North Carolina, USA on March 22, 2005 at 2:11 PM (PDT)

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.