Power Support Crystal Jacket for iPod nano | iLounge

Reviews

1

Twenty bucks (ouch).

Perhaps it looks better in person, but the images make it read as cheap, CHEAP plastic that might cost fractions of a penny to make, something akin to what one would find containing Tic Tacs (I sense a joke I'm overlooking here...).

The same can be said for the protector skin as well. Except for the Tic Tac part, that is.

Posted by flatline response on November 9, 2005 at 1:04 AM (PDT)

2

I love it! When will it be available? Where will it be sold?

Posted by lakingengot99 on November 9, 2005 at 1:19 AM (PDT)

3

After not wanting an Agent 18 due to the frosting, and being underwhelmed by the Contour iSee (bits of the case would result in "wet spots", and not amount of bending would sort it out completely. it did just end up in small stress fractures though) I'll be getting the Crystal Jacket, as the smaller size and crystal films should combine to one fantastic case, showing off the design of the nano perfectly.... just got to wait for them to be available!

Posted by Piarco75 on November 9, 2005 at 6:26 AM (PDT)

4

According to PowerSupport sales (phone), the film that is included with the Crystal Jacket ($20) IS NOT THE SAME as the Crystal Film Cover Set for $15.

Posted by trinwa on November 9, 2005 at 2:03 PM (PDT)

5

is it the photo or the case? why would anyone want to make their nano looking like a pager? maybe that's where they get their design ideas from.

Posted by FarSide on November 9, 2005 at 7:39 PM (PDT)

6

Actually if the case looks anything like the iSee, the Nano inside this case will look as beautiful as it does in the iSee, This is a great case.

Posted by Kapalua on November 12, 2005 at 3:37 PM (PDT)

7

Where do you guys get this case? PowerSupport site still shows it on pre-order...

Posted by klopus on November 16, 2005 at 9:46 PM (PDT)

8

If you put on theinvisibleshield film on the nano, will it fit in this case?

Posted by Mr.No on December 13, 2005 at 8:01 PM (PDT)

9

and can this case fit in the nike sport armband?

Posted by Mr.No on December 13, 2005 at 8:28 PM (PDT)

10

I'm very dissapointed in Crystal Jacket compared to similar iSee-nano (http://ilounge.com/index.php/reviews/comments/contour-design-isee-nano-ipod)
which I also have. Really can't understand why Jeremy gave Crystal jacket higher rating. Having all that film supplied is nice but the case itself is just not sturdy and secure enough and isn't that well made.

I'm talking about real active usage like at the gym where I use my iPod most. Where iSee-nano clip would stay secure clipped to my pants meager Crystal clip would move around. Worse on several occasions when I tuged cord a bit case just simply slipped out of the clip. Even worse after it felt on the mat (I'm lucky smile it was too much for wimpy Crystal Jacket to stay secure. It simply cracked open almost letting Nano out.

Nothing like this ever happened with iSee-nano. Latter just plain simply better designed to stay secure, both clip and a case. Additionally it seems to be made of tougher grade plastic and parts fit better and much more secure without slack that's so eveident with Crystal jacket. By contrast Crystal Jacket feels fragile and acts like that.

As I see only things going for Crystal Jacket are those bundled film strips (can be bough separately) and that it's a bit narrower. Latter can be viewed as a downside since a little extra width affords iSee-nano more protection without ruining Nano's awesome form factor.

On a side note I sometimes don't understand Jeremy's obssesion with false security. It's unreasonable to pummel cases like this for leaving opened hold switch and bottom connectors. Fully covering everything just gets in a way of function. It all depends upon intended usage patterns for the particulat rype of the case.

Posted by klopus on January 7, 2006 at 10:36 PM (PDT)

11

klopus, do you think you may have received a defective crystal jacket? Maybe one that cracks open too easily?
+

Posted by Leo+ in San Diego, CA on January 12, 2006 at 2:42 PM (PDT)

12

Ummmm, can you use the case w/o the film; the website says to remove all dust and oily spots before applying the film, and every time I try to clean my iPod (with LENS PAPER!) it scratches.

Also, why hasn't iLounge reviewed the agent 18 videoshield?

Posted by ipodnewb on January 12, 2006 at 6:09 PM (PDT)

13

ipodnewb, you may want to check the Apple store's user reviews... Even though they aren't as in-depth as iLounge's would be, there are quite a few - so you are exposed to many different views. (just search "Agent 18 VideoShield")

Posted by Leo+ in San Diego, CA on January 14, 2006 at 12:09 PM (PDT)

14

Leo+, I don't thing my particular Crystal Jacket is defective. What I observed is just by design (compared to iSee nano) - thinner plastic, lighter clip that's less securely attaches to teh case, only single point where both sies of case get secured to each other.

Don't get me wrong. Crystal is a fine case. It's just not very well suited for type of abuse at the gym.

Posted by klopus on January 14, 2006 at 5:21 PM (PDT)

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.