Philips Docking Entertainment System DCP850 | iLounge

Reviews

1

Beautiful! Finally someone has the common sense to put a iPod dock PLUS a DVD player, not instead of it. And at a decent price point to boot (no extra iPodness fee), WITH added features, no ridiculous accesories to be sold separately (card reader). So this must be the end of iFlip and its kind. Sony and others: Take note and copy the idea as soon as possible.

My only true concern would be battery life. The onscreen menus look kinda cheesy, but I can live with that. Will definitely purchase this as soon as it comes to my friendly retail store...

Posted by Voh Poh! on February 27, 2007 at 2:22 PM (PDT)

2

The DivX playback is vital to me. This unit is apparently perfect. I can't wait to buy one.

Posted by stark23x on February 27, 2007 at 4:03 PM (PDT)

3

Philips could spend some more dollars on their designer. It's just BAD!

I won't put a so well designed device (say iPod) inside such plastic box (say DCP850).

If I would really need to get such amount of plastic just to stay on the cheap side, I would buy a portable dvd player.

I mean having the ipod connected using a simple cable. I would end-up with a TV receiver additionally (as most external player have today) and higher battery life.

Now repeat "DCP850" five times...

Posted by pupu.in on February 27, 2007 at 4:42 PM (PDT)

4

For those looking to buy, BestBuy.com claims this unit is in stock and shipping now. 189.99 plus tax if applicable and shipping.

Voh - the menus look an awful lot like the menus for most of these players. Regardless of brand they all seem to run the same operating system.

Posted by stark23x on February 27, 2007 at 9:41 PM (PDT)

5

I'm seriously considering this unit. I can live (barely) with 2.5 hr battery. Critical will be how it handles various source aspect ratios. In the upcoming review, please consider the following:

1. iPod 4:3 and 16:9 video programs displayed correctly? Any zoom, stretch modes?

2. DVD 4:3, 16:9, 16:9 anamorphic DVDs displayed correctly? Any zoom, stretch modes?

3. Same question for SD video sources.

Thanks.

Posted by djones18 on February 28, 2007 at 6:49 AM (PDT)

6

The Best Buy store in my area has had this for almost a month now. I was surprised to see it advertised in the flyer a few weeks ago, and went in to the store to see if they actually had any. They didn't have any on display, but sure enough, there were some in the locked glass case. I asked to have it taken out and got to play with it some, seems pretty nice. I can't find anywhere though that states the screen's resolution...

Posted by d-bone on February 28, 2007 at 11:18 AM (PDT)

7

The packaging of the DCP850 seems very nicely done, I'll give them that much. But a larger portable viewscreen is most certainly something I'd like to have over that puny LCD on my 5G. Nice that the power cabling options are all included in the price; one gets TIRED of all the decontenting that happens with electronics these days...(listening Apple?)

Generally I'm not a big fan of Philips; I've had horrid luck in getting any sort of longevity of operational life with the few devices of theirs that I've owned (and ultimately cursed at). Considering that this seems like a smartly designed product that would work brilliantly with my old, now vid-only 60GB 5G AND yet still play DVDs, I suppose all I could do is hope that the level of engineering and built-quality will match as well. Suppose it might not hurt to invest in an extended warranty for this puppy, should I go down this road.

Posted by flatline response on February 28, 2007 at 1:08 PM (PDT)

8

I just got mine today - I am finding the iPod video performance HORRIFYING. It;s absolutely awful, and I don't understand how you guys got the images in this review. Did you review a retail version or did someone hot-rod a special one for you? Do I have a defective version?

It's washed-out, fuzzy...it looks like early 60s color TV. Terrible. Save videos played back via the AV inpt look great. It's definitely the dock. Now, the rest of the machine is good enough that I will be keeping it - Love the SD card input, the flip screen, all that. DivX performance is great, DVD is great. It's just that the gimmick here was the iPod Dock and it is utterly and completely useless. The only way performance could be worse would be if it didn't work at all.

Posted by stark23x on March 1, 2007 at 4:47 PM (PDT)

9

Our review unit was purchased at retail - sounds like you have a bad one.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz in East Amherst, NY, USA on March 1, 2007 at 6:26 PM (PDT)

10

Hmm. Seems I'm not the only one then.

http://tinyurl.com/2zu6yf

Posted by stark23x on March 2, 2007 at 6:09 PM (PDT)

11

What an excellent first review of this unit. I was ready to buy based first looks, but I now find too many compromises in this unit. Video quality, correct/simple handling of various video source aspect ratios, and iPod control via the player or remote are important to me. Guess I'll be looking seriously at the Video-55 or wait until Phillips or someone builds a DVD/iPod player at a higher overall quality point.

Posted by djones18 on March 7, 2007 at 8:36 AM (PDT)

12

I checked this unit out at my local BestBuy bringing along my 80GB iPod. This unit is TERRIBLE. Everything about it is cheap, cheap, cheap. But worst of all is the fact that you cannot adjust the video quality for iPod video. That's right: YOU HAVE ZERO CONTROL OVER PICTURE QUALITY when video is coming from the iPod. The above shown menu for brightness, contrast, color etc. is for everything but the iPod. I did an extreme test. I moved the hue all the way to one side turning the entire picture green. The DVD displayed a green picture. I switched to the iPod input - sam neutral picture as before my adjustment. The extreme hue had no effect. - Now that I think is a major minus, especially since the video quality is anything but great. Not so when you play back a DVD. It looks fine then. But the moment you switch to the iPod it looks washed out - as mentioned in one post above - like looking at a cheap TV from the 1960s. Why this is the case is beyond me. I can get excellent looking video out of my iPod through a monster cable (dock connector to s-video) to my Sony WEGA TV. Why this unit can't do it, I don't understand. Not that any of the other portable iPod screen are really any better (the Sonic Impact V-55 looks the best, but it still looks only "acceptable"). It's a shame. They built an acceptable DVD player, but completely blew it with the iPod integration.

Posted by THX1965 on March 8, 2007 at 5:13 PM (PDT)

13

I would check out the DCP750. Sounds like they may have fixed some of the problems. I'm very happy with mine. DVDs look great on it and iPod video looks like I would expect. The screen is a bit smaller, but the price point ($130) is appealing and it is very portable. There are compromises, but I find them to be acceptable considering what I paid.

Posted by tkarches on August 6, 2007 at 8:26 AM (PDT)

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.