ShieldZone InvisibleShield Full Body Shield for iPod nano (Aluminum) | iLounge

Reviews

1

okay, now what are we seeing? i don't see amy difference, but maybe that's the point

Posted by anti-luddite on September 26, 2006 at 2:16 PM (PDT)

2

Looks like a prophylactic to me. This iPod has a satin finish, but with this not-so-invisible shield you can see it how shiny it has become. It doesn't fit well over the screen, and there is a very visible seam on the back for the plastic abuts. Twenty bucks!? You're better off purchasing a box (many several) of prophylactics...you'll get better use out of them.

Posted by FahrenheiPod 451 on September 26, 2006 at 6:10 PM (PDT)

3

I agree that $20 is a hefty price for this item. This is especially true when you realize that there is another source (bestskinsever.com) for skins made from the same material[1]. They are priced much more reasonably, and they don't even try to gouge you on the shipping. It looks like InvisibleShield is trying to distinguish themselves by including a tiny spray bottle of soapy water, but I can't imagine that is worth an extra $15.

I've had one from BestSkinsEver on my 60GB 5G since day one and I don't imagine that I will ever buy any other similar product from any other manufacturer.

[1] The film is used in several applications. One of the more readily available products is Scotchgardâ„¢ Paint Protection Film. There are also companies that cut and package it in sizes suitable for protecting a bicycle. I've even heard, but have seen no proof, that it's used for scratch protection on some carbon fiber helicopter blades.

Posted by gestep on October 3, 2006 at 2:08 PM (PDT)

4

Just to clear up some confusion. The material used with bestskinsever is not the same as the material of invisibleSHIELD. I work at Sheildzone, the company that makes the invisibleSHIELD, and I can tell you that they are not the same thing as BSE.

The invisibleSHIELD also comes with a lifetime warranty.

Yes, it is true that the material was originally developed to protect the leading edges of helicopter blades.

I guarantee that the invisibleSHIELD is the best scratch protection you buy for your electronic gadgets.

Posted by aien1 on October 5, 2006 at 7:36 AM (PDT)

5

Thanks for clarifying that the materials are different. I wonder where my confusion comes from. Is the invisibleSHIELD material a different 3M film, or is not 3M at all? Has the material recently changed?

Lifetime warranty? I can buy 4 BSE's for the price of an IS. I really can't imagine needing more the one (maybe 2) over the lifetime of an iPod. So, I buy 1 BSE, have use of the $15 price difference for a couple of years, replace the BSE (but I doubt that I ever will), and I'll still have less money invested than the price of an IS.

Posted by gestep on October 5, 2006 at 6:50 PM (PDT)

6

guardfilm (google it) is the same stuff but costs much less

Posted by podster1 on October 16, 2006 at 5:01 PM (PDT)

7

"I work at Sheildzone"

"I guarantee that the invisibleSHIELD is the best scratch protection you buy for your electronic gadgets"

Hmmm, it seems to me as if this guy might have a vested interest...

Posted by dave3215 on October 22, 2006 at 2:10 PM (PDT)

8

I just bought one of these for my nano, I am nervous about the click wheel covers, and getting water in the nano, is this a problem, I definitely don't want to destroy my nano, before I barely use it, an opinion from someone with experience using the shield on the nano would be great.

Posted by Nanouser on December 4, 2006 at 1:54 PM (PDT)

9

Nanouser, you have nothing to fear. Unless you actually dunk your nano into a sink of water, applying this skin is fine. The fact that the InvisibleShield comes with a spray for application makes it a lot easier to deal with. I personally chose the BestSkinsEver skin, and if you look at their website, they recommend dunking the skin into solution. However, common sense should guide you to let the film drip off some of the moisture, and you just have to be willing to let the device sit and "cure" for 24 hours. Nothing terrible here, just fyi.

Posted by cxc4u on December 22, 2006 at 7:32 AM (PDT)

10

As a customer of ShieldZone, (I have NO other relation to the company), I have to say the shields are outstanding, IF applied correctly. They're expensive, but so are the gadgets you're applying it too, and quality only hurts once...

You must make whatever surface you are applying it to ABSOLUTELY clean! Otherwise you get these little bubbles, and they don't go away. (I've let the device "cure", and this happened on more than one.

Also, they are a pain to remove.

My advice:
-Buy it
-Make sure your iPod/whatever is squeaky clean and bone dry.
-Wash your hands (yes, seriously),
-Handle it VERY carefully.
-Spray with the solution
-VERY, VERY SLOW APPLY.

If you rush it, you'll ruin it. My Archos AV500 skin is screwed up because of this. My Canon PowerShot SD600 skin was applied brand new, slowly, and it is perfect-no bubbles or anything. Glossier. We could not damage it.

Posted by JDC on March 7, 2007 at 4:13 PM (PDT)

11

I just bought this product for my 4GB nano. This is the 2nd Shield Zone invisible shield I have owned, the previous one was for my 30gb ipod video.
This time I new what I was doing, so it went pretty painless. Just make sure your finger tips are clean and wet, with the included solution.
It went on almost perfectly. It looks great, and I can now use it care free(except obviously not to drop, but now I know it wont scratch)
My only problem is that it doesnt completely go on perfect... around the scroll wheel on the right side there is a small gap where the shield doesnt cover.

Also, since this is my 2nd invisishield, I realize I prefer not to apply the scroll wheel protector. So I left that off, so it doesnt slow down the scroll wheel.

Posted by iPod_Guru25 on July 11, 2007 at 7:42 PM (PDT)

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.