Radtech Ice Creme Version 1 Scratch Remover | iLounge

Reviews

1

Hmmm, dissapointing. I was going to buy the Ice Creme M too

Posted by Nuke666 on March 24, 2004 at 5:32 PM (PDT)

2

maybe its just better to get a really thin skin to hide all the scratches and to prevent them too. i havent had anymore added to my 3g ipod since i got the exo3 and i shade.

...i just need to make sure i dont drop it

Posted by 2dumb on March 24, 2004 at 7:55 PM (PDT)

3

2dumb, I got an exo2 and have noticed tiny blemishes where the holes are provided for the iPod to "breathe" be catious.

Posted by Sam on March 24, 2004 at 8:13 PM (PDT)

4

If you want the chrome side to REALY shine. Use Meguiar's Metal Restorer and Polish. I normaly use it for the chrome on my car. Makes the stuff brighter than new. Realy shines the iPod nicely. You can get it at AutoZone or Pepboys. Make sure you get the Gold Class stuff:

Gold Class All Metal Restorer
G-9110

http://www.meguiars.com/store_meguiars/product_detail.cfm?sku=G-91

Posted by Brad on March 25, 2004 at 8:39 AM (PDT)

5

Glad I found this article because I was thinking about buying one of these products but did not trust the reviews I read at the thinkdifferentstore.com. My iPod isn't damaged as bad as the ones in the review but it is dirty and has hair line scratches on the back. Think I will get the Gold Class - thanks for the info about that.

Posted by honeybee1236 on March 25, 2004 at 9:38 AM (PDT)

6

Y'know, the ice cream actually does restore it to factory gloss if you use a lot of pressure for a long time. What I found, though, was that there were several scratches, deeper of course, which just wouldn't come out at all, though.

The metal thing is totally true. Did nothing.

Posted by zingboy in New York City on March 25, 2004 at 10:10 AM (PDT)

7

i own iCleaner. it works great. definitally get the iCleaner pro

Posted by Todd2fst4u on March 25, 2004 at 10:29 AM (PDT)

8

well i have not used either yet i watched my brother save his....he had bought a 30gb from COMPusa for 250 and it came with a huge scratch on the face of its screen :(

well he bought icleaner and after two sessions of putting on his fully body protection suit and mask while cleaning you would never know there was a scratch..it was more like a gouge or the grand canyon..but its beautiful now
so get it and just wear the gloves or some protection!!!

Posted by rivlinm on March 25, 2004 at 2:28 PM (PDT)

9

three words - Novus Plastic Polish - google it. Number 2 and 3 grades, depending on scratches. Works wonders and inexpensive.

Posted by eroch on March 26, 2004 at 7:17 AM (PDT)

10

Received Ipod cleaner Pro yesterday. Whilst the cleaner for the front does get out the scratches from the plastic.....The metal polish SUCKS!!! It has absolutely screwed up the back of my Ipod....Hundreds of micro scratches which gives it a hazy appearance. I spent 2 hours trying to 'fix' it. I can't believe I purchased a product specifically to remove scratches and it has the exact opposite effect. I am Soooo pi$$ed.....I wish I'd never heard of this stuff!!

Posted by Jason Fraser on March 26, 2004 at 8:51 AM (PDT)

11

Would have been nice if you could do a comparison with Brasso.

Posted by Kojak on March 27, 2004 at 6:26 AM (PDT)

12

For what it's worth, we attempted to contact Novus to participate in this comparison but they did not respond, therefore we can't speak officially to their performance.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz on March 27, 2004 at 8:48 AM (PDT)

13

I have used the IceCreme and it did make a diffrence in the white side of the iPod ... it got several fairly deep scratches out ... the metal stuff worked OK ... it got rid of some of the scratches but it took multiple applications ...

I haven't tried the iCleaner although I think might try some of the Gold Class thanks for the tip.

Posted by Leander on March 28, 2004 at 2:10 PM (PDT)

14

icleaner is an excellent choice. Made the front of my ipod as good as when I first bought it. It did reduce the scratches on the back but did not remove them completely. Once the back gets scratched there is nothing you can do about it!

Posted by Rich on March 29, 2004 at 1:41 AM (PDT)

15

They mention about removing scratches from the plastic and the metal back. What about the screen????

Posted by Russell Wilson on March 31, 2004 at 11:25 PM (PDT)

16

I managed to scuff my shiny new iPod on its first day. I carelessly put it in a pocket with some keys (doh!). Since then I haven't really cared about its finish, except for scuffs on the window.

I guess the plastic polishes work OK on the window and probably work in a similar way to the scratch removers for Swatch faces.
I've seen some pretty good resurrections of Swatches with this sort of treatment.

Posted by PrettyGreenParrot on April 1, 2004 at 12:25 AM (PDT)

17

try using a little bit of tooth paste, I've used it to remove scratches from watches.

Posted by dan on April 1, 2004 at 3:27 AM (PDT)

18

Look:
http://www.raffaz.net/mac/iPodInEar_11.jpg
http://www.raffaz.net/mac/iPodInEar_10.jpg

from
http://www.raffaz.net/apple_in-ear_headphones.html

Posted by SoI on April 1, 2004 at 7:17 AM (PDT)

19

Brasso is 1 of my favs works wonders on the plastic.

Posted by mike on April 1, 2004 at 3:18 PM (PDT)

20

Try using hot coffee to remove your scratches. It worked wonders for me!!

Posted by bobby on April 2, 2004 at 4:31 AM (PDT)

Page 1 of 6 pages  1 2 3 >  Last »

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.