ProClip In-Car Mount for iPod photo | iLounge

Reviews

1

My experience with the ProClip holder mirror the review -my main complaint being that the holder can't be used with a silicon skin.

I still use the mount for my 4G 40 g but went with the Freeway PDA holder from Bracketron - it holds my iPod skin and all!

Posted by PVR on January 25, 2005 at 8:20 PM (PDT)

2

too bad they don't make a mount for my 91 nissan 240 sx...this is just what i have been looking for..alas, it will have to continue to sit in my ashtray!!

Posted by instantpop in Minneapolis on January 25, 2005 at 11:20 PM (PDT)

3

They are pricey - about $70 total for my BMW, but works like a charm, mounts without defacing the interior and matches my dash perfectly. Recommended.

Posted by dbooker in Tallahassee, FL on January 26, 2005 at 5:26 AM (PDT)

4

I keep my iPod with my iTrip in the cup holder of my BMW. Works great and it's free.

Posted by JeffNNJ on January 26, 2005 at 6:40 AM (PDT)

5

I still like my Seido iPod mount (http://www.seidioonline.com/ProductDetails.asp?ProductCode=CRCAI3-WH).

Cheaper at $39 and it allows me to slide in my iPod (no case) in about 2 seconds and I am off and running. I don't like mounts where I have to fidget with wires.

Posted by A. Cheng in Dallas, TX on January 26, 2005 at 6:45 AM (PDT)

6

I love my ProClip for my 4g 40gb. I actually had to unscrew a panel off of my 04 Accord to install it, but after all that was done it looks really nice and it's not near the CD/Navi/AC area.

The swivel holder itself has not done any damage to the metal sides of the iPod. I don't use any of the silicone based skins, just use one of the films from Trendy Geek.

Posted by cerise on January 26, 2005 at 11:04 AM (PDT)

7

You can buy a kit like this:

http://shop.store.yahoo.com/1800mobiles/blk-f8v9998.html

at Wal-mart for $5 that includes a variety of adhesive swivels that fit into it. You can ignore the magnetic part; I didn't understand what that was for (it can be removed). It attaches to the car vent.

I use it with a Belkin case and have a belt clip and another adhesive-clip socket on my computer desk. It works very well and is cheap.

Summary:

Ipod fits in case. Case has swivel attached with very strong adhesive. Swivel fits in three different 'holders': this vent mount, a belt clip, and another socket attached to my computer with strong adhesive. The entire cost of this solution (inlcludes case and all holders) is $30.

The case is made specifically for the ipod ($20). The rest was from Wal-Mart and is intended for cell-phones (universal).

Posted by klwdallas in Dallas, TX on January 26, 2005 at 1:50 PM (PDT)

8

As an update to interested readers, ProClip today informed us that it's working on a silicone case-friendly version of the mount as per iPodlounge reader requests. More on this as it develops.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz in East Amherst, NY, USA on January 26, 2005 at 10:23 PM (PDT)

9

Thanks for the update, Jeremy. I think ProClip makes a great product, the skin friendly version will bring it to the top of the class.

Posted by PVR on January 27, 2005 at 7:58 AM (PDT)

10

I use on of these in my 95 Saab 900 convertible with a 4G 40GB and it works perfectly. It installed in about 2 minutes and fits just below the airvent and above the heater controls. This is a well thoughtout mount since it doesn't get in the way of either one. It feels solid and works well in the car. I keep the swivel adjust slightly loose so that I can adjust for my use or when I have passengers and they like to select the music. I also use with Apple Remote which is not optimal but does a good job of helping my focus on driving. I find it too distracting to mess with Ipod controls while driving, especially at night. Great product. Not cheap but well worth it.

Posted by Britbonic on January 27, 2005 at 8:50 AM (PDT)

11

I have now had mine installed in a LandRover for several months, and it works great. I originally got it for my 3G iPod 40 G, but now use with my iPod photo 60G, and it fits perfectly. I agree with the review on all points except that I think the material of the holder is quite gentle on the iPod. There is not a hint of a scratch. Also, its design holds the iPod by the sides, and the back does not even touch. I also have a second holder for the other side of my vehicl for my Blackberry. The people at ProClip immediately figured out that this would require the British version of the same clip.

I highly recommend it as an optimal solution.

Dudley Warner

Posted by dewarner on January 27, 2005 at 2:17 PM (PDT)

12

Dudley: ProClip has also just sent a sample of a padded version, which is even more gentle...

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz in East Amherst, NY, USA on January 27, 2005 at 7:20 PM (PDT)

13

Jeremy: I use an iSee20 for my 4G U2 iPod. Any idea if the skin friendly version will also accomodate a case like this?

Posted by svaldez777 in NYC on February 3, 2005 at 6:13 AM (PDT)

14

For those of you thinking, "How much for a piece of plastic?" there is no need to be concerned. I have had a ProClip in two of my automobiles for seven years now. I remember receiving the ProClip and thinking it would never last--it still looks and performs like new. When I purchased a newer model mobile phone that ProClip did not make a holder, I simply took it upon myself to take the phone and reverse it into the clip. In other words, my now seven-year old clip has been totally abused. It has never broken, although I've wedged my phone into it incorrectly on dozens of occasions. It is simply very well made. Upon seeing this review, I will be ordering one for my HP iPod 4G. BTW, it was a certain tech company that happens to sell the other iPod that also introduced my wife and I to the ProClip as it was standard issue for mobile phone users and we were also given a great corporate discount...worth every penney.

Posted by FahrenheiPod 451 on February 4, 2005 at 2:14 AM (PDT)

15

The way I see it... you spend $200 - $600 on an iPod, I think another $40 - $70 on a customized, elegant solution is worth every penny. If you wanted to save money, you would have bout a Dell Jukebox or somehting... but you have an IPOD, the sleekest piece of audio mastery made. This isn't about practicality... it's about sexiness... shouldn't your iPod accessories be just as sexy?

I had a DLO TransPod because I wanted a cool looking car solution... guess what? That $100 piece of crap scratched my iPod, jiggled at every turn and completely stopped working after just 3 months! Also, depending on your car, solutions that go in cigarette lighters or cup holders suck in terms of access and viewing.

I'm in my car 30 miles a day to and from work in ever worsening San Diego traffic... being able to slip my iPod into a sleek fitted holder and simply plug in my Monster iPlay Plus for charging and FM transmission is about as sexy as you can get without paying for an Alpine head unit / iPod converter solution at $500 or more!

Posted by Robert David Torres in San Diego | CA on March 2, 2005 at 9:06 PM (PDT)

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.