Radtech Ice Creme Version 1 Scratch Remover | iLounge

Reviews

41

This is useful - though I just need to know what is the best cream for removing scratches from the display screen. I could not work out when people are referring to the plastic if they are referring to the white casing or the screen.

Please someone let me know the best cream (& ideally where I can get it) that removes scratches from the display screenof my IPOD _ CJ from Central London

Posted by Charlie Jack on May 20, 2004 at 10:54 PM (PDT)

42

Dont you people understand that the plastic front IS THE SCREEN, its not like theres a break in the plastic, and a new material is used to cover the screen, its the same thing as the rest of the plastic.

Posted by SiRius on May 24, 2004 at 12:28 PM (PDT)

43

also, for those who used toothpaste, and got positive results, please say which brand and type of toothpaste you used, aswell as the type of cloth you used...and for those who got negative results, please state the same...

Posted by SiRius on May 24, 2004 at 12:31 PM (PDT)

44

There should have been a picture of the front portion of the restored ipod. That way we could see the improvements made. As it sounds nothing will get it perfect.

Posted by Ag233 on May 24, 2004 at 5:51 PM (PDT)

45

Thanks for all the info, but where is the best or cheapest place or site to buy this stuff at?

Posted by Sergg on May 26, 2004 at 3:45 PM (PDT)

46

i just used colgate regular toothpaste and it made a slightly noticeable difference on the plastic (the screen in particular) but did absolutely nothing for the metal.

is meguiar's better than brasso or vice versa? im interested in trying one of those

Posted by solarweasel on May 29, 2004 at 9:10 PM (PDT)

47

a few of this post's have interested me, i think this novus stuff and meguair stuff may work...ima give them a try

Posted by amish on May 31, 2004 at 1:36 PM (PDT)

48

TimothyK: Anything you read in the iPodlounge forums is the individual opinion of that poster, and does not necessarily represent the opinions of the iPodlounge site or its editors.

The review above is this site's official review of those products and represents our comparative conclusions after extended testing.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz on June 1, 2004 at 10:08 PM (PDT)

49

Also, for what it's worth, advertising does not sway our reviews in any way, shape or form, and our opinions of one product by a company do not correlate to another product by that same company. Radtech makes a superb Optex case for PowerBooks which I purchased for myself after noting that the company's Optex PodSleevz case for iPods had a "high price given functionality and competing products." We look at each product on an individual basis and give fair shakes regardless of any advertising.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz on June 1, 2004 at 10:13 PM (PDT)

50

Does icleaner work for the ipod mini's aluninum case? Also, does icleaner work for the plastic screen? Also, what other cleaners do you reccommend?

Posted by Joseph Kim on July 11, 2004 at 12:23 PM (PDT)

51

I bought the icleaner pro and icleaner deep scratch remover. I used the green polish about 10 times on the front until I was satisfied/gave up. I have a little tiny nick on the corner of the white plastic and the icleaner people say you can use the deep scratch remover on the plastic for deep scratches, but because of its abrasive qualities it just added it's own scratches so I had to repolish the front about 10 more times. As for using the deep cleaner on the mirrored surface, I completely agree that it dulls the surface more than it brightens it because of all the little scratches it makes. What is particularly infuriating is that on the icleaner website (http://www.icleaner.com) they clame on their faq's that "Many people do not realize that there are mini marks on the back of a brand new iPod when looking at the back of the iPod in direct light." This is a lie. If you look at the side of the ipod rather than the back where all the scratches show up, there are ZERO scratches even in direct light. It's pathetic that they have to lie to the consumer when their product doesn't work!

Posted by Kendall Barens on August 10, 2004 at 11:35 AM (PDT)

52

After reading through all the opinions presented here I tried Brasso on my 10 Gb touch wheel iPod. I was pleased with the results. Brasso was mild enough that several applications were required, but I prefer that control. It did a surprisingly good job on the plastic face, almost completely restoring it to its original shine. On the back, Brasso did a commendable job of eliminating finer hairline scratches and giving it a good overall shine. It did not; however, eliminate all the cosmetic scratches after several buffings. This was fine by me, as I was only looking to improve what was becoming a rather lack-luster appearance of my iPod. For less than $5 CAN available at my local grocery store, it was definitely a lot of bang for the buck (and instant gratification). Just thought people would be interested.

One word of warning, Brasso is fairly liquidly so those trying it should be extra carefull not to let the liquid get near the seams or buttons or you could have a very unhappy iPod (and all the warrantee void and such...).

Posted by Andrew on August 12, 2004 at 4:26 AM (PDT)

53

Shouldnt there be some way that the front of the Ipod Can be removed and just have a replacement piece bought and put on instead! If I knew it scratched so easily I would have got a case for it right away but its a little late for that and not much you can do now that you spent all the money and its all scratched

Posted by Explode on August 19, 2004 at 6:46 PM (PDT)

54

I've used brasso to clean Rolex plastic watch crystals for years. Brasso works great. Removes all scratches and makes the watch crystal look new. I've also used brasso to remove scratches from DVD's. The cost is about 2 or 3 dollars.

Posted by Wesley Mears on August 27, 2004 at 7:40 PM (PDT)

55

The metal on the back of these ipods are worthless. I babied mine for just ONE day... and just now i looked at the back and noticed little scratches allover. Again. I babied this puppy all day making sure i didnt scratch it. What a dissapointment.

Posted by Reid Desermia on August 30, 2004 at 3:13 PM (PDT)

56

i really didnt think the toothpaste thing was gonna work but it did!!!!!!!!!(well kinda)

i just used colgate whitening the plain one
and i used kleenex as a cloth

Posted by cole on August 30, 2004 at 8:53 PM (PDT)

57

to every one who recomended Brasso..........THANK YOU!!! I tried it on my 4G and it removed all the little scratches on the front, including on the screen! (it took a while) but it really works!!!!

as for the back I am not so worried about it.

Posted by Carmen in NYC on September 13, 2004 at 4:01 AM (PDT)

58

I second the use of Novus 1 and Novus 2 for the plastic. Novus is what professional plastic suppliers use on their products, and what I use on my Acrylic stands...nothing beats it.

Posted by JavaDog on September 17, 2004 at 2:18 AM (PDT)

59

i agree with the person above...a review of brasso would be awesome!

Posted by Wes Gad on September 23, 2004 at 8:11 AM (PDT)

60

I just bought the Icleaner but from reading this review im not sure wether i should use it on the back or not, would the back of my ipod be better with or without the icleaner polish?

Posted by Tim on September 26, 2004 at 9:37 PM (PDT)

Page 3 of 6 pages  <  1 2 3 4 5 >  Last »

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.