Sennheiser MX500 Headphones | iLounge

Reviews

41

I can't comment on the Sennheisers reviewed here, because I don't have them, but I have a pair of Sennheiser HD-590s that I use at home and in my studio. They are hands down the best cans I have ever used. The response is totally flat, with no attentuation in any frequencies.

I don't care for earbuds or clip on phones, so I was in the market for a pair of lightweight portable headphones to go with my iPod. After checking out all the reviews, I decided to save some money and pass on the Sennheiser folding models and go with the Koss KTXPro1 headphones.

The reviews of these cans were glowing, but I'm afraid that internet reviews aren't always reliable. The Koss headphones have a huge boost in the lowest and highest frequencies. This makes the cellos and basses in orchestral music sound like they've been cut in half, with a wimpy top and booming bottom. The same is true of the treble. Cymbals leap forward with a hissy grain to them, while slightly lower frequencies are recessed.

I suspect that most of the reviewers on the internet compared the Koss to the Sennhesier with electronic music, which gives the listener no benchmark to refer to how it should sound. Orchestral, chamber and "unplugged" music on the other hand, is a sound that anyone who has heard a live unamplified performance instantly recognizes. The Koss phones just don't cut the mustard for this sort of music.

If you're the type of person who cranks the bass and treble on your amp, you would definitely like the Koss phones, but if you are listening to acoustic music, I would recommend trying the Sennheisers instead.

See ya
Steve

Posted by Stephen Worth on October 30, 2004 at 6:31 PM (PDT)

42

One aspect of using the Sennheiser PX-200 has not been mentioned. When using them outdoors in windy weather, they tend to make a lot of wind noise. Especially when the wind is head on.

Posted by Sieb in Netherlands on November 9, 2004 at 9:16 AM (PDT)

43

To enjoy the full potential of a PMX60, try this [url=http://www.sound.westhost.com/project109.htm]http://www.sound.westhost.com/project109.htm[/url]
you'd be amazed at what this little gem is actually capable of.

Posted by merajsalek on November 9, 2004 at 10:37 AM (PDT)

44

I returned the Koss KTXPro1 headphones and ordered the Sennheiser PX100s. A world of difference! These are MUCH flatter in response than the Koss cans. In fact, they're the best portable headphones I've ever heard. The Sennheiser PX100s for the road and my Sennheiser HD-590s at home is perfect for me.

Posted by Stephen Worth in North Hollywood, CA on November 15, 2004 at 3:10 PM (PDT)

45

I purchased the PMX60s to use in the gym. When they arrived I found the neckband very large and consequently they didn't sit right on my head so I had to send them back. I think this is a woman thing as they fit my boyfriend perfectly. Thought I'd post this in case there are any other women looking into new headphones.

Posted by ChrisMouse in Bristol, UK on January 23, 2005 at 2:17 AM (PDT)

46

I have got the Sennheiser MX 500 earbuds, and I'm sure they are by far the best earbuds for that low price. I never thought that little earbuds kike these could have such great sound quality.

Resut: THUMBS UP

Posted by Haino in Germany on March 11, 2005 at 3:33 PM (PDT)

47

Just got myself a pair of PMX60s and found the cord actually to be slightly longer than the pack-in Apple earphones.

Maybe they've listened to people's feedback and changed them.

Nice one Sennheiser!

Posted by DrNinestein on March 16, 2005 at 1:05 AM (PDT)

48

first of all, I wanted to thank all for their opinions- it really much helped me for choosing.

and for second, I bought them 1 hour ago (so no "brake in" period) and still- the difference from original ipod earphones- aprx. 50 times smile day and night (without moon) if to compare. and price is still not high

Posted by 17sec on March 31, 2005 at 2:53 AM (PDT)

49

hmm, sorry, I was talking about px200 smile

Posted by 17sec on March 31, 2005 at 2:54 AM (PDT)

50

I purchased a pair of the MX 500's for when (not if) I broke my apple ear buds (out of coincidence I broke the the plug on my Apple ear buds last night at the gym). I have been very pleased the Sennheiser's from day one and as of today, they are my primary headphones for use with my iPod.

