Pods Plus Aluminum Cases for iPod Video and iPod nano | iLounge

Reviews

1

thank god now i can skate with my video

Posted by mrtambourineman on December 7, 2005 at 3:46 PM (PDT)

2

I just got mine yesterday: it's the black 5G 60GB version. I like it a lot so far; I think it looks really sharp! For my previous iPod, I had used an iSkin evo, which I liked for the most part but was always paranoid about the possibility of my iPod getting crushed in my backpack or otherwise taking a somewhat hard hit, which is why I wanted a hard case this time out.

There are a handful of things about this case that I didn't notice get mentioned above, so I wanted to chime in with my insights and opinions so that they might help with others' purchasing decisions. Without the belt clip attachment, the case can lie flat on its back--you don't have to worry about it wobbling around on your desk or whatever (that is, the raised portion for attaching the belt clip to isn't too raised). Mind you, that's with the *entire* belt clip attachment removed. The belt clip comes in two pieces, with one part screwing into the case and the other attaching to the first and to your belt. That second part seems like fairly strong plastic; it *appears* to be far more trustworthy than the clip on the iSkin I used to have. It's also very easily removable, but it doesn't look like it's something you'd *accidentally* separate such that your iPod drops to the floor (the felt-type case that my first iPod came with kept falling off my belt and was the reason I started worrying about third party cases in the first place!).

There are only two things thus far that I might call design flaws. The lanyard seems a bit thin/skimpy for carrying the 60 GB iPod + the metal case but will probably prove useful occasionally. I'm not sure a skateboarder could trust it while doing kickflips and the like. It's also not an especially large loop, so it more readily goes around the wrist than around my fat head! Also, if you push the iPod to the bottom of the case, it rests maybe half a centimeter from the top of the case, which means the scroll wheel and screen are peculiarly distant from the surface. This is more a cosmetic issue than a functional one, though, and all you have to do is place the iPod nearer to the top to make it more flush. It would've been nicer, though, if it had come with a thicker piece of foam on the back so that this wouldn't be an issue at all.

I have a further concern in that I don't know what I would do should the protective screen itself get scuffed up. It would be cool to know that I can get that replaced (I wouldn't mind paying for it, but I wouldn't want to have to get an entire replacement case). Finally, the only other improvement I'd suggest is to include a way to store the headphone cabling. Wrapping it around the case is probably sufficient, but I've noticed a number of case makers including built-in cable management lately, and I think that's the way to go, when it's done well. Until then, I'll continue using my Smartwrap, and while my comments might sound fairly negative, I'm actually quite happy with my purchase, and I'm more than happy to leave that cheapo Apple-supplied case behind!

Posted by kimota on December 8, 2005 at 7:33 AM (PDT)

3

I agree with kimota on the gaps. If you center the iPod in the case so that you are able to insert any cables there is a 1/8 inch gap between the front of the case and the front of the iPod. Plenty of room for dirt and debris. I questioned PodsPlus on theis and they said that is just the way it was designed. Too bad I had to open the packaging to discover this. Alas, no return. Since I own it now, I think it is time for a little case modification. Try and find some soft material (felt) to glue to the front of the case to fill in the huge gap.

Posted by michaelo on December 10, 2005 at 7:11 AM (PDT)

4

I received my 30GB case today and was also frustrated with the 1/8 inch gap. I tried putting a 60GB in it and it fit perfectly. I'm wondering if they really have 2 sizes or they just say that because I contacted them and they said the gap was normal. I'm willing to bet that they made a "one size fits all" case but label the packages different. It's too bad because if the case fit I would really like it.

Posted by saxbell68 on December 14, 2005 at 12:02 AM (PDT)

5

Can anybody confirm the "one size fits all" thing saxbell68 said?

Posted by MattPaintballer on December 17, 2005 at 12:01 PM (PDT)

6

wow I just ordered this case. I'm paranoid about little bits of dust getting in and scrathing the ipod if the space between the front of the ipod and case is that noticable.

anyone getting any scratches and scuffs from using his case?

Posted by pdpgoomba on December 19, 2005 at 9:09 PM (PDT)

7

why is it that in the review the 60gb iPod didn't fit the 30gb case but saxbell68 was able to get the 60gb ipod to fit in the 30gb case perfectly??

Posted by pdpgoomba on December 20, 2005 at 9:53 AM (PDT)

8

I bought the 60gb case for my 60gb iPod. I've had it for about two weeks and at first I like it. However, it does have a gap, 1/8 - 1/4" that finally drove me crazy. So I'm sending it back this week. Hopefully they will accept it since I've been using it. I would not recommend this case because it is thicker than it has to be and the gap allows dirt and lint, etc. Now, I'm looking at a rhinoskin that is coming out as I have been happy with my PDA rhinoskin for a couple of years now.

Posted by Erowan on January 14, 2006 at 11:14 AM (PDT)

9

Just received my 60GB Vid Ipod Cover. First impressions where good, with the rest of the posts above I agree, the gap between the case and the click wheel is uncalled for and im not sure why podsplus came up with this idea, but I can live with it. But heres the kicker, while holding the case to but my ipod in it I noticed my hand was all black, really black. the color is coming of my case!! Big Time.. Does anyone else know of this? its not like its a minor problem, so im wondering why knowone else has mentioned this before.. If anyone has the Silver one please let me know if this is the natural metal color or painted silver? I need to return the case and I am not sure if to swap for the silver one or not.

Posted by Cozzer on January 23, 2006 at 8:16 AM (PDT)

10

i just recieved my podsplus 60gb video case today. and included with my order was an extra piece of precut sticky foam to go behind my ipod which brought it closer to the front of the case. this cut the gap in half from about 2mm down to 1mm. it really made a difference. as far as black stuff coming off the case, i haven't noticed anything. pretty nice case.

Posted by brooks on March 23, 2006 at 10:23 PM (PDT)

11

Just bought this off PodPlus' website and its exactly as expected. The extre foam helped quite a bit and it looks great and feels really solid. I must say this is the best deal EVER because its now on sale for 13 bucks. Best value for the ipod by far, as far as cases go by far.

Posted by Jirs on September 20, 2006 at 7:37 PM (PDT)

12

Questions:

1. Is hole for doc connector large enough to accommodate Belkin Auto Kit for iPod w/ Dock Connector? http://catalog.belkin.com/IWCatProductPage.process?Product_Id=149006

2. Is the silver case just bare aluminum or silver colored paint?

3. Is the case textured to provides a good grip? I have a RhinoSkin aluminum case for iPod Mini and it is so slippery that I had to apply egrips.

It's either this or the Contour Showcase Video for me. http://www.contourcase.com/showcase/showcasevideo/

Thanks

Posted by Mindguy on July 5, 2007 at 9:12 AM (PDT)

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.