Power Support 3D Wheel Film | iLounge

Reviews

1

I posted a similar comment about the PowerSupport Kimono case, but maybe if I post here too someone can answer my question...I went to the PowerSupportUSA site and there is no way to order the 3d protector or the Kimono case. Any ideas?

Posted by feinb on January 21, 2005 at 6:43 AM (PDT)

2

Where did you get the price?
Went to their website and it has no prices.....
They look like the perfect solution!

thanks

Posted by AusPod on January 21, 2005 at 9:51 AM (PDT)

3

What type of adhesive do they use? Is the adhesive similar to the one used on the Ipodonut? If that is true then then the 3d wheel film has to be removed every couple weeks or you may have trouble removing it.

Posted by d12ag0n49 on January 21, 2005 at 12:44 PM (PDT)

4

Another solution that would protect your click is to take trendy geeks podshield and use a compass to trace a circle that is a larger than the click wheel , Cut it out then place it over the click wheel. by cutting a larger cover you are not only protecting the space between the click wheel and the center button from debris but you are also protecting the space between the click wheel and the ipod. Another good thing about my solution is that you don't have to deal with adhesive because the podshield uses static to stick to the ipod. IMO this is a less expensive way to protect the back of the ipod, the click wheel and the screen

Posted by d12ag0n49 on January 21, 2005 at 12:53 PM (PDT)

5

were can i buy this protector. the web site above would not allow you to.

Posted by CG on January 21, 2005 at 5:14 PM (PDT)

6

How does the 3d wheel film feel on the fingers? Does your thumb flow smoothly across the wheel?

Posted by pageturner1988 on January 24, 2005 at 7:05 PM (PDT)

7

To be honest all that screen and clickwheel stuff is a RIP OFF!!! I use the screen protectors that you can buy a 12pk of for your PDA. I cut them out to fit my unit and it works great in my iSEE-20 case. Heck when u buy those 12pks they only cost about $17 or so and I have had one sheet of 12 on my 4G 20gb Ipod since it came out. So go that route and don't look back.

Posted by dtmoore555 in Kentucky on January 24, 2005 at 9:45 PM (PDT)

8

Purchsed a set of Power Support ipod mini click wheel film covers and found the glue used to attach the film to the packaging stuck to the film and would not come off hence ruining the film just by removing it from the package! No one answers phone even after repeated calls at all hours to customer sservice #. Two e mails have gone unanswered. Buyer beware!

Posted by aqua826 on January 25, 2005 at 10:39 AM (PDT)

9

Aqua, about the glue, I don't think thats a problem, because they're glued on on one sheet, but the actual wheel protector is stuck on to that but not actually a part of it. Just peel the wheel off of that sheet. What I don't understand is what that little circle it also comes with it does. Does anyone know what that does, and how to put this on?

Posted by catboy17 on January 29, 2005 at 4:13 PM (PDT)

10

Catboy, I think the little plastic disk is meant to go between the wheel protector and the clickwheel's central button. Without the disk in there, the central, recessed part of the wheel cover will stick to the button every time you press it, then come free a split-second later, making a kind of popping sound that some people might find annoying.

Dtmoore and others make a good point about PDA screen protectors. I think they're a good stopgap for ipod screens, but they tend to impair scrolling with the clickwheel. By contrast the wheel film does indeed allow one's thumb to flow smoothly, moreso even than the bare clickwheel itself (to answer your question, pageturner).

If we assume that the wheel cover will last for the life of the 'pod, and that one has a buddy with whom to split the $12 price (which includes shipping), then the wheel film doesn't seem like such a bad deal in my opinion.

One caveat: I found that the film is not as easy to remove as the manufacturer's website would have you think, so it's worth using a pair of tweezers to make sure it's well-aligned before pressing it on.

Has anyone tried this company's screen film ('crystal film')?

Posted by Metahoss on February 1, 2005 at 4:55 PM (PDT)

11

I got the crystal film with the Powersupport sillicone jacket I ordered. Besides the very annoying fact that this company thinks that everybody understands Japanese (why not a simple translation to go with this very expensive product?? I would have put the small plastic disk under the wheel protector BEFORE I put it on the wheel!!) I didn't manage to get the film on the iPod screen. It just didn't stick! I have heard more complaints about this. So, this makes the jacket totally useless. I've ordered more crystal film to try again.
So now I've tried two very expensive cases (Ipod Armor and this sillicone thing) and my iPod is scratched just by trying to figure out how to use them (silicone jacket) or by using it (iPod Armor scratches the top of the iPod).

Posted by elppadopi in Amsterdam on February 10, 2005 at 12:46 AM (PDT)

12

I'm very interested in these to accompany my Contour Design Showcase, but they (powersupport's) look very flimsy and cheap. will these get scratches on them over time and need to be replaced with one of the others included? has anyone had them for a significant amount of time with an open-faced iPod?

Posted by ahpplejuc on February 28, 2005 at 4:17 PM (PDT)

13

The powersupport crystal film that covers the screen is very very good. You do have to remove the backing to expose the "sticky" side. Once it's on, you can't slide it around, but it can easily come off just by prying it up with your fingernail. It's fairly thick, about a millimeter, and it has already saved my ipod from scratches. I agree about the japanese instructions ... there really should be english instructions just so you won't get confused when trying to apply it.

Posted by dslknight on March 4, 2005 at 8:08 PM (PDT)

14

I have a #### exoflp4g, and it's missing a screen protector. Are the iSkin Shades compatible with other cases? Or should I purchase the powersupport crystal film?

Posted by kadachi on March 8, 2005 at 1:05 PM (PDT)

15

Power Support's customer service is really shoddy. I ordered the crystal films for my 4G 40 Gb iPod; they sent me the crystal films for the iPod mini. I have sent them 3 emails and have tried to call their "support" line several times with no response. There wasn't even an answering machine of any kind on their phone number! Their products are high quality, but buyer beware - they are not very responsive as a business.

Posted by cbatkins on March 11, 2005 at 9:48 AM (PDT)

16

dtmoore555, I see many PDA screen protectors. Can you link me to the one you specifically bought. I have the Contour Showcase for my 40Gig 4G iPod and it works great, I just need click wheel protection. You're suggestions sounds awesome.

Posted by StevenX on May 24, 2005 at 6:48 PM (PDT)

17

I got PowerSupport's 3d Wheel Film for my photo. After about a week of having it on, it no longer sticks. I never intentionally removed it. When I put it on, everything was clean, so nothing got in between the film and the wheel. I was very careful putting it on, and pressed it on good after applying it. Now, it barely stays on, and sometimes just comes off. I constantly have to press it on again to try and make it stick.

I'm still waiting for my IpodKitz case to come; after that, I'll try applying the other 3d Wheel Film that came with the set. Hopefully with the case's protection, the second one will last longer.

Posted by RebelScum on August 11, 2005 at 7:00 AM (PDT)

18

i have a question about the iskin wheel cap. um... well i see in the second picture from the top, you have the plastic cover and that other piece which looks a bit more rubbery. im wondering what that other piece it for??? i mean why is it there??? i actually owned an iskin case before with the click wheel cap, but i never got why there was that rubber piece in the first place and used both the plastic and rubber piece at the same time. after using it i think it's there to stick to the ipod better, but not sure, and i've tried using the wheel cap, with just the plastic, or jsut the rubber, and with both. But yeah, i was just asking out of curiosity.

"j"

Posted by Fly_J_Guy on February 5, 2006 at 8:48 PM (PDT)

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.