For $20, you can't beat the price since Apple wants $40 for a replacement set of the ear buds.

I've used Sennheiser headphones on and off for almost 20 years going back to my days in radio. I still have the headphones I used as a DJ back in the late 80's.

Posted by slothdude on April 5, 2005 at 11:21 AM (PDT)

51

PMX 60s are terrible. Got them,broke them in and they're still crap. Far too much treble and bass is non existent. And they're a poor fit as well. These ones are going back.

Posted by Mr. B on May 14, 2005 at 1:03 PM (PDT)

52

I've had the PX-200s for some time, and I'm very happy with them. I'm the kind of person who can't stand ear buds (even high-end ones), so I was looking for a replacement to the apple pack-ins.

As far as I can tell, there's been no problems whatsoever with the PX-200s, and I don't know what iPodlounge means about them being uncomfortable (maybe I just have the right shaped ears). I'd enthusiasically recommend the PX-200s to anyone, they're a great buy for AU$110.

Posted by Caravaggio on June 12, 2005 at 8:13 AM (PDT)

53

the hd497's are the best value imho. they compare with the grado 60's and only cost about 40-50 on amazon, depending on the sale. they certainly blow these few out of the water. that being said they are open (leak sound) and are more suited to home use as they are full size.

Posted by shredaheadhead on July 18, 2005 at 12:11 AM (PDT)

54

The Koss KSC and Portapro series are by far the best sounding headphones for under 40 dollars.

They're legends.

Posted by DynamiteKid on October 27, 2005 at 11:45 AM (PDT)

55

I'm playing the Royksopp Trembling Heart Remix of Coldplay's Clocks on both the PMX 60 and my "broken-in" PX100s.
On the PMX 60s I feel like a dragonfly in a tumble dryer - visceral, very real, but my head is spinning and there's less music somehow.
On the PX 100s I get the thumping bassline, keeping me grounded, moving into the music, which is really there- my arms move -- I'm dancing.

Posted by derekpaco on October 28, 2005 at 6:22 PM (PDT)

56

I have had my PX200s for a while now and I am very pleased with them. They are very comfortable and the construction quality is good. I find that the bass seems a bit weak, but it is tight and well controlled. When listening to string instruments, the detail heard on the PX200s is superb, and I also love how vocals come through so clearly.

From all accounts, the PX100s do sound a bit better than the PX200s, but closed back headphones are more suitable for me because I often listen to my headphones while on the bus. Whilst the sonic isolation of the PX200s isn't great, it's certainly adequete for this purpose.

I should mention that I prefer neckband phones over headband phones, and I'm considering investing in a pair of PMX200s, but I just wish they were available in white!

Posted by alasta22 on March 17, 2006 at 3:32 PM (PDT)

57

Has anybody tried the Sennheiser OMX52s? For me they look like a useful alternative, as they meet my "physical" needs - i.e they look comfortable, and pack away for travelling use.
I've just now, gone through my bottom drawer of "rejected" headphones with my iPod mini:
The bundled earbuds - sounded suprisingly good, but too uncomfortable - just can't wear them (that's my funny ears).
Sony MDR EX70's (left over from my Minidisk days): Quite cumfy, but sounded aweful.
Panasonic RP-HS71's (clip-ons): sounded rough.
PMX60's: Was happy with the sound, and they are very cumfy to wear, and don't fall off (small head here), liked the cabling as it never got tangled, but they don't fold up so tried.....
PX100's: Cumfy, fold up, great sound. But - annoyingly the cable keeps getting tangled, and they always feel precarious on my head.
Compared them with my old HD465s, and preferred the PX100s.

Posted by canyon on April 17, 2006 at 8:20 AM (PDT)

58

Do these earphones have a straight plug, or is it angled?

Posted by bwh79 on November 29, 2006 at 7:13 PM (PDT)

Page 3 of 3 pages  <  1 2 3

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